Husky northern lights tours in Rovaniemi
This page covers 5 of the 363 northern lights tours in our Rovaniemi data: the ones that are husky northern lights tours. Northern lights in Rovaniemi explains how each tour ends up in one type and lists them all, and northern lights tour prices in Rovaniemi compares what the types cost. Other types with a page of their own: northern lights tours by car, snowmobile northern lights tours and reindeer northern lights tours. Every activity in Rovaniemi, side by side: Rovaniemi in winter.
What is a husky northern lights tour like?
- Tours
- 5 husky northern lights tours with a working booking link, from 5 operator names.
- Price per person, not private
- From €179; typical not shown (fewer than 5 tours state one). n = 3 of 4 non-private tours
- Typical duration
- 3 h–3 h 30 min (typical not shown: fewer than 5 tours state a duration)
Husky tours: husky sled as the only main mode. Typical = median. Prices are the lowest listed per-person prices; private tours and group prices are left out. Details and sources below.
On a husky tour a team of sled dogs pulls the sled through the dark, and you stop to watch the sky. Husky northern lights tours are few in our data compared with tours by car. Some listings say you can drive the sled yourself for at least part of the tour, and most do not say who drives. Most say winter clothing is included; you will need it, as on one night in ten from December to February it is colder than −15 °C between 20:00 and 02:00.
All husky northern lights tours
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Sort by:
Grouped by duration; within each duration group, per-person prices and prices without a stated basis come first, lowest first, then group prices, then tours without a price.
Up to 3 hours
- Rovaniemi: Aurora Husky Safari Through the Forest
Santa Claus Holiday Village Safaris · 3 h · €205 / person
Hotel pickupWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab)
Over 3 and up to 5 hours
- Rovaniemi: Northern Lights and Husky Sleigh Ride
NordicUnique Travels · 3 h 30 min · €229 / person
Listed for Nov–Apr
Winter clothingFood or hot drinks
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Private Northern Lights Husky Tour
North Tours · 3 h 30 min · €239 (basis not stated)
Small groupPrivateWinter clothingFood or hot drinksPhotos of you
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Duration not stated
- Northern Lights Husky Rides
Rovaniemi Tours · – · €179 / person
Hotel pickup
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Northern Lights Safari with huskies in Rovaniemi
Christmas House Santa Claus & Safaris · – · –
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
What the marks mean
- Hotel pickup
- pickup from your accommodation stated as included.
- Small group
- at most 8 participants, or "small group" in the listing.
- Private
- "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title.
- Title says summer or autumn
- the tour title names summer or autumn.
- Winter clothing
- winter clothing (overalls, boots or thermal suit) stated as included.
- Food or hot drinks
- a meal, snack or hot drink stated as included.
- Photos of you
- photos taken of the guests stated as included.
- Guarantee
- a refund, free retry or partial refund if the northern lights do not show (terms vary).
- Family-friendly
- "family" in the tour title, or a stated minimum age of 4 years or less.
Features are marked from the text of the listings and the operators’ own pages. A missing mark means the listing does not mention it, not that it is left out. Duration groups use the midpoint of the stated range (a 3–4 hour tour counts as 3.5 hours): up to 3 hours, over 3 and up to 5, over 5 and up to 7, over 7 hours, and tours of several days. Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one. Filters are offered only for features that the listings state for at least 70 % of the tours and at least 50 % of the tours from each source, so a feature can be marked on a tour without being offered as a filter. 111 more northern lights tours in our data are not listed here because they have no working booking link yet.
All northern lights tours in Rovaniemi on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab)
Run a tour here that’s missing, or see an error? Email [email protected]. Reported tours are checked on the operator’s public website before they are added.
What is included
| Item | Stated in the listing | Not stated |
|---|---|---|
| Winter clothing | 3 included 0 not included or on request | 2 of 5 |
| Hotel pickup | 2 included 0 available / pickup points 0 not included | 3 of 5 |
| Can you drive the husky sled yourself? | 2 yes, for at least part of the tour | 3 of 5 |
Not stated = not found in the collected listing text (on GetYourGuide, the start of the "included" list), so a listing can say more than we found. Hotel pickup "available / pickup points" = pickup offered or pickup points listed, possibly at extra cost. "Yes" was recorded only where the operator’s own page states it directly; not stated does not mean no.
Price per hour
| Lowest | Typical | Highest | Tours with price and duration |
|---|---|---|---|
| €65 / h | fewer than 5 prices | €68 / h | 2 of 4 |
Only tours that are not private and state both a per-person price and a duration in hours. Duration = midpoint of the stated range; multi-day tours are left out. Typical = median; not shown when fewer than 5 tours. Price per hour does not account for what is included, so it is a rough comparison, not a measure of value.
Questions about husky tours
How much do husky northern lights tours cost?
3 of the 4 tours that are not private state a per-person price: from €179 and up to €229. 1 states no price at all, and 1 private tour is left out because a private tour's per-person price depends on group size. These are listed starting prices on the collection date.
How long do husky northern lights tours take?
3 of 5 tours state a duration in hours: from 3 h to 3 h 30 min. 2 do not state a usable duration.
Can children join?
None of the 5 tours here state a minimum age on the platform listing or on the operator's own page. That does not mean children can join: it means the age limit is not stated, so ask the operator before booking.
What if the northern lights don’t show?
Of 5 tours: 1 says sightings are not guaranteed (No guarantee); 4 do not mention it. These counts describe refund and retry conditions as the listings state them. A guarantee or a success rate in a tour title is a booking condition or the operator’s own figure, not a forecast; our own figure for how often the sky is clear and dark is on the northern lights page.
Can you drive the husky sled yourself?
2 of 5 tours say you can drive yourself for at least part of the tour. 3 do not say so on the operator's own page — that does not mean you cannot, only that it is not confirmed, so check before booking.
Who are husky northern lights tours for?
Husky tours suit you if you want to ride behind a dog team as well as look for the aurora. Every husky tour in our data that states a per-person price starts from more than €150, above the typical per-person price of tours by car. With few tours to choose from, compare what each includes before booking.
Based on the 5 husky northern lights tours in our data, from operators’ own websites or GetYourGuide.
Looking for a husky safari without the northern lights focus? See our husky safaris in Rovaniemi guide, which covers all husky tours and who drives the sled.
Sources and method
Climate data
- 10th percentile of those nightly means: one night in ten was colder; n = nights. Source: FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour) (opens in a new tab); Rovaniemi railway station (FMI weather station) (id 101928), 1 km from Rovaniemi; period 2015-01-01..2024-12-31; n = 283–310 per month.
We do not compare destinations with these figures, because differences between weather stations can explain differences between places.
Tour data
How operators were found: no single list is complete, so we combined 619 candidate companies from several sources (Visit Finland DataHub 137, GetYourGuide 88, the Finnish Trade Register (PRH open data, tourism-related lines of business) 424, Viator 6, visitrovaniemi.fi listings 38, the visitrovaniemi.fi company directory 89, web searches in seven languages 141; a company can be in several). Each candidate with a website was checked on its own website. Tour details are taken first from the operator’s own website (or Visit Finland DataHub (opens in a new tab)); booking platforms fill in what the operator’s page does not state.
The tables and tour lists include the northern lights tours in our data that have a working booking link: 363 tours (175 with details from the operator’s own website or Visit Finland DataHub; listed on: DataHub 45, GetYourGuide 155, Viator 23, visitrovaniemi.fi 94, operator site 149 — the same tour is often listed in several places, so these add up to more than 363), collected 2026-09-21–2026-09-22. Northern lights tours: listed as a northern lights tour on GetYourGuide, Viator or visitrovaniemi.fi (Rovaniemi only), or naming the northern lights (aurora) in the title on the operator’s own website, or tagged or titled as one in Visit Finland DataHub. 26 platform listings that were not northern lights tours were left out. 111 tours were left out because they have no working booking link yet. A tour whose operating base is more than 50 km from the centre is listed only when the tour page says it departs from, or picks up in, the destination; the distance is then shown on the tour. Distances are measured from coordinates in Visit Finland DataHub, or from the postal code of the company’s registered address (PRH open data (opens in a new tab); postal code areas from Statistics Finland (opens in a new tab)). Prices change daily; check them on the booking page.
Links to operators’ own pages were last checked on : 1404 addresses across every activity on this site, of which 21 did not answer with a working page and are not linked. GetYourGuide and Viator links are not fetched.
This page shows the 5 of them in the group “Husky” (husky sled as the only main mode). Each tour belongs to exactly one group.
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Data source files: data/monthly_metrics.csv, data/operators_products.csv, data/operator_catalog.csv, data/discovery/datahub_experiences.csv. Company register data: PRH open data (avoindata.prh.fi) (opens in a new tab).
Last updated:
Some links on this site are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure