Northern lights tours by car in Levi
This page covers 15 of the 41 northern lights tours in our Levi data: the ones that are northern lights tours by car. Northern lights in Levi explains how each tour ends up in one type and lists them all. Other types with a page of their own: snowmobile northern lights tours. Every activity in Levi, side by side: Levi in winter.
What are northern lights tours by car like?
- Tours
- 15 northern lights tours by car with a working booking link, from 10 operator names.
- Price per person, not private
- From €95; typical not shown (fewer than 5 tours state one). n = 2 of 12 non-private tours
- Typical duration
- 3 h (n = 9)
By car tours: car, minibus, bus or an unspecified vehicle, with no other main mode. Typical = median. Prices are the lowest listed per-person prices; private tours and group prices are left out. Details and sources below.
An aurora tour by car or minibus means driving to wherever the sky looks clearest, then waiting outside, often by a fire. 14 of the 15 tours in this group include food or hot drinks, and 8 say winter clothing is included. The nine that state a duration last from two to eight hours.
All northern lights tours by car
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Sort by:
Grouped by duration; within each duration group, per-person prices and prices without a stated basis come first, lowest first, then group prices, then tours without a price.
Up to 3 hours
- Northern Lights Hunt by Car, Levi - 2-hour Aurora search
Scandinavian Travel Group Oy · 2 h · €95 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupFood or hot drinksGuarantee: refund
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Photography Northern Lights Tour
Lappiland Oy · 3 h · €189 (basis not stated)
Hotel pickupFood or hot drinksPhotos of youGuarantee: refund
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Northern Lights Hunt by Car, Levi - 2-hour Aurora hunt
Scandinavian Travel Group Oy · 2 h · –
Hotel pickupSmall groupFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Northern Lights Hunt by Car, Levi — 2-hour Aurora hunt
Levi Tours · 2 h · –
Hotel pickupSmall groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - northern lights hunting by car
sixty eight north · 3 h · –
Food or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Private Northern Lights Tour
Lappiland Oy · 3 h · –
Hotel pickupPrivateWinter clothingFood or hot drinksPhotos of youGuarantee: refund
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Over 5 and up to 7 hours
- Private Aurora Hunt in the Finnish wilderness – group up to 8
Wandering Owl · 6 h · –
Small groupPrivateWinter clothingFood or hot drinksPhotos of you
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Over 7 hours
- Levi: Guaranteed Northern Lights Expedition with Photographer & Unlimited Mileage/Time
Arctic GM · 8 h · –
Hotel pickupSmall groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinksPhotos of you
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Levi: Private Guaranteed Northern Lights Expedition with Photographer & Unlimited Mileage/Time
Arctic GM · 8 h · –
Hotel pickupPrivateWinter clothingFood or hot drinksPhotos of you
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Duration not stated
- Northern Lights by Minivan in Levi
Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park · – · €99 (basis not stated)
Small group
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Northern Lights Guarantee Tour - Unlimited Distance Aurora Hunt, Levi
Scandinavian Travel Group Oy · – · €295 / person
Hotel pickupWinter clothingFood or hot drinksPhotos of you
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Aurora hunting in the National Park (Levi)
Lapland Safaris · – · –
Food or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Aurora hunting with minivan
Tokka Safaris · – · –
Food or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Northern Lights Adventure | Keo Wilderness
Keo Wilderness · – · –
Small groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinksPhotos of you
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Northern Lights Guarantee Tour, Levi — 70% refund if no Aurora
Levi Tours · – · –
Hotel pickupWinter clothingFood or hot drinksPhotos of youGuarantee: refund
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
What the marks mean
- Hotel pickup
- pickup from your accommodation stated as included.
- Small group
- at most 8 participants, or "small group" in the listing.
- Private
- "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title.
- Title says adults only
- the tour title says it is for adults only.
- Title says summer or autumn
- the tour title names summer or autumn.
- Winter clothing
- winter clothing (overalls, boots or thermal suit) stated as included.
- Food or hot drinks
- a meal, snack or hot drink stated as included.
- Photos of you
- photos taken of the guests stated as included.
- Guarantee
- a refund, free retry or partial refund if the northern lights do not show (terms vary).
- Family-friendly
- "family" in the tour title, or a stated minimum age of 4 years or less.
Features are marked from the text of the listings and the operators’ own pages. A missing mark means the listing does not mention it, not that it is left out. Duration groups use the midpoint of the stated range (a 3–4 hour tour counts as 3.5 hours): up to 3 hours, over 3 and up to 5, over 5 and up to 7, over 7 hours, and tours of several days. Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one. Filters are offered only for features that the listings state for at least 70 % of the tours and at least 50 % of the tours from each source, so a feature can be marked on a tour without being offered as a filter.
Run a tour here that’s missing, or see an error? Email [email protected]. Reported tours are checked on the operator’s public website before they are added.
What is included
| Item | Stated in the listing | Not stated |
|---|---|---|
| Winter clothing | 8 included 1 not included or on request | 6 of 15 |
| Hotel pickup | 9 included 0 available / pickup points 0 not included | 6 of 15 |
Not stated = not found in the collected listing text, so a listing can say more than we found. Hotel pickup "available / pickup points" = pickup offered or pickup points listed, possibly at extra cost.
Price per hour
| Lowest | Typical | Highest | Tours with price and duration |
|---|---|---|---|
| €48 / h | fewer than 5 prices | €48 / h | 1 of 12 |
Only tours that are not private and state both a per-person price and a duration in hours. Duration = midpoint of the stated range; multi-day tours are left out. Typical = median; not shown when fewer than 5 tours. Price per hour does not account for what is included, so it is a rough comparison, not a measure of value.
Questions
How much do northern lights tours by car cost?
2 of the 12 tours that are not private state a per-person price: from €95 and up to €295. 2 state a price that cannot be compared per person (a group price or no stated basis) and 8 state no price at all, so the tour list can show higher prices than this range, and 3 private tours are left out because a private tour's per-person price depends on group size. These are listed starting prices on the collection date.
How long do northern lights tours by car take?
9 of 15 tours state a duration in hours: typically (median) 3 h, from 2 h to 8 h. 6 do not state a usable duration.
Can children join?
We do not show minimum ages for these 15 tours: our automatic reading of age limits from the operators' pages did not pass its accuracy check for this destination. Check the age limit on the operator’s page before booking with children.
What if the northern lights don’t show?
Of 15 tours: 4 offer a refund if the lights do not show; conditions vary, for example the lights must not have been captured on the guide’s camera, or the tour is cancelled in advance because of cloud (Refund); 2 say sightings are not guaranteed (No guarantee); 2 say explicitly that there is no refund if the lights do not show (No refund (stated)); 7 do not mention it. These counts describe refund and retry conditions as the listings state them. A guarantee or a success rate in a tour title is a booking condition or the operator’s own figure, not a forecast; our own figure for how often the sky is clear and dark is on the northern lights page.
Who are northern lights tours by car for?
They suit anyone who wants to follow the clear sky without driving a snowmobile; check the duration, which ranges from two to eight hours.
Based on the 15 northern lights tours by car in our data, from operators’ own websites.
Sources and method
Tour data
How operators were found: no single list is complete, so we combined 116 candidate companies from several sources (Visit Finland DataHub 52, the Finnish Trade Register (PRH open data, tourism-related lines of business) 30, web searches in eight languages 46; a company can be in several). Each candidate with a website was checked on its own website. Tour details are taken first from the operator’s own website (or Visit Finland DataHub (opens in a new tab)); booking platforms fill in what the operator’s page does not state.
The tables and tour lists include the northern lights tours in our data that have a working booking link: 41 tours (41 with details from the operator’s own website or Visit Finland DataHub; listed on: operator site 41, DataHub 4 — the same tour is often listed in several places, so these add up to more than 41), collected 2026-09-23. Northern lights tours: naming the northern lights (aurora) in the title on the operator’s own website, or tagged or titled as one in Visit Finland DataHub. Pages that are not a single bookable tour (overview pages, multi-night holiday packages without their own tour, accommodation) were left out after reading the page. 0 tours were left out because they have no working booking link yet. A tour whose operating base is more than 50 km from the centre is listed only when the tour page says it departs from, or picks up in, the destination; the distance is then shown on the tour. Distances are measured from coordinates in Visit Finland DataHub, or from the postal code of the company’s registered address (PRH open data (opens in a new tab); postal code areas from Statistics Finland (opens in a new tab)). Prices change daily; check them on the booking page.
Links to operators’ own pages were last checked on : 441 addresses across every activity on this site, of which 3 did not answer with a working page and are not linked. GetYourGuide and Viator links are not fetched.
This page shows the 15 of them in the group “By car” (car, minibus, bus or an unspecified vehicle, with no other main mode). Each tour belongs to exactly one group.
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Data source files: data/levi/operator_catalog.csv, data/levi/discovery/datahub_experiences.csv. Company register data: PRH open data (avoindata.prh.fi) (opens in a new tab).
Last updated:
Some links on this site are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure