Snowmobile northern lights tours in Rovaniemi
This page covers 43 of the 363 northern lights tours in our Rovaniemi data: the ones that are snowmobile northern lights tours. Northern lights in Rovaniemi explains how each tour ends up in one type and lists them all, and northern lights tour prices in Rovaniemi compares what the types cost. Other types with a page of their own: northern lights tours by car, husky northern lights tours and reindeer northern lights tours. Every activity in Rovaniemi, side by side: Rovaniemi in winter.
What is a snowmobile northern lights tour like?
- Tours
- 43 snowmobile northern lights tours with a working booking link, from 31 operator names.
- Price per person, not private
- From €68; typical €157. n = 18 of 41 non-private tours
- Typical duration
- 3 h 30 min (n = 40)
Snowmobile tours: snowmobile as the only main mode. Typical = median. Prices are the lowest listed per-person prices; private tours and group prices are left out. Details and sources below.
On a snowmobile tour you travel on a snowmobile, either driving it or riding as a passenger, and stop in the dark to watch the sky; check which before booking if it matters to you. Speed adds wind chill, so it feels colder than the air, which between 20:00 and 02:00 averages between about −3 and −11 °C from November to March. Most snowmobile listings say winter clothing is included, and most say hotel pickup is included or offered. Snowmobiles need snow: in snow observations from 2015–2024 at Rovaniemi Apukka, 15 km from the city, the ground had at least some snow on almost every day from December to April, on about three days in four in November and on no day in September.
All snowmobile northern lights tours
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Sort by:
Grouped by duration; within each duration group, per-person prices and prices without a stated basis come first, lowest first, then group prices, then tours without a price.
Up to 3 hours
- Northern Lights Snowmobile Adventure at Lapland Winter Park
StayLapland · 2 h · €59 (basis not stated)
Hotel pickupWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi: Northern Lights Sledge Ride
Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park · 3 h · €77 / person
Hotel pickupWinter clothingFamily-friendly
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - From Rovaniemi: Northern Lights Lookout
Wild Nordic · 3 h · €129 / person
Listed for Oct–Mar
Hotel pickupSmall groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFamily-friendly
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Evening Escape – Snowmobile safari and campfire
Safartica · 3 h · €149 (basis not stated)
Winter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi: Northern Lights Family-Friendly Snowmobile Safari
Wild about Lapland · 3 h · €154 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinksGuarantee: partial refundFamily-friendly
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Snowmobile Safari to Search for Northern Lights
Wild Nordic Finland · 2 h · €159 / person
Listed for Dec–Mar
Winter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Northern Lights Safari by Electric Snowmobiles in Rovaniemi
Safartica · 3 h · €199 (basis not stated)
Winter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Aurora Borealis Safari by Electric Snowmobile, Rovaniemi
Lapland Safaris · 3 h · €206 (basis not stated)
Winter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Excursion to Aurora Borealis Camp by Electric Snowmobile, Rovaniemi
Lapland Safaris · 3 h · €214 (basis not stated)
Winter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - NORTHERN LIGHTS HUNTING
Arctic Dreams House · 3 h · €270 (basis not stated)
Food or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Hunting Northern Lights by Snowmobile – Rovaniemi
Lapland Welcome · 3 h · €351 (basis not stated)
Listed for Dec–Apr
Food or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Northern Lights Snowmobile Safari from Rovaniemi with Campfire Picnic
Easy Travel Ltd · 3 h · €398 (basis not stated)
Winter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - PRIVATE Glass Igloo Dinner Under Northern Lights
The Guide Father · 3 h · €399 / person
Hotel pickupPrivateFood or hot drinks
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Northern Lights Snowmobile Safari from Rovaniemi Sinettä, 3 hours
PolarMax Adventures · 3 h · €438 (basis not stated)
Small groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Electric Snowmobile Northern Lights Hunt, Rovaniemi
Nordic Adventures · 3 h · –
Hotel pickupSmall groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFamily-friendly
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Night Snowmobile Aurora Hunt: Arctic Wilderness by Night, in Rovaniemi
Nordic Adventures · 3 h · –
Hotel pickupSmall groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Northern lights hunting by snowmobile
Helios Tour · 2 h · –
Hotel pickupWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Northern Lights Snowmobile Adventure
Lapland Winter Park · 2 h 30 min · –
Listed for Nov–Mar
Winter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Over 3 and up to 5 hours
- Rovaniemi: Northern Lights Snowmobile/Sleigh Hunt with BBQ
NordicUnique Travels · 2 h 30 min–4 h · €68 / person
Hotel pickupWinter clothingFamily-friendly
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Arctic Aurora Chase by Snowmobile
Lapland Royal Adventures · 4 h · €119 (basis not stated)
Hotel pickupWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFamily-friendly
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi: Aurora Borealis Snowmobile Safari with Campfire
Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park · 4 h · €139 (basis not stated)
Hotel pickupWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi: Northern Lights Tour Sleigh Ride
StayLapland · 4 h · €139 / person
Listed for Nov–Apr
Hotel pickupWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Northern Lights Hunt with Snowmobiles
Access Lapland · 3 h 30 min · €149 / person
Winter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi: Northern Lights Electric Snow-Scooter Tour
SnowTrail Safaris · 3 h 30 min · €149 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFamily-friendly
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Small Group Snowmobile Safari to the Aurora Cabin
SnowTrail Safaris · 4 h · €149 (basis not stated)
Small groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - From Rovaniemi: Searching Aurora with Snowmobile
Sunny Safari Finland · 3 h 30 min · €159 / person
Hotel pickupFamily-friendly
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi: Night Snowmobile Tour
Apukka Resort Oy · 4 h 30 min · €159 / person
Hotel pickup
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi: Northern Lights Snowmobile Safari with Campfire
Arctic Lifestyle · 4 h · €159 / person
Winter clothingFamily-friendly
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi: Northern Lights Snowmobile Tour – New Snowmobiles
Arctic GM Experiences OY · 4 h · €159 / person
Hotel pickupSmall group
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Searching for the Auroras
Arctic Lifestyle · 4 h · €159 (basis not stated)
Winter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi: Northern Lights Tour Snowmobile Driving
StayLapland · 4 h · €169 / person
Listed for Nov–Apr
Hotel pickupWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFamily-friendly
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi: Northern Lights Snowmobile Tour
Wild about Lapland · 4 h · €185 / person
Hotel pickupSmall group
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi: Snowmobiling under Aurora+Kota Salmon & Photos
Super Vi · 3 h 30 min · €189 / person
Hotel pickupWinter clothingFamily-friendly
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Pure Snowmobile night experience (Small-Group)
Pure Lapland · 3 h 30 min · €199 (basis not stated)
Small groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Snowmobile Photography Trip to Hunt the Auroras
Nordic Unique Travels · 4 h · €279 (basis not stated)
Winter clothingFood or hot drinksPhotos of you
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Arctic Aurora Chase by Snowmobile Sleigh
Lapland Royal Adventures · 4 h · –
Hotel pickupWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFamily-friendly
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Northern lights electric snowmobile safari, Rovaniemi
Rovaniemi-tours.com · 3 h 30 min · –
Small groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi: Snowmobile Evening Safari & Northern Lights Opportunity
Arctic GM · 4 h · –
Hotel pickupSmall groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Over 5 and up to 7 hours
- Rovaniemi:Private Aurora, Santa & Fireside Dinner Experience
SnowTrail Safaris · 6 h · €1,650 / group
Hotel pickupSmall groupPrivateWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFamily-friendly
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab)
Over 7 hours
- Rovaniemi: Snowmobile Safari with Northern Lights Hunt & BBQ
Arctic Safari Guides · 8 h · €139 / person
Hotel pickupWinter clothing
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab)
Duration not stated
- Northern Lights Hunt with Snowmobiles
Golden Circle Suites · – · €149 / person
Winter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Northern Lights & Snowmobile Driving
Rovaniemi Insider · – · €159 / person
Hotel pickupWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Searching Aurora with Snowmobile
Sunny Safari · – · –
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
What the marks mean
- Hotel pickup
- pickup from your accommodation stated as included.
- Small group
- at most 8 participants, or "small group" in the listing.
- Private
- "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title.
- Title says summer or autumn
- the tour title names summer or autumn.
- Winter clothing
- winter clothing (overalls, boots or thermal suit) stated as included.
- Food or hot drinks
- a meal, snack or hot drink stated as included.
- Photos of you
- photos taken of the guests stated as included.
- Guarantee
- a refund, free retry or partial refund if the northern lights do not show (terms vary).
- Family-friendly
- "family" in the tour title, or a stated minimum age of 4 years or less.
Features are marked from the text of the listings and the operators’ own pages. A missing mark means the listing does not mention it, not that it is left out. Duration groups use the midpoint of the stated range (a 3–4 hour tour counts as 3.5 hours): up to 3 hours, over 3 and up to 5, over 5 and up to 7, over 7 hours, and tours of several days. Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one. Filters are offered only for features that the listings state for at least 70 % of the tours and at least 50 % of the tours from each source, so a feature can be marked on a tour without being offered as a filter. 111 more northern lights tours in our data are not listed here because they have no working booking link yet.
All northern lights tours in Rovaniemi on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab)
Run a tour here that’s missing, or see an error? Email [email protected]. Reported tours are checked on the operator’s public website before they are added.
What is included
| Item | Stated in the listing | Not stated |
|---|---|---|
| Winter clothing | 35 included 0 not included or on request | 8 of 43 |
| Hotel pickup | 24 included 13 available / pickup points 0 not included | 6 of 43 |
| Can you drive the snowmobile yourself? | 15 yes, for at least part of the tour | 28 of 43 |
Not stated = not found in the collected listing text (on GetYourGuide, the start of the "included" list), so a listing can say more than we found. Hotel pickup "available / pickup points" = pickup offered or pickup points listed, possibly at extra cost. "Yes" was recorded only where the operator’s own page states it directly; not stated does not mean no.
Price per hour
| Lowest | Typical | Highest | Tours with price and duration |
|---|---|---|---|
| €17 / h | €42 / h | €80 / h | 16 of 41 |
Only tours that are not private and state both a per-person price and a duration in hours. Duration = midpoint of the stated range; multi-day tours are left out. Typical = median; not shown when fewer than 5 tours. Price per hour does not account for what is included, so it is a rough comparison, not a measure of value.
Questions about snowmobile tours
How much do snowmobile northern lights tours cost?
18 of the 41 tours that are not private state a per-person price: from €68, typically (median) €157 and up to €189. 15 state a price that cannot be compared per person (a group price or no stated basis) and 8 state no price at all, so the tour list can show higher prices than this range, and 2 private tours are left out because a private tour's per-person price depends on group size. These are listed starting prices on the collection date.
How long do snowmobile northern lights tours take?
40 of 43 tours state a duration in hours: typically (median) 3 h 30 min, from 2 h to 8 h. 3 do not state a usable duration.
Can children join?
16 of the 43 tours here state a minimum age: from 2 years to 18 years (median 3 years); 4 from the operator's own page, 12 from the GetYourGuide age field. The other 27 do not state one, which is not the same as saying children can join — ask the operator. Tours with a stated minimum age of 4 years or less are marked family-friendly.
What if the northern lights don’t show?
Of 43 tours: 15 say sightings are not guaranteed (No guarantee); 3 say explicitly that there is no refund if the lights do not show (No refund (stated)); 1 offers a partial refund (Partial refund); 1 mentions a guarantee, but its terms were not collected (Mentioned, terms not collected); 23 do not mention it. These counts describe refund and retry conditions as the listings state them. A guarantee or a success rate in a tour title is a booking condition or the operator’s own figure, not a forecast; our own figure for how often the sky is clear and dark is on the northern lights page.
Can you drive the snowmobile yourself?
15 of 43 tours say you can drive yourself for at least part of the tour. 28 do not say so on the operator's own page — that does not mean you cannot, only that it is not confirmed, so check before booking.
Who are snowmobile northern lights tours for?
Snowmobile tours suit you if you want an activity on the snow as well as a chance to see the aurora. Their typical per-person price is higher than for tours by car. If you travel with children, check the age limit: most snowmobile tours on GetYourGuide state one.
Based on the 43 snowmobile northern lights tours in our data, from operators’ own websites, GetYourGuide, Viator or visitrovaniemi.fi.
Sources and method
Climate data
- Mean of the hourly temperatures 20:00–02:00 per night, averaged over the month; only nights with every hour observed; n = nights. Source: FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour) (opens in a new tab); Rovaniemi railway station (FMI weather station) (id 101928), 1 km from Rovaniemi; period 2015-01-01..2024-12-31; n = 283–310 per month.
- Days with snow cover of at least 1 cm, as a share of the days with an observation, scaled to the length of the month; n = days. Source: FMI daily observations (opens in a new tab); Rovaniemi Apukka (FMI weather station) (id 101933), 15.3 km from Rovaniemi; period 2015-2024; n = 283–310 per month.
We do not compare destinations with these figures, because differences between weather stations can explain differences between places.
Tour data
How operators were found: no single list is complete, so we combined 619 candidate companies from several sources (Visit Finland DataHub 137, GetYourGuide 88, the Finnish Trade Register (PRH open data, tourism-related lines of business) 424, Viator 6, visitrovaniemi.fi listings 38, the visitrovaniemi.fi company directory 89, web searches in seven languages 141; a company can be in several). Each candidate with a website was checked on its own website. Tour details are taken first from the operator’s own website (or Visit Finland DataHub (opens in a new tab)); booking platforms fill in what the operator’s page does not state.
The tables and tour lists include the northern lights tours in our data that have a working booking link: 363 tours (175 with details from the operator’s own website or Visit Finland DataHub; listed on: DataHub 45, GetYourGuide 155, Viator 23, visitrovaniemi.fi 94, operator site 149 — the same tour is often listed in several places, so these add up to more than 363), collected 2026-09-21–2026-09-22. Northern lights tours: listed as a northern lights tour on GetYourGuide, Viator or visitrovaniemi.fi (Rovaniemi only), or naming the northern lights (aurora) in the title on the operator’s own website, or tagged or titled as one in Visit Finland DataHub. 26 platform listings that were not northern lights tours were left out. 111 tours were left out because they have no working booking link yet. A tour whose operating base is more than 50 km from the centre is listed only when the tour page says it departs from, or picks up in, the destination; the distance is then shown on the tour. Distances are measured from coordinates in Visit Finland DataHub, or from the postal code of the company’s registered address (PRH open data (opens in a new tab); postal code areas from Statistics Finland (opens in a new tab)). Prices change daily; check them on the booking page.
Links to operators’ own pages were last checked on : 1404 addresses across every activity on this site, of which 21 did not answer with a working page and are not linked. GetYourGuide and Viator links are not fetched.
This page shows the 43 of them in the group “Snowmobile” (snowmobile as the only main mode). Each tour belongs to exactly one group.
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Data source files: data/monthly_metrics.csv, data/operators_products.csv, data/operator_catalog.csv, data/discovery/datahub_experiences.csv. Company register data: PRH open data (avoindata.prh.fi) (opens in a new tab).
Last updated:
Some links on this site are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure