Reindeer safaris in Levi
Which reindeer experience in Levi should I book, and what does it cost?
- Total
- 43 reindeer experiences with a working booking link, from 15 operator names.
- Price per person, not private
- From €99; typical €154. n = 7 of 42 non-private tours
- Typical duration
- 2 h 30 min (n = 18)
Reindeer experiences: reindeer named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. Pages that are not a single bookable tour with reindeer in the programme (overview pages, photo galleries, accommodation) were left out after reading the page. Typical = median. Prices are the lowest listed per-person prices; private tours and group prices are left out. Details and sources below.
Reindeer experiences in Levi are mostly sleigh rides (18 of the 43 we list) or reindeer combined with another activity (20), most often a snowmobile ride. Where the operator’s own page gives the length of the sleigh ride, it is short: 18 pages state it, from half a kilometre to three kilometres (one page says 2–4 km), most often one or three kilometres. 9 of the 43 say they present Sámi culture.
Sleigh ride, farm visit or combination?
| Experience | Tours | of which private | of which combined with northern lights | Price per person, not private: from – typical | Typical duration | Winter clothing | Hotel pickup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sleigh ride reindeer sleigh rides | 18 | 0 | 0 | €99 – too few stated prices n = 3 of 18 | 2 h 15 min n = 10 | 2 included 2 not included / on request 14 not stated | 3 included 15 not stated |
| Herder experience or overnight | 1 | 0 | 0 | – – too few stated prices n = 0 of 1 | too few stated durations n = 1 | 0 included 1 not stated | 0 included 1 not stated |
| Farm visit, no ride stated | 3 | 0 | 0 | €154 – too few stated prices n = 1 of 3 | too few stated durations n = 1 | 0 included 3 not stated | 0 included 3 not stated |
| Combined with another activity reindeer combination tours | 20 | 1 | 1 | €139 – too few stated prices n = 3 of 19 | 3 h n = 6 | 5 included 1 not included / on request 14 not stated | 1 included 19 not stated |
| Not stated | 1 | 0 | 0 | – – too few stated prices n = 0 of 1 | too few stated durations n = 0 | 0 included 1 not stated | 0 included 1 not stated |
| All tours | 43 | 1 | 1 | ||||
Rows are mutually exclusive: each tour is in exactly one row. The row comes from the tour title; only if the title names none, from the collected listing text. A reindeer soup or a gift shop mentioned in passing does not decide the row; the row follows what the tour itself is. Sleigh ride: you ride in a sleigh pulled by a reindeer: named in the title, or stated on the operator’s own page (read directly, with a quote). Herder experience or overnight: a day in a reindeer herder’s work, or a stay overnight with the reindeer, named in the title. Farm visit, no ride stated: a visit to a reindeer farm or a meeting with reindeer (feeding, walking, photos), with no reindeer sleigh ride named in the title or stated on the operator’s page. Combined with another activity: the title combines reindeer with another main activity (husky, snowmobile, northern lights, ice fishing and similar), or names more than one of these experiences. Not stated: no sleigh ride, farm visit, herder or other activity wording found.
Prices are the lowest listed per-person price of each tour that is not private (group prices and prices without a stated basis are left out; n = tours with a per-person price, of all non-private tours in the row). Where the operator’s own website states a price, that price is used. Listed prices can be discounted prices. Typical = median; not shown when fewer than 5 tours. Duration = midpoint of the stated range, multi-day tours left out.
Not stated = not found in the collected listing text, so a listing can say more. Hotel pickup "available / pickup points" = pickup offered or pickup points listed, possibly at extra cost.
| Feature | Tours | Price per person: from – typical | Price not stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Private | 1 | – – too few stated prices n = 0 of 1 | 1 of 1 |
| Combined with northern lights | 1 | – – too few stated prices n = 0 of 1 | 1 of 1 |
Private: "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title (not a private place such as "private island"). Combined with northern lights: the same tour is also listed as a northern lights tour. A tour can be both.
Private tours: a price is shown only when the platform states it as a per-person price. Group prices are not divided among people, and prices that "vary by group size", assume 2 adults or have no stated basis are counted as not stated, because the group size they apply to is unknown. Even a stated per-person price of a private tour can depend on group size. Other features: prices of non-private tours only, as in the table above.
How long is the sleigh ride?
| Sleigh ride | Tours | Share of those stating it |
|---|---|---|
| Under 1 km | 3 | 17 % |
| 1 km to under 3 km | 8 | 44 % |
| 3 km or more | 7 | 39 % |
| Not stated | 6 | – |
Length of the reindeer sleigh ride itself as stated on the operator’s page (a range counts at its midpoint), not the length of the whole tour. Typical (median) ride: 1.0 km; shortest 0.5 km, longest 3.0 km. Tours that state only a riding time are counted as not stated. Not stated does not mean no.
What do reindeer experiences cost?
| What the listing states | Tours | Prices |
|---|---|---|
| A price per person (not private) | 7 | €99–€275 |
| A price we cannot compare per person | 7 | €90–€289 |
| No price at all | 29 | – |
7 of the 43 reindeer experiences state a price per person that can be compared: they run from €99 to €275. That is fewer than 10 prices, so this section shows only the range and the number of prices; a “typical” figure elsewhere on the page is the median of these same prices, shown from 5 prices up, and it rests on few tours. The 7 in the middle row do state a price, but not one you can put beside the others: 7 do not say what the price covers. Listed starting prices on the collection date; they can be discounted prices. There is no separate price page for this activity, because 10 comparable prices are needed for quartiles.
Best time for a reindeer safari
| Month | Days with snow cover | Day temperature, 10–16, mean (°C) | Daylight (h) |
|---|---|---|---|
| January | 31.0 | -12.6 | 3.4 |
| February | 28.0 | -9.3 | 7.8 |
| March | 31.0 | -3.7 | 11.7 |
| April | 30.0 | 1.4 | 15.7 |
| May | 13.6 | 8.2 | 20.7 |
| June | 0.0 | 14.1 | 24.0 |
| July | 0.0 | 16.9 | 22.6 |
| August | 0.0 | 14.7 | 17.3 |
| September | 0.2 | 9.4 | 13.2 |
| October | 10.1 | 1.1 | 9.3 |
| November | 26.1 | -5.4 | 5.1 |
| December | 30.9 | -9.3 | 0.6 |
- Days with snow cover: Kittilä Pakatti (FMI weather station), id 101990, 16.3 km, 2015-2024, FMI daily observations; n = 283–310
- Day temperature, 10–16, mean (°C): Kittilä airport (FMI weather station), id 101986, 13.1 km, 2015-01-01..2024-12-31, FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour); n = 280–310
- Daylight (h): Calculated from destination coordinates (astral 3.2), no station, 0 km, 2015-2024, astral (calculated); n = 28–31
Source file: data/monthly_metrics.csv
12 of the 43 reindeer experiences we list say when in the year they run: 12 in the snow season only. The other 31 do not say, which is not the same as saying they do not run. The snow season here is November to April.
Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one.
Snow covers the ground on essentially every day from December to April and on no day from June to August. Daytime temperatures (10:00–16:00) are coldest in January, averaging about −13 °C, and climb above freezing in April. Daylight is under an hour a day in December and close to twelve hours in March, so a midwinter farm visit happens mostly in twilight.
Book a reindeer experience
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Sort by:
Grouped by duration; within each duration group, per-person prices and prices without a stated basis come first, lowest first, then group prices, then tours without a price.
Sleigh ride (18)
More about reindeer sleigh rides: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- The Authentic Reindeer Safari
Lappiland Oy · 1 h 30 min–2 h · €90 (basis not stated)
Runs in the snow season
Food or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Authentic Reindeer Sled Ride in Levi
Beyond Arctic · 2 h · €99 / person
Runs in the snow season
Small groupFood or hot drinksSámi host or culture
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - 2-hour Visit to a Traditional Reindeer Farm in Levi with Reindeer Feeding & Sleigh Ride
Wild Nordic Finland · 2 h · €154 / person
Runs in the snow season
Winter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Super Reindeer Safari in Levi
Scandinavian Travel Group Oy · 2 h 30 min · €169 / person
Hotel pickupFood or hot drinksSámi host or culture
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Reindeer Farm and Reindeer Safari Express 0,6 km, Levi
Scandinavian Travel Group Oy · 2 h 30 min · –
Small groupFood or hot drinksSámi host or culture
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Up to 3 hours: 5 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on reindeer sleigh rides.
Duration not stated: 8 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on reindeer sleigh rides.
Herder experience or overnight (1)
Up to 3 hours
- dinner with a reindeer herder
sixty eight north · 3 h · –
Food or hot drinksSámi host or culture
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Farm visit, no ride stated (3)
Up to 3 hours
- Reindeer Farm - Perhesafarit
Perhesafarit · 2 h · €154 / person
Food or hot drinksFamily-friendly
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Duration not stated
- Reindeer Farm Visit and Wilderness Fell Adventure
Soma Adventures · – · –
Food or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Visit at the Elves Reindeer Fence
Elves Village (Tonttula) · – · –
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Combined with another activity (20)
More about reindeer combination tours: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- 3-in-1 Combo Adventure: Huskies, Reindeer & Snowmobile Sleigh Ride in Levi
Beyond Arctic · 2 h · €139 / person
Runs in the snow season
Small groupFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Snowmobile Safari to a Traditional Reindeer Farm in Levi
Wild Nordic Finland · 3 h · €218 / person
Listed for Dec–Mar
Winter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Meet the Reindeer like a local with a snowmobile sled, Levi
Levi Tours · 3 h · –
Small groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - private visit to a reindeer farm by snowmobile
sixty eight north · 3 h · –
PrivateWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Reindeer Herder’s Day in the Wilderness with a Snowmobile sled, Levi
Levi Tours · 3 h · –
Small groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Over 3 and up to 5 hours: 1 more tour is listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on reindeer combination tours.
Duration not stated: 14 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on reindeer combination tours.
Not stated (1)
Duration not stated
- Authentic Reindeer experience in the wilderness in Levi
Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park · – · €289 (basis not stated)
Small group
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
What the marks mean
- Hotel pickup
- pickup from your accommodation stated as included.
- Small group
- at most 8 participants, or "small group" in the listing.
- Private
- "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title.
- Winter clothing
- winter clothing stated as included.
- Food or hot drinks
- a meal, snack or hot drink stated as included.
- Sámi host or culture
- the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says the host is Sámi or that Sámi culture is part of the programme; “Lappish” or “local” alone does not count.
- Combined with northern lights
- the same tour is also listed as a northern lights tour.
- Family-friendly
- "family" in the tour title, or a stated minimum age of 4 years or less.
Features are marked from the text of the listings and the operators’ own pages. A missing mark means the listing does not mention it, not that it is left out. Duration groups use the midpoint of the stated range (a 3–4 hour tour counts as 3.5 hours): up to 3 hours, over 3 and up to 5, over 5 and up to 7, over 7 hours, and tours of several days. Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one. Filters are offered only for features that the listings state for at least 70 % of the tours and at least 50 % of the tours from each source, so a feature can be marked on a tour without being offered as a filter. 5 more reindeer experiences in our data are not listed here because they have no working booking link yet.
Run a tour here that’s missing, or see an error? Email [email protected]. Reported tours are checked on the operator’s public website before they are added.
Before you book
How long do reindeer experiences take?
Of the 18 tours that state a duration in hours, the typical (median) tour takes 2 h 30 min; the shortest 1 h 45 min and the longest 3 h 45 min. 25 do not state a usable duration.
Can children join?
We do not show minimum ages for these 43 tours: our automatic reading of age limits from the operators' pages did not pass its accuracy check for this destination. Check the age limit on the operator’s page before booking with children.
Is winter clothing included?
7 of 43 tours say winter clothing is included and 3 say it is not included or only on request. 33 do not mention it. Checked from the listing text, so a listing can say more than we found.
How cold is it during the day?
Mean daytime temperature (10:00–16:00) by month: December -9.3 °C, January -12.6 °C, February -9.3 °C. Whether winter clothing is included is a separate question above; the tour list marks it on each tour that states it.
When should I book?
Compare the length of the sleigh ride, not only the price: a half-kilometre ride and a three-kilometre ride can be sold under the same name. A reindeer experience does not depend on a clear sky, so it can go on any day of your trip.
Based on the 43 reindeer experiences in our data, from operators’ own websites.
Background
Reindeer in Finnish Lapland are semi-domesticated: every animal has an owner, and herders gather them from the forests and fells for calf marking and round-ups. On a sleigh ride the reindeer walks or trots at an easy pace, so the ride is calm and slow rather than fast.
Combined with other activities
A tour sold as more than one activity is counted in each of those guides.
Reindeer safaris in other destinations
Each destination’s reindeer experiences are collected from its own sources, so the counts on those pages are not comparable with the counts here.
Sources and method
Climate data
- Days with snow cover of at least 1 cm, as a share of the days with an observation, scaled to the length of the month; n = days. Source: FMI daily observations (opens in a new tab); Kittilä Pakatti (FMI weather station) (id 101990), 16.3 km from Levi; period 2015-2024; n = 283–310 per month.
- Mean of the hourly temperatures 10:00–16:00 per day, averaged over the month; only days with every hour observed; n = days. Source: FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour) (opens in a new tab); Kittilä airport (FMI weather station) (id 101986), 13.1 km from Levi; period 2015-01-01..2024-12-31; n = 280–310 per month.
- Mean daily time the sun is above the horizon, calculated from coordinates (year 2023); n = days in the month. Source: astral (calculated); Calculated from destination coordinates (astral 3.2), no station; period 2015-2024; n = 28–31 per month.
We do not compare destinations with these figures, because differences between weather stations can explain differences between places.
Tour data
How operators were found: no single list is complete, so we combined 116 candidate companies from several sources (Visit Finland DataHub 52, the Finnish Trade Register (PRH open data, tourism-related lines of business) 30, web searches in eight languages 46; a company can be in several). Each candidate with a website was checked on its own website. Tour details are taken first from the operator’s own website (or Visit Finland DataHub (opens in a new tab)); booking platforms fill in what the operator’s page does not state.
The tables and tour lists include the reindeer experiences in our data that have a working booking link: 43 tours (43 with details from the operator’s own website or Visit Finland DataHub; listed on: DataHub 8, operator site 37 — the same tour is often listed in several places, so these add up to more than 43), collected 2026-09-23. Reindeer experiences: reindeer named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. Pages that are not a single bookable tour with reindeer in the programme (overview pages, photo galleries, accommodation) were left out after reading the page. 5 tours were left out because they have no working booking link yet. A tour whose operating base is more than 50 km from the centre is listed only when the tour page says it departs from, or picks up in, the destination; the distance is then shown on the tour. Distances are measured from coordinates in Visit Finland DataHub, or from the postal code of the company’s registered address (PRH open data (opens in a new tab); postal code areas from Statistics Finland (opens in a new tab)). Prices change daily; check them on the booking page.
Links to operators’ own pages were last checked on : 441 addresses across every activity on this site, of which 3 did not answer with a working page and are not linked. GetYourGuide and Viator links are not fetched.
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Data source files: data/monthly_metrics.csv, data/levi/operator_catalog.csv, data/levi/discovery/datahub_experiences.csv. Company register data: PRH open data (avoindata.prh.fi) (opens in a new tab).
Last updated:
Some links on this site are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure