Husky safaris in Rovaniemi
Which husky safari in Rovaniemi should I book?
- Total
- 185 husky safaris with a working booking link, from 50 operator names.
- Price per person, not private
- From €30; typical €179. n = 66 of 176 non-private tours
- Typical duration
- 2 h 30 min (n = 120)
Husky safaris and husky sled rides: husky, sled dog or dog sled named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. A visit to a husky farm or kennel with no ride named is its own group (farm visit only), not a separate exclusion. Typical = median. Prices are the lowest listed per-person prices; private tours and group prices are left out. Details and sources below.
Most husky safaris in Rovaniemi are a short sled ride with a stop at the kennel, and the two common formats are driving your own sled for part of the way or riding while a musher drives. Snow covers the ground on almost every day from December to March, so the classic dog-sled version runs reliably all winter. From June to September the ground is bare and safaris switch to a wheeled cart pulled by the same dogs. Daytime temperatures (10:00–16:00) average below −6 °C from December to February, so most of a winter ride is spent well below freezing.
Best time for a husky safari
| Month | Days with snow cover | Day temperature, 10–16, mean (°C) | Daylight (h) |
|---|---|---|---|
| January | 31.0 | -10.5 | 4.4 |
| February | 28.0 | -7.7 | 8.1 |
| March | 31.0 | -2.1 | 11.7 |
| April | 29.5 | 3.4 | 15.5 |
| May | 7.2 | 10.1 | 19.6 |
| June | 0.0 | 16.1 | 23.8 |
| July | 0.0 | 18.7 | 21.5 |
| August | 0.0 | 16.5 | 16.9 |
| September | 0.0 | 10.8 | 13.2 |
| October | 7.3 | 2.9 | 9.5 |
| November | 23.2 | -2.8 | 5.7 |
| December | 30.7 | -6.8 | 2.7 |
- Days with snow cover: Rovaniemi Apukka (FMI weather station), id 101933, 15.3 km, 2015-2024, FMI daily observations; n = 283–310
- Day temperature, 10–16, mean (°C): Rovaniemi railway station (FMI weather station), id 101928, 1 km, 2015-01-01..2024-12-31, FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour); n = 281–309
- Daylight (h): Calculated from destination coordinates (astral 3.2), no station, 0 km, 2015-2024, astral (calculated); n = 28–31
Source file: data/monthly_metrics.csv
51 of the 185 husky safaris we list say when in the year they run: 3 all year, 36 in the snow season only, 7 in part of the year that covers both seasons, 5 outside the snow season only. The other 134 do not say, which is not the same as saying they do not run. The snow season here is November to April.
Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one.
The husky season runs almost all year: sled safaris need snow, which covers the ground on essentially every day from December to March and on about nineteen days in twenty in April, while cart safaris on wheels fill the snow-free months from June to September. Daytime temperatures (10:00–16:00) are coldest in January, averaging about −10.5 °C, and climb above freezing from April. Daylight is shortest in December, at under three hours a day, and by March there is close to twelve; most winter safaris run in daylight or twilight rather than full darkness, unlike a northern lights tour.
Who drives the sled?
| Duration | Tours | of which private | of which combined with northern lights | Price per person, not private: from – typical | Typical duration | Winter clothing | Hotel pickup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Farm or kennel visit husky farm visits | 18 | 1 | 0 | €68 – too few stated prices n = 2 of 17 | 2 h 30 min n = 11 | 2 included 2 not included / on request 14 not stated | 6 included 12 not stated |
| You drive (explicitly stated) drive-your-own husky safaris | 25 | 2 | 0 | €170 – €214 n = 6 of 23 | 3 h 40 min n = 18 | 15 included 10 not stated | 14 included 1 not included 10 not stated |
| You ride (explicitly stated) | 22 | 1 | 0 | €63 – €162 n = 12 of 21 | 2 h 15 min n = 17 | 11 included 1 not included / on request 10 not stated | 5 included 3 not included 14 not stated |
| Up to 3 hours | 34 | 2 | 0 | €30 – €144 n = 19 of 32 | 2 h n = 34 | 11 included 2 not included / on request 21 not stated | 6 included 4 not included 24 not stated |
| Over 3 hours | 4 | 0 | 0 | €184 – too few stated prices n = 2 of 4 | too few stated durations n = 4 | 4 included 0 not stated | 3 included 1 not stated |
| Combined with another activity husky combination tours | 52 | 3 | 6 | €55 – €195 n = 25 of 49 | 3 h 40 min n = 36 | 17 included 35 not stated | 18 included 2 not included 32 not stated |
| Duration not stated | 30 | 0 | 0 | – – too few stated prices n = 0 of 30 | too few stated durations n = 0 | 2 included 28 not stated | 1 included 29 not stated |
| All tours | 185 | 9 | 6 | ||||
Rows are mutually exclusive: each tour is in exactly one row. The row comes from the tour title; only if the title names none, from the collected listing text. A tour is in a “you drive”, “you ride” or “farm or kennel visit” row only when the title or the listing text says so; the rest are grouped by duration. Many husky safaris seat two people per sled and let them take turns, so a tour can be in the “you ride” row and still be marked “Drive your own sled” from the operator’s own page. Farm or kennel visit: the title names a visit to a husky farm, kennel or park (meeting the dogs); about half of these titles also name a ride, so check the title. You drive (explicitly stated): the title or listing text explicitly says you drive (mush) your own sled; who drives is not reliably known for most tours (see below), so this group is small. You ride (explicitly stated): the title or listing text explicitly says a guide or musher drives while you ride in the sled; on tours where two people share a sled the operator’s own page may still say you can take a turn driving, which is then marked on the tour. Up to 3 hours: a sled ride of up to 3 hours (duration midpoint), where who drives is not stated in the title or text. Over 3 hours: a sled ride of more than 3 hours, or several days, where who drives is not stated in the title or text. Combined with another activity: the title combines the husky safari with another main activity (reindeer, snowmobile, northern lights, ice fishing and similar), or names more than one of the husky groups. Duration not stated: no duration and no farm visit, drive-yourself or ride-along wording found.
Prices are the lowest listed per-person price of each tour that is not private (group prices and prices without a stated basis are left out; n = tours with a per-person price, of all non-private tours in the row). Where the operator’s own website states a price, that price is used. Listed prices can be discounted prices. Typical = median; not shown when fewer than 5 tours. Duration = midpoint of the stated range, multi-day tours left out.
Not stated = not found in the collected listing text, so a listing can say more. Hotel pickup "available / pickup points" = pickup offered or pickup points listed, possibly at extra cost.
| Feature | Tours | Price per person: from – typical | Price not stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Private | 9 | €120 – too few stated prices n = 3 of 9 | 6 of 9 |
| Combined with northern lights | 6 | €179 – too few stated prices n = 4 of 5 | 1 of 5 |
Private: "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title (not a private place such as "private island"). Combined with northern lights: the same tour is also listed as a northern lights tour. A tour can be both.
Private tours: a price is shown only when the platform states it as a per-person price. Group prices are not divided among people, and prices that "vary by group size", assume 2 adults or have no stated basis are counted as not stated, because the group size they apply to is unknown. Even a stated per-person price of a private tour can depend on group size. Other features: prices of non-private tours only, as in the table above.
What do husky safaris cost?
Of the 185 husky safaris, 66 state a price per person that can be compared: from €30 to €289, typically €179. 22 state a price we cannot compare per person (a private booking, a group price or no stated basis), and 97 state no price at all. See husky safari prices in Rovaniemi for the full breakdown by tour type.
Book a husky safari
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Sort by:
Grouped by duration; within each duration group, per-person prices and prices without a stated basis come first, lowest first, then group prices, then tours without a price.
Farm or kennel visit (18)
More about husky farm visits: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- Pure husky kennel visit
Pure Lapland · 1 h 30 min · €68 / person
Food or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Husky Sledding in Rovaniemi – 5 km Safari & Farm Visit
Lapland Escape · 2 h 30 min · €99 (basis not stated)
Hotel pickupSmall groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Autumn Husky Kennel Visit with Cart Ride through Taiga Forest
Wild About Lapland · 2 h 30 min · €169 / person
Hotel pickupTitle says summer or autumnDrive your own sledFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Husky Park VIP package
Arctic Circle Husky Park · 1 h · €340 / person
PrivateFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Husky farm visit and safari 1-5 km
Helios Tour · 1 h 30 min–2 h · –
Hotel pickupSmall groupFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Up to 3 hours: 6 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on husky farm visits.
Duration not stated: 7 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on husky farm visits.
You drive (explicitly stated) (25)
More about drive-your-own husky safaris: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- November Tours | Bearhill Husky Safaris & Outdoor Adventures
Bearhill Husky · 2 h 30 min · €133 (basis not stated)
Drive your own sledFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - 1 h Husky Safari
Raitola Reindeer & Husky Farm · 1 h 30 min · €170 / person
Drive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Call of the Wild Tour | Bearhill Husky Safaris & Outdoor Adventures
Bearhill Husky · 3 h · €249 / person
Listed for Dec–Mar
Hotel pickupSmall groupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Husky Safari 5 km With Hot Drink, Self Driving, in Small or Private Group
Arctic Adventure Wolftrail · 25 min · –
Small groupPrivateDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visitFamily-friendly
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Mushing Magic (20km tour)
Pinewood's Huskies · 3 h · –
Small groupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Up to 3 hours: 2 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on drive-your-own husky safaris.
Over 3 and up to 5 hours: 11 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on drive-your-own husky safaris.
Duration not stated: 7 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on drive-your-own husky safaris.
You ride (explicitly stated) (22)
Up to 3 hours
- Husky Sprint: Sled Ride 2 km & Santa Claus Village Tour in Rovaniemi
Lapland Escape · 3 h · €45 (basis not stated)
Hotel pickupWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Dogsledding Safari Around 1,5 Hour
Old Pine Husky · 1 h 30 min · €89 / person
Drive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Kart Safari pulled by a team of huskies. Around 1,5 Hour
Old Pine Husky · 1 h 30 min · €89 / person
Drive your own sledFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Dogsledding Safari Around 2 Hours
Old Pine Husky · 2 h · €125 / person
Drive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Kart Safari pulled by a team of huskies. Around 2,5 Hour
Old Pine Husky · 2 h 30 min · €125 / person
Drive your own sledFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Up to 3 hours: 10 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on.
Over 3 and up to 5 hours: 2 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on.
Duration not stated: 5 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on.
Up to 3 hours (34)
Up to 3 hours
- HUSKY VISITING PACKAGE
Arctic Circle Husky Park · 45 min · €30 / person
Listed for Jun–Nov
Food or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - HUSKY MEET AND GREET
Arctic Circle Husky Park · 20 min · €35 / person
Listed for Dec–Apr
Food or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Short Husky ride & information
Raitola Reindeer & Husky Farm · 1 h · €40 / person
Food or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Santa's Husky Rides | Bearhill Husky Safaris & Outdoor Adventures
Bearhill Husky · 30 min · €63 / person
Food or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Experience the best husky rides in Rovaniemi
Rovaniemi Tours · 1 h 15 min · €68 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Up to 3 hours: 29 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on.
Over 3 hours (4)
Over 3 and up to 5 hours
- Autumn Husky Sprint – 8 km Ride On Wheels in Rovaniemi
Lapland Escape · 4 h · €99 (basis not stated)
Hotel pickupSmall groupTitle says summer or autumnWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Trail of Tails: Step into the Mushing Life with 5 km Husky Adventure
Wild About Lapland · 3 h 30 min · €184 / person
Hotel pickupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Deeper Forest – Husky Safari
Johka Oy · 3 h 30 min · €289 / person
Winter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Signature Husky Safari 7km
BookLapland · 4 h · –
Hotel pickupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Combined with another activity (52)
More about husky combination tours: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- Snowshoeing With A Husky
Old Pine Husky · 1 h · €55 / person
Small groupFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Private Husky Farm Visit & 1 km Sled Ride Experience
Rovaniemi Tours · 2 h · €129 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupPrivateFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Arctic animals adventure – huskies, reindeer and lunch
Raitola Reindeer & Husky Farm · 3 h · €184 / person
Runs in the snow season
Drive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Arctic animals adventure –reindeer, huskies and lunch
Raitola Reindeer & Husky Farm · 3 h · €184 / person
Runs in the snow season
Drive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Husky Farm Visit and 5 km Sleigh Ride Through Snowy Landscapes
Rovaniemi Tours · 3 h · €199 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupFood or hot drinksFarm visit
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Up to 3 hours: 6 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on husky combination tours.
Over 3 and up to 5 hours: 16 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on husky combination tours.
Over 5 and up to 7 hours: 9 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on husky combination tours.
Duration not stated: 16 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on husky combination tours.
Duration not stated (30)
Duration not stated
- Arctic Paws — 2 km Family-Friendly Husky Ride at Lapland Winter Park
StayLapland · – · €59 (basis not stated)
Winter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visitFamily-friendly
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Family Adventures | Bearhill Husky Safaris & Outdoor Adventures
Bearhill Husky · – · €63 (basis not stated)
Family-friendly
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Summer & Autumn | Bearhill Husky Safaris & Outdoor Adventures
Bearhill Husky · – · €89 (basis not stated)
Small groupTitle says summer or autumn
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Husky Safari in Rovaniemi
Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park · – · €104 (basis not stated)
Hotel pickupSmall group
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Apukka Husky Adventure in Rovaniemi, Lapland, Finland
Apukka Resort · – · –
Listed for Dec–Apr
Drive your own sled
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Duration not stated: 25 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on.
What the marks mean
- Hotel pickup
- pickup from your accommodation stated as included.
- Small group
- at most 8 participants, or "small group" in the listing.
- Private
- "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title.
- Title says summer or autumn
- the tour title names summer or autumn.
- Drive your own sled
- the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says you can drive yourself for at least part of the tour.
- Winter clothing
- winter clothing stated as included.
- Food or hot drinks
- a meal, snack or hot drink stated as included.
- Farm visit
- a visit to the husky farm or kennel stated in the listing.
- Combined with northern lights
- the same tour is also listed as a northern lights tour.
- Family-friendly
- "family" in the tour title, or a stated minimum age of 4 years or less.
Features are marked from the text of the listings and the operators’ own pages. A missing mark means the listing does not mention it, not that it is left out. Duration groups use the midpoint of the stated range (a 3–4 hour tour counts as 3.5 hours): up to 3 hours, over 3 and up to 5, over 5 and up to 7, over 7 hours, and tours of several days. Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one. Filters are offered only for features that the listings state for at least 70 % of the tours and at least 50 % of the tours from each source, so a feature can be marked on a tour without being offered as a filter. 6 more husky safaris in our data are not listed here because they have no working booking link yet.
Run a tour here that’s missing, or see an error? Email [email protected]. Reported tours are checked on the operator’s public website before they are added.
Before you book
How long do husky safaris take?
Of the 120 tours that state a duration in hours, the typical (median) tour takes 2 h 30 min; the shortest 20 min and the longest 7 h. 65 do not state a usable duration.
Can children join?
11 of the 185 tours here state a minimum age: from 3 years to 7 years (median 3 years); 11 from the operator's own page. The other 174 do not state one, which is not the same as saying children can join — ask the operator. Tours with a stated minimum age of 4 years or less are marked family-friendly.
Is winter clothing included?
62 of 185 tours say winter clothing is included and 5 say it is not included or only on request. 118 do not mention it. Checked from the listing text (on GetYourGuide, the start of the "included" list), so a listing can say more than we found.
How cold is it during the day?
Mean daytime temperature (10:00–16:00) by month: December -6.8 °C, January -10.5 °C, February -7.7 °C. Whether winter clothing is included is a separate question above; the tour list marks it on each tour that states it.
When should I book?
Book a husky safari for any day of your trip: unlike the northern lights, dog sledding does not depend on a clear sky, so weather flexibility matters far less. The main planning constraint is season: sled rides need snow, so from June to September you will be offered the wheeled cart version instead. Popular kennels can sell out in peak weeks around Christmas and New Year, so book a few weeks ahead if travelling then.
Based on the 185 husky safaris in our data, from operators’ own websites, GetYourGuide or Viator.
Background
A tour operator brings a trained sled team, safety instruction and usually transport to a trail outside the city, which is the practical reason most visitors book a safari instead of arranging their own. 53 of the 185 husky tours we list include hotel pickup.
Combined with other activities
Some husky safaris are also sold as northern lights tours or combined with a reindeer visit; those are counted in both guides.
Husky safaris in other destinations
Each destination’s husky safaris are collected from its own sources, so the counts on those pages are not comparable with the counts here.
Sources and method
Climate data
- Days with snow cover of at least 1 cm, as a share of the days with an observation, scaled to the length of the month; n = days. Source: FMI daily observations (opens in a new tab); Rovaniemi Apukka (FMI weather station) (id 101933), 15.3 km from Rovaniemi; period 2015-2024; n = 283–310 per month.
- Mean of the hourly temperatures 10:00–16:00 per day, averaged over the month; only days with every hour observed; n = days. Source: FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour) (opens in a new tab); Rovaniemi railway station (FMI weather station) (id 101928), 1 km from Rovaniemi; period 2015-01-01..2024-12-31; n = 281–309 per month.
- Mean daily time the sun is above the horizon, calculated from coordinates (year 2023); n = days in the month. Source: astral (calculated); Calculated from destination coordinates (astral 3.2), no station; period 2015-2024; n = 28–31 per month.
We do not compare destinations with these figures, because differences between weather stations can explain differences between places.
Tour data
How operators were found: no single list is complete, so we combined 619 candidate companies from several sources (Visit Finland DataHub 137, GetYourGuide 88, the Finnish Trade Register (PRH open data, tourism-related lines of business) 424, Viator 6, visitrovaniemi.fi listings 38, the visitrovaniemi.fi company directory 89, web searches in seven languages 141; a company can be in several). Each candidate with a website was checked on its own website. Tour details are taken first from the operator’s own website (or Visit Finland DataHub (opens in a new tab)); booking platforms fill in what the operator’s page does not state.
The tables and tour lists include the husky safaris in our data that have a working booking link: 185 tours (184 with details from the operator’s own website or Visit Finland DataHub; listed on: DataHub 46, GetYourGuide 3, Viator 1, operator site 157 — the same tour is often listed in several places, so these add up to more than 185), collected 2026-09-21–2026-09-22. Husky safaris and husky sled rides: husky, sled dog or dog sled named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. A visit to a husky farm or kennel with no ride named is its own group (farm visit only), not a separate exclusion. 6 tours were left out because they have no working booking link yet. A tour whose operating base is more than 50 km from the centre is listed only when the tour page says it departs from, or picks up in, the destination; the distance is then shown on the tour. Distances are measured from coordinates in Visit Finland DataHub, or from the postal code of the company’s registered address (PRH open data (opens in a new tab); postal code areas from Statistics Finland (opens in a new tab)). Prices change daily; check them on the booking page.
Links to operators’ own pages were last checked on : 1404 addresses across every activity on this site, of which 21 did not answer with a working page and are not linked. GetYourGuide and Viator links are not fetched.
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Data source files: data/monthly_metrics.csv, data/operators_products.csv, data/operator_catalog.csv, data/discovery/datahub_experiences.csv. Company register data: PRH open data (avoindata.prh.fi) (opens in a new tab).
Last updated:
Some links on this site are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure