Northern lights ice floating tours in Rovaniemi

Jani AlakurttiBy · Updated

This page covers 9 of the 24 ice floating experiences in our Rovaniemi data: the ones that are northern lights ice floating tours. Ice floating in Rovaniemi explains how each tour ends up in one type and lists them all, and ice floating prices in Rovaniemi compares what the types cost. Other types with a page of their own: daytime ice floating tours. Every activity in Rovaniemi, side by side: Rovaniemi in winter.

What is a northern lights ice floating tour like?

Tours
9 northern lights ice floating tours with a working booking link, from 8 operator names.
Price per person, not private
From €120; typical €129. n = 6 of 9 non-private tours
Typical duration
3 h (n = 7)

Under the northern lights tours: the tour title names the northern lights or the aurora, so the float is after dark. Typical = median. Prices are the lowest listed per-person prices; private tours and group prices are left out. Details and sources below.

These are the floats whose title names the northern lights or the aurora, so they run after dark. Seven of the nine state a duration and every one of them is three hours, which covers the transfer, getting into the suit and the float itself. Six state a per-person price, from 120 to 136 euros. Four of the nine say the floating suit is included; the other five do not say either way.

All northern lights ice floating tours

No sort order on this site is affected by commission.

Grouped by duration; within each duration group, per-person prices and prices without a stated basis come first, lowest first, then group prices, then tours without a price.

Up to 3 hours

  1. Rovaniemi: Ice Floating Experience with Northern Lights
    Wonderlapland · 3 h · €120 / person
    Hotel pickupWinter clothingCombined with northern lights
    Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab)
  2. Rovaniemi: Ice Floating under the Aurora Borealis
    Safartica · 3 h · €124 / person
    Hotel pickupWinter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
    Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab)
  3. Aurora Ice Floating
    Wild Nordic · 3 h · €129 / person
    Hotel pickupSmall groupFloating suit includedWinter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  4. Rovaniemi: Arctic Ice Floating and Northern Lights Tour
    Nordic Adventures · 3 h · €129 / person
    Hotel pickupSmall groupFloating suit includedWinter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lightsPhotos included
    Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab)
  5. Northern Lights Ice Floating
    Access Lapland · 3 h · €132 / person
    Floating suit includedWinter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  6. Rovaniemi: Aurora Borealis Autumn Lake Floating Experience
    Safartica · 3 h · €136 / person
    Hotel pickupFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lightsTitle says summer or autumn
    Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab)
  7. Aurora ice floating
    Helios Tour · 3 h · –
    Hotel pickupSmall groupFloating suit includedFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Duration not stated

  1. Ice Floating in Forest Lake with Aurora Borealis
    NordicUnique Travels · – · –
    Winter clothingCombined with northern lights
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  2. Northern Lights Ice Floating
    Golden Circle Suites · – · –
    Winter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
What the marks mean
Hotel pickup
pickup from your accommodation stated as included.
Small group
at most 8 participants, or "small group" in the listing.
Private
"private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title.
Floating suit included
the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says the floating, rescue or survival suit is provided.
Winter clothing
winter clothing stated as included.
Food or hot drinks
a meal, snack or hot drink stated as included.
Combined with northern lights
the same tour is also listed as a northern lights tour.
Photos included
photographs of the tour stated as included.
Title says summer or autumn
the tour title names summer or autumn; none of these tours publishes the months it runs, so this is all the season information there is.

Features are marked from the text of the listings and the operators’ own pages. A missing mark means the listing does not mention it, not that it is left out. Duration groups use the midpoint of the stated range (a 3–4 hour tour counts as 3.5 hours): up to 3 hours, over 3 and up to 5, over 5 and up to 7, over 7 hours, and tours of several days. Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one. Filters are offered only for features that the listings state for at least 70 % of the tours and at least 50 % of the tours from each source, so a feature can be marked on a tour without being offered as a filter. 3 more ice floating experiences in our data are not listed here because they have no working booking link yet.

Run a tour here that’s missing, or see an error? Email [email protected]. Reported tours are checked on the operator’s public website before they are added.

What is included

What the 9 northern lights ice floating tours say is included
ItemStated in the listingNot stated
Winter clothing7 included
0 not included or on request
2 of 9
Hotel pickup6 included
0 available / pickup points
0 not included
3 of 9

Not stated = not found in the collected listing text (on GetYourGuide, the start of the "included" list), so a listing can say more than we found. Hotel pickup "available / pickup points" = pickup offered or pickup points listed, possibly at extra cost.

Price per hour

Price per hour: per-person price divided by duration
LowestTypicalHighestTours with price and duration
€40 / h€43 / h€45 / h6 of 9

Only tours that are not private and state both a per-person price and a duration in hours. Duration = midpoint of the stated range; multi-day tours are left out. Typical = median; not shown when fewer than 5 tours. Price per hour does not account for what is included, so it is a rough comparison, not a measure of value.

Questions

How much do northern lights ice floating tours cost?

6 of the 9 tours that are not private state a per-person price: from €120, typically (median) €129 and up to €136. 3 state a group price or no price basis, so the tour list can show higher prices than this range. These are listed starting prices on the collection date.

How long do northern lights ice floating tours take?

7 of 9 tours state a duration in hours: typically (median) 3 h, from 3 h to 3 h. 2 do not state a usable duration.

Can children join?

2 of the 9 tours here state a minimum age: 14 years; 2 from the operator's own page. The other 7 do not state one, which is not the same as saying children can join — ask the operator.

Who are northern lights ice floating tours for?

A northern lights float suits you if you want the aurora and the water in one evening instead of two separate tours, and if you accept that the sky may stay cloudy. All nine are also counted as northern lights tours in our data, so they appear in that guide as well.

Based on the 9 northern lights ice floating tours in our data, from operators’ own websites, GetYourGuide, Viator or visitrovaniemi.fi.

Sources and method

Tour data

How operators were found: no single list is complete, so we combined 619 candidate companies from several sources (Visit Finland DataHub 137, GetYourGuide 88, the Finnish Trade Register (PRH open data, tourism-related lines of business) 424, Viator 6, visitrovaniemi.fi listings 38, the visitrovaniemi.fi company directory 89, web searches in seven languages 141; a company can be in several). Each candidate with a website was checked on its own website. Tour details are taken first from the operator’s own website (or Visit Finland DataHub (opens in a new tab)); booking platforms fill in what the operator’s page does not state.

The tables and tour lists include the ice floating experiences in our data that have a working booking link: 24 tours (22 with details from the operator’s own website; listed on: GetYourGuide 4, visitrovaniemi.fi 3, operator site 22 — the same tour is often listed in several places, so these add up to more than 24), collected 2026-09-21–2026-09-22. Ice floating: floating in a lake in a floating suit, named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. Pages that are not a single bookable float — a floating sauna boat, an inflatable water park, an overview page — were left out after reading the page. 3 tours were left out because they have no working booking link yet. A tour whose operating base is more than 50 km from the centre is listed only when the tour page says it departs from, or picks up in, the destination; the distance is then shown on the tour. Distances are measured from coordinates in Visit Finland DataHub, or from the postal code of the company’s registered address (PRH open data (opens in a new tab); postal code areas from Statistics Finland (opens in a new tab)). Prices change daily; check them on the booking page.

Links to operators’ own pages were last checked on : 1404 addresses across every activity on this site, of which 21 did not answer with a working page and are not linked. GetYourGuide and Viator links are not fetched.

This page shows the 9 of them in the group “Under the northern lights” (the tour title names the northern lights or the aurora, so the float is after dark). Each tour belongs to exactly one group.

No sort order on this site is affected by commission.

Data source files: data/operators_products.csv, data/operator_catalog.csv, data/discovery/datahub_experiences.csv. Company register data: PRH open data (avoindata.prh.fi) (opens in a new tab).

Last updated:

Some links on this site are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure