Ice floating in Rovaniemi
What does ice floating in Rovaniemi cost, and what do you get?
- Total
- 24 ice floating experiences with a working booking link, from 16 operator names.
- Price per person, not private
- From €115; typical €131. n = 12 of 23 non-private tours
- Typical duration
- 3 h (n = 20)
Ice floating: floating in a lake in a floating suit, named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. Pages that are not a single bookable float — a floating sauna boat, an inflatable water park, an overview page — were left out after reading the page. Typical = median. Prices are the lowest listed per-person prices; private tours and group prices are left out. Details and sources below.
Ice floating means lying on your back in a lake in a floating suit that keeps you dry, and it is sold in Rovaniemi by 16 operators as 24 bookable experiences. Nine of them name the northern lights in the title and five say the float is in daylight; three are sold as both or together with another activity, and seven do not say which. Where a per-person price is stated, the typical float costs about 130 euros, and 16 of the 20 that state a duration take three hours in total, transfers included. Two thirds say the floating suit is included in the price; the rest do not say either way, so ask before you book. Evenings are cold work for a wet activity: between 20:00 and 02:00 the average is below −7 °C from December to February.
Under the northern lights or in daylight?
| When you float | Tours | of which private | of which combined with northern lights | Price per person, not private: from – typical | Typical duration | Winter clothing | Hotel pickup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Under the northern lights northern lights ice floating tours | 9 | 0 | 9 | €120 – €129 n = 6 of 9 | 3 h n = 7 | 7 included 2 not stated | 6 included 3 not stated |
| In daylight daytime ice floating tours | 5 | 0 | 0 | €136 – too few stated prices n = 1 of 5 | 3 h n = 5 | 3 included 2 not stated | 5 included 0 not stated |
| Both, or combined with another activity | 3 | 0 | 2 | €115 – too few stated prices n = 3 of 3 | too few stated durations n = 3 | 2 included 1 not included / on request 0 not stated | 3 included 0 not stated |
| Not stated | 7 | 1 | 0 | €135 – too few stated prices n = 2 of 6 | 3 h n = 5 | 1 included 6 not stated | 2 included 5 not stated |
| All tours | 24 | 1 | 11 | ||||
Rows are mutually exclusive: each tour is in exactly one row. The row comes from the tour title; only if the title names none, from the collected listing text. The tour title decides. A title that names both, or another main activity such as an icebreaker cruise, goes in the combined row; a title that only says "floating" goes in "Not stated". Under the northern lights: the tour title names the northern lights or the aurora, so the float is after dark. In daylight: the tour title says the float is a daytime or day float. Both, or combined with another activity: the title names both a daytime and a northern lights float, or combines floating with another main activity (icebreaker cruise, husky, snowmobile, reindeer and similar). Not stated: the title only says floating: it does not say whether the float is in daylight or under the northern lights.
Prices are the lowest listed per-person price of each tour that is not private (group prices and prices without a stated basis are left out; n = tours with a per-person price, of all non-private tours in the row). Where the operator’s own website states a price, that price is used. Listed prices can be discounted prices. Typical = median; not shown when fewer than 5 tours. Duration = midpoint of the stated range, multi-day tours left out.
Not stated = not found in the collected listing text, so a listing can say more. Hotel pickup "available / pickup points" = pickup offered or pickup points listed, possibly at extra cost.
| Feature | Tours | Price per person: from – typical | Price not stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Private | 1 | – – too few stated prices n = 0 of 1 | 1 of 1 |
| Combined with northern lights | 11 | €115 – €127 n = 8 of 11 | 3 of 11 |
Private: "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title (not a private place such as "private island"). Combined with northern lights: the same tour is also listed as a northern lights tour. A tour can be both.
Private tours: a price is shown only when the platform states it as a per-person price. Group prices are not divided among people, and prices that "vary by group size", assume 2 adults or have no stated basis are counted as not stated, because the group size they apply to is unknown. Even a stated per-person price of a private tour can depend on group size. Other features: prices of non-private tours only, as in the table above.
Best time to float
| Month | Mean temperature (°C) | Day temperature, 10–16, mean (°C) | Night temperature, 20–02, mean (°C) |
|---|---|---|---|
| January | -10.7 | -10.5 | -10.9 |
| February | -8.5 | -7.7 | -8.6 |
| March | -4.2 | -2.1 | -4.6 |
| April | 1.3 | 3.4 | 1.2 |
| May | 8.1 | 10.1 | 8.1 |
| June | 14.3 | 16.1 | 14.3 |
| July | 16.9 | 18.7 | 17.0 |
| August | 14.6 | 16.5 | 14.3 |
| September | 9.3 | 10.8 | 8.9 |
| October | 2.0 | 2.9 | 1.6 |
| November | -3.3 | -2.8 | -3.5 |
| December | -7.1 | -6.8 | -7.3 |
- Mean temperature (°C): Rovaniemi railway station (FMI weather station), id 101928, 1 km, 2015-2024, FMI daily observations; n = 283–310
- Day temperature, 10–16, mean (°C): Rovaniemi railway station (FMI weather station), id 101928, 1 km, 2015-01-01..2024-12-31, FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour); n = 281–309
- Night temperature, 20–02, mean (°C): Rovaniemi railway station (FMI weather station), id 101928, 1 km, 2015-01-01..2024-12-31, FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour); n = 283–310
Source file: data/monthly_metrics.csv
None of the 24 ice floating experiences we list says when in the year it runs.
Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one.
The monthly mean temperature in Rovaniemi is below freezing from November to March and above it from April to October. None of the 24 floats we list publishes the months it runs, so the table above is about the weather, not about availability; the four whose title names summer or autumn are marked in the list below. In midwinter it makes little difference whether you float at noon or at night: the daytime average (10:00–16:00) and the evening average (20:00–02:00) are within one degree of each other from December to February.
Book an ice floating experience
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Sort by:
Grouped by duration; within each duration group, per-person prices and prices without a stated basis come first, lowest first, then group prices, then tours without a price.
Under the northern lights (9)
More about northern lights ice floating tours: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- Rovaniemi: Ice Floating Experience with Northern Lights
Wonderlapland · 3 h · €120 / person
Hotel pickupWinter clothingCombined with northern lights
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi: Ice Floating under the Aurora Borealis
Safartica · 3 h · €124 / person
Hotel pickupWinter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Aurora Ice Floating
Wild Nordic · 3 h · €129 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupFloating suit includedWinter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi: Arctic Ice Floating and Northern Lights Tour
Nordic Adventures · 3 h · €129 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupFloating suit includedWinter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lightsPhotos included
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Northern Lights Ice Floating
Access Lapland · 3 h · €132 / person
Floating suit includedWinter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Up to 3 hours: 2 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on northern lights ice floating tours.
Duration not stated: 2 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on northern lights ice floating tours.
In daylight (5)
More about daytime ice floating tours: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- Rovaniemi Daytime Ice Floating on Frozen Lake
Rovaniemi Tours · 3 h · €136 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupFloating suit includedFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Daytime Arctic Autumn Lake Floating, Rovaniemi
Nordic Adventures · 3 h · –
Hotel pickupSmall groupFloating suit includedWinter clothingFood or hot drinksPhotos includedTitle says summer or autumn
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Daytime Arctic Summer Lake Floating, Small Group, Rovaniemi
Nordic Adventures · 3 h · –
Hotel pickupSmall groupFloating suit includedWinter clothingFood or hot drinksPhotos includedTitle says summer or autumn
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Daytime Ice Floating: Arctic Water Experience in Rovaniemi
Nordic Adventures · 3 h · –
Hotel pickupFloating suit includedWinter clothingFood or hot drinksPhotos included
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Winter Daytime Ice Floating
BookLapland · 3 h · –
Hotel pickupFloating suit includedFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Both, or combined with another activity (3)
Up to 3 hours
- Arctic Aurora Float & Day Floating
Soul of Lapland · 2 h 30 min · €115 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupFloating suit includedWinter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Aurora Float & Day Floating
Soul of Lapland · 2 h 30 min · €115 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupFloating suit includedWinter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Over 7 hours
- From Rovaniemi: Icebreaker Arktis Cruise with Ice Floating
Rovaniemi Tours · 10 h · €527 / person
Hotel pickupFloating suit includedFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Not stated (7)
Up to 3 hours
- Arctic Floating
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel · 3 h · €135 / person
Floating suit includedFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Arctic Summer Floating
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel · 3 h · €135 / person
Hotel pickupFloating suit includedFood or hot drinksTitle says summer or autumn
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Arctic Floating
Safartica · 3 h · –
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Arctic Ice Floating Experience
Roiske - Arctic Sauna Retreat · 1 h · –
Floating suit includedFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Private Ice Floating in Rovaniemi – Feel the Arctic Magic
Johka Oy · 3 h · –
Hotel pickupPrivateFloating suit includedWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Duration not stated: 2 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on.
What the marks mean
- Hotel pickup
- pickup from your accommodation stated as included.
- Small group
- at most 8 participants, or "small group" in the listing.
- Private
- "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title.
- Floating suit included
- the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says the floating, rescue or survival suit is provided.
- Winter clothing
- winter clothing stated as included.
- Food or hot drinks
- a meal, snack or hot drink stated as included.
- Combined with northern lights
- the same tour is also listed as a northern lights tour.
- Photos included
- photographs of the tour stated as included.
- Title says summer or autumn
- the tour title names summer or autumn; none of these tours publishes the months it runs, so this is all the season information there is.
Features are marked from the text of the listings and the operators’ own pages. A missing mark means the listing does not mention it, not that it is left out. Duration groups use the midpoint of the stated range (a 3–4 hour tour counts as 3.5 hours): up to 3 hours, over 3 and up to 5, over 5 and up to 7, over 7 hours, and tours of several days. Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one. Filters are offered only for features that the listings state for at least 70 % of the tours and at least 50 % of the tours from each source, so a feature can be marked on a tour without being offered as a filter. 3 more ice floating experiences in our data are not listed here because they have no working booking link yet.
Run a tour here that’s missing, or see an error? Email [email protected]. Reported tours are checked on the operator’s public website before they are added.
Before you book
How long do ice floating experiences take?
Of the 20 tours that state a duration in hours, the typical (median) tour takes 3 h; the shortest 1 h and the longest 10 h. 4 do not state a usable duration.
Can children join?
8 of the 24 tours here state a minimum age: 14 years; 8 from the operator's own page. The other 16 do not state one, which is not the same as saying children can join — ask the operator.
Is winter clothing included?
13 of 24 tours say winter clothing is included and 1 says it is not included or only on request. 10 do not mention it. Checked from the listing text (on GetYourGuide, the start of the "included" list), so a listing can say more than we found.
How cold is it during the day?
Mean daytime temperature (10:00–16:00) by month: December -6.8 °C, January -10.5 °C, February -7.7 °C. Whether winter clothing is included is a separate question above; the tour list marks it on each tour that states it.
When should I book?
Floating itself does not depend on a clear sky, so it can go on any evening of your trip. The nine floats sold under the northern lights depend on the same clear, dark sky as any aurora tour, so book those early in your stay and leave room to try again. Because no float in our data publishes its months, check on the operator’s page which season the float you want is sold in.
Based on the 24 ice floating experiences in our data, from operators’ own websites, GetYourGuide, Viator or visitrovaniemi.fi.
Background
A floating suit is a rescue suit: it covers you from head to toe, keeps the water out and holds you on the surface, which is why the tours do not ask you to swim. In winter the water is an opening kept in the ice of a lake, so the float happens in a pool the operator has cleared rather than in open water. Floating is rarely a company’s only product: 11 of the 24 floats in our data are also counted as northern lights tours, and most of the operators selling them also sell husky, snowmobile or reindeer tours. Eight of the 24 state a minimum age and every one of them is 14 years; the other 16 do not state one, which is not the same as saying that younger children can join.
Combined with other activities
Some floats are also sold as northern lights tours or as part of a longer day out; those tours are counted in both guides.
Sources and method
Climate data
- Mean of the daily mean temperatures in the month; n = days with an observation. Source: FMI daily observations (opens in a new tab); Rovaniemi railway station (FMI weather station) (id 101928), 1 km from Rovaniemi; period 2015-2024; n = 283–310 per month.
- Mean of the hourly temperatures 10:00–16:00 per day, averaged over the month; only days with every hour observed; n = days. Source: FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour) (opens in a new tab); Rovaniemi railway station (FMI weather station) (id 101928), 1 km from Rovaniemi; period 2015-01-01..2024-12-31; n = 281–309 per month.
- Mean of the hourly temperatures 20:00–02:00 per night, averaged over the month; only nights with every hour observed; n = nights. Source: FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour) (opens in a new tab); Rovaniemi railway station (FMI weather station) (id 101928), 1 km from Rovaniemi; period 2015-01-01..2024-12-31; n = 283–310 per month.
We do not compare destinations with these figures, because differences between weather stations can explain differences between places.
Tour data
How operators were found: no single list is complete, so we combined 619 candidate companies from several sources (Visit Finland DataHub 137, GetYourGuide 88, the Finnish Trade Register (PRH open data, tourism-related lines of business) 424, Viator 6, visitrovaniemi.fi listings 38, the visitrovaniemi.fi company directory 89, web searches in seven languages 141; a company can be in several). Each candidate with a website was checked on its own website. Tour details are taken first from the operator’s own website (or Visit Finland DataHub (opens in a new tab)); booking platforms fill in what the operator’s page does not state.
The tables and tour lists include the ice floating experiences in our data that have a working booking link: 24 tours (22 with details from the operator’s own website; listed on: GetYourGuide 4, visitrovaniemi.fi 3, operator site 22 — the same tour is often listed in several places, so these add up to more than 24), collected 2026-09-21–2026-09-22. Ice floating: floating in a lake in a floating suit, named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. Pages that are not a single bookable float — a floating sauna boat, an inflatable water park, an overview page — were left out after reading the page. 3 tours were left out because they have no working booking link yet. A tour whose operating base is more than 50 km from the centre is listed only when the tour page says it departs from, or picks up in, the destination; the distance is then shown on the tour. Distances are measured from coordinates in Visit Finland DataHub, or from the postal code of the company’s registered address (PRH open data (opens in a new tab); postal code areas from Statistics Finland (opens in a new tab)). Prices change daily; check them on the booking page.
Links to operators’ own pages were last checked on : 1404 addresses across every activity on this site, of which 21 did not answer with a working page and are not linked. GetYourGuide and Viator links are not fetched.
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Data source files: data/monthly_metrics.csv, data/operators_products.csv, data/operator_catalog.csv, data/discovery/datahub_experiences.csv. Company register data: PRH open data (avoindata.prh.fi) (opens in a new tab).
Last updated:
Some links on this site are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure