Drive-your-own husky safaris in Rovaniemi
This page covers 25 of the 185 husky safaris in our Rovaniemi data: the ones that are drive-your-own husky safaris. Husky safaris in Rovaniemi explains how each tour ends up in one type and lists them all, and husky safari prices in Rovaniemi compares what the types cost. Other types with a page of their own: husky farm visits and husky combination tours. Every activity in Rovaniemi, side by side: Rovaniemi in winter.
What is a drive-your-own husky safari like?
- Tours
- 25 drive-your-own husky safaris with a working booking link, from 19 operator names.
- Price per person, not private
- From €170; typical €214. n = 6 of 23 non-private tours
- Typical duration
- 3 h 40 min (n = 18)
You drive (explicitly stated) tours: the title or listing text explicitly says you drive (mush) your own sled; who drives is not reliably known for most tours (see below), so this group is small. Typical = median. Prices are the lowest listed per-person prices; private tours and group prices are left out. Details and sources below.
Driving your own sled means standing on the runners at the back and steering with your body weight and a foot brake, while the dogs do the pulling; guides give a short briefing first, and on many tours two people share a sled and switch halfway. This group only counts tours whose title or listing text explicitly says you drive: for most husky safaris neither the title nor the listing text says who drives, so treat the counts below as a lower bound. Of the 25 tours in this group, 15 state that winter clothing is included and 21 include food or a hot drink.
All drive-your-own husky safaris
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Sort by:
Grouped by duration; within each duration group, per-person prices and prices without a stated basis come first, lowest first, then group prices, then tours without a price.
Up to 3 hours
- November Tours | Bearhill Husky Safaris & Outdoor Adventures
Bearhill Husky · 2 h 30 min · €133 (basis not stated)
Drive your own sledFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - 1 h Husky Safari
Raitola Reindeer & Husky Farm · 1 h 30 min · €170 / person
Drive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Call of the Wild Tour | Bearhill Husky Safaris & Outdoor Adventures
Bearhill Husky · 3 h · €249 / person
Listed for Dec–Mar
Hotel pickupSmall groupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Husky Safari 5 km With Hot Drink, Self Driving, in Small or Private Group
Arctic Adventure Wolftrail · 25 min · –
Small groupPrivateDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visitFamily-friendly
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Mushing Magic (20km tour)
Pinewood's Huskies · 3 h · –
Small groupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Private Husky Experience — Lapland Romance
Lapland Romance & Private Tours · 2 h 30 min · –
Listed for Dec–Mar
Hotel pickupPrivateDrive your own sledFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi Lapland Husky Experience 5km
Lapland Royal Adventures · 3 h · –
Hotel pickupSmall groupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Over 3 and up to 5 hours
- 10 km Husky Safari in Rovaniemi – Self-Drive Arctic Dog Sled Adventure
Lapland Escape · 4 h · €99 (basis not stated)
Hotel pickupSmall groupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - The Husky Forest Escape – 10 km Husky Safari
Wild About Lapland · 4 h · €197 / person
Hotel pickupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Husky Safari in Rovaniemi – Drive Your Own Sled
Lapland Glow Hotel Oy · 3 h 30 min–4 h · €219 / person
Small groupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi Self-Drive Husky Safari (6–10 km) with BBQ
Rovaniemi Tours · 5 h · €286 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Husky Adventure with Self-Driven 6-10KM Husky Safari
Nordic Odyssey · 3 h 30 min · –
Hotel pickupSmall groupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visitFamily-friendly
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Husky Cart with 5km Self-Driven Ride
Nordic Odyssey · 3 h 30 min · –
Hotel pickupSmall groupDrive your own sledFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Insider Husky 5km
BookLapland · 4 h–5 h · –
Hotel pickupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Lapland Wilderness Husky Safari 7,5 km
Lapland Royal Adventures · 4 h · –
Hotel pickupSmall groupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi Wilderness Self-Drive Husky Safari (15-22km), Call of the Wild
Nordic Adventures · 5 h · –
Hotel pickupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visitFamily-friendly
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi: Autumn Husky Safari
Arctic GM · 4 h · –
Hotel pickupSmall groupTitle says summer or autumnDrive your own sledFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi: Winter Husky Safari
Arctic GM · 4 h · –
Hotel pickupSmall groupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Duration not stated
- Self-driven Tours | Bearhill Husky Safaris & Outdoor Adventures
Bearhill Husky · – · €169 (basis not stated)
Drive your own sled
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Arctic Husky Safari – 10 km
Rovaniemi Insider · – · €209 / person
Hotel pickupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Husky Park Visit with Enjoying the Feeling Five (5 km) Husky ride
Arctic Circle Husky Park · – · –
Listed for Jan–Mar
Food or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Husky safari in Rovaniemi
Arctic Attitude · – · –
Small groupDrive your own sledFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - NortsaV Tours - Husky Rides - Husky Farm and Safaris
NortsaV Ky · – · –
Drive your own sledFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi: Insider 5 km Husky Self Drive Adventure
Rovaniemi Insider · – · –
Listed for Nov–Mar
Drive your own sled
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Self-Drive Husky Ride
Santa Claus Holiday Village · – · –
Listed for Dec–Mar
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
What the marks mean
- Hotel pickup
- pickup from your accommodation stated as included.
- Small group
- at most 8 participants, or "small group" in the listing.
- Private
- "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title.
- Title says summer or autumn
- the tour title names summer or autumn.
- Drive your own sled
- the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says you can drive yourself for at least part of the tour.
- Winter clothing
- winter clothing stated as included.
- Food or hot drinks
- a meal, snack or hot drink stated as included.
- Farm visit
- a visit to the husky farm or kennel stated in the listing.
- Combined with northern lights
- the same tour is also listed as a northern lights tour.
- Family-friendly
- "family" in the tour title, or a stated minimum age of 4 years or less.
Features are marked from the text of the listings and the operators’ own pages. A missing mark means the listing does not mention it, not that it is left out. Duration groups use the midpoint of the stated range (a 3–4 hour tour counts as 3.5 hours): up to 3 hours, over 3 and up to 5, over 5 and up to 7, over 7 hours, and tours of several days. Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one. Filters are offered only for features that the listings state for at least 70 % of the tours and at least 50 % of the tours from each source, so a feature can be marked on a tour without being offered as a filter. 6 more husky safaris in our data are not listed here because they have no working booking link yet.
Run a tour here that’s missing, or see an error? Email [email protected]. Reported tours are checked on the operator’s public website before they are added.
What is included
| Item | Stated in the listing | Not stated |
|---|---|---|
| Winter clothing | 15 included 0 not included or on request | 10 of 25 |
| Hotel pickup | 14 included 0 available / pickup points 1 not included | 10 of 25 |
Not stated = not found in the collected listing text, so a listing can say more than we found. Hotel pickup "available / pickup points" = pickup offered or pickup points listed, possibly at extra cost.
Price per hour
| Lowest | Typical | Highest | Tours with price and duration |
|---|---|---|---|
| €49 / h | €58 / h | €113 / h | 5 of 23 |
Only tours that are not private and state both a per-person price and a duration in hours. Duration = midpoint of the stated range; multi-day tours are left out. Typical = median; not shown when fewer than 5 tours. Price per hour does not account for what is included, so it is a rough comparison, not a measure of value.
Questions
How much do drive-your-own husky safaris cost?
6 of the 23 tours that are not private state a per-person price: from €170, typically (median) €214 and up to €286. 3 state a price that cannot be compared per person (a group price or no stated basis) and 14 state no price at all, so the tour list can show higher prices than this range, and 2 private tours are left out because a private tour's per-person price depends on group size. These are listed starting prices on the collection date.
How long do drive-your-own husky safaris take?
18 of 25 tours state a duration in hours: typically (median) 3 h 40 min, from 25 min to 5 h. 7 do not state a usable duration.
Can children join?
4 of the 25 tours here state a minimum age: from 3 years to 7 years; 4 from the operator's own page. The other 21 do not state one, which is not the same as saying children can join — ask the operator. Tours with a stated minimum age of 4 years or less are marked family-friendly.
Who are drive-your-own husky safaris for?
Drive-yourself safaris suit visitors who are reasonably fit, comfortable standing for the ride, and want the more physical, hands-on version of the experience. 4 of the 25 listings state a minimum age, from 3 to 7 years, so check the listing if travelling with young children who would need to sit rather than drive.
Based on the 25 drive-your-own husky safaris in our data, from operators’ own websites.
Sources and method
Tour data
How operators were found: no single list is complete, so we combined 619 candidate companies from several sources (Visit Finland DataHub 137, GetYourGuide 88, the Finnish Trade Register (PRH open data, tourism-related lines of business) 424, Viator 6, visitrovaniemi.fi listings 38, the visitrovaniemi.fi company directory 89, web searches in seven languages 141; a company can be in several). Each candidate with a website was checked on its own website. Tour details are taken first from the operator’s own website (or Visit Finland DataHub (opens in a new tab)); booking platforms fill in what the operator’s page does not state.
The tables and tour lists include the husky safaris in our data that have a working booking link: 185 tours (184 with details from the operator’s own website or Visit Finland DataHub; listed on: DataHub 46, GetYourGuide 3, Viator 1, operator site 157 — the same tour is often listed in several places, so these add up to more than 185), collected 2026-09-21–2026-09-22. Husky safaris and husky sled rides: husky, sled dog or dog sled named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. A visit to a husky farm or kennel with no ride named is its own group (farm visit only), not a separate exclusion. 6 tours were left out because they have no working booking link yet. A tour whose operating base is more than 50 km from the centre is listed only when the tour page says it departs from, or picks up in, the destination; the distance is then shown on the tour. Distances are measured from coordinates in Visit Finland DataHub, or from the postal code of the company’s registered address (PRH open data (opens in a new tab); postal code areas from Statistics Finland (opens in a new tab)). Prices change daily; check them on the booking page.
Links to operators’ own pages were last checked on : 1404 addresses across every activity on this site, of which 21 did not answer with a working page and are not linked. GetYourGuide and Viator links are not fetched.
This page shows the 25 of them in the group “You drive (explicitly stated)” (the title or listing text explicitly says you drive (mush) your own sled; who drives is not reliably known for most tours (see below), so this group is small). Each tour belongs to exactly one group.
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Data source files: data/operators_products.csv, data/operator_catalog.csv, data/discovery/datahub_experiences.csv. Company register data: PRH open data (avoindata.prh.fi) (opens in a new tab).
Last updated:
Some links on this site are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure