Snowmobile safaris in Levi
Which snowmobile safari in Levi should I book, and what does it cost?
- Total
- 74 snowmobile safaris with a working booking link, from 10 operator names.
- Price per person, not private
- From €99; typical €169. n = 16 of 68 non-private tours
- Typical duration
- 3 h (n = 28)
Snowmobile safaris and snowmobile rides: snowmobile (or snow scooter) named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. Pages that are not a single bookable snowmobile experience (overview pages, photo galleries, accommodation) were left out after reading the page. Typical = median. Prices are the lowest listed per-person prices; private tours and group prices are left out. Details and sources below.
Snowmobile safaris are the largest activity in Levi in our data, with 74 tours: 40 safaris, 15 combination tours, 10 rides timed for the northern lights and 9 wilderness or full-day trips. Where a per-person price is stated (16 tours), the typical price is €169, and the 28 tours that state a duration typically last three hours. Daytime temperatures (10:00–16:00) average below −9 °C from December to February, and driving adds wind on top of that.
Safari, northern lights ride, wilderness day or combination?
| Experience | Tours | of which private | of which combined with northern lights | Price per person, not private: from – typical | Typical duration | Winter clothing | Hotel pickup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northern lights safari northern lights snowmobile safaris | 10 | 0 | 8 | €105 – too few stated prices n = 4 of 10 | too few stated durations n = 3 | 4 included 6 not stated | 2 included 8 not stated |
| Wilderness or full-day safari wilderness snowmobile safaris | 9 | 1 | 0 | €279 – too few stated prices n = 2 of 8 | 4 h 15 min n = 6 | 3 included 6 not stated | 0 included 9 not stated |
| Snowmobile safari, up to 4 hours or not stated shorter snowmobile safaris | 40 | 4 | 0 | €99 – €126 n = 7 of 36 | 3 h n = 13 | 7 included 33 not stated | 3 included 37 not stated |
| Combined with another activity snowmobile combination tours | 15 | 1 | 0 | €199 – too few stated prices n = 3 of 14 | 3 h 40 min n = 6 | 5 included 10 not stated | 1 included 14 not stated |
| All tours | 74 | 6 | 8 | ||||
Rows are mutually exclusive: each tour is in exactly one row. The row comes from the tour title; only if the title names none, from the collected listing text. Almost every title says “snowmobile”, so the word alone does not decide the row: a tour is in the northern lights, wilderness or combination row only when the title or the listing text names that, and the rest are grouped by duration. Northern lights safari: the title names the northern lights or the aurora, so the ride is timed for the dark hours. Wilderness or full-day safari: the title names a wilderness, expedition or full-day ride, or (when the title names no type) the tour lasts more than four hours or several days. Snowmobile safari, up to 4 hours or not stated: a snowmobile safari, ride or taster with no other main activity and no northern lights in the title, lasting up to four hours or with no stated duration. Combined with another activity: the title combines the snowmobile ride with another main activity (reindeer, husky, ice fishing, ice karting and similar), or names more than one of these experiences.
Prices are the lowest listed per-person price of each tour that is not private (group prices and prices without a stated basis are left out; n = tours with a per-person price, of all non-private tours in the row). Where the operator’s own website states a price, that price is used. Listed prices can be discounted prices. Typical = median; not shown when fewer than 5 tours. Duration = midpoint of the stated range, multi-day tours left out.
Not stated = not found in the collected listing text, so a listing can say more. Hotel pickup "available / pickup points" = pickup offered or pickup points listed, possibly at extra cost.
| Feature | Tours | Price per person: from – typical | Price not stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Private | 6 | – – too few stated prices n = 0 of 6 | 6 of 6 |
| Combined with northern lights | 8 | €169 – too few stated prices n = 2 of 8 | 6 of 8 |
Private: "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title (not a private place such as "private island"). Combined with northern lights: the same tour is also listed as a northern lights tour. A tour can be both.
Private tours: a price is shown only when the platform states it as a per-person price. Group prices are not divided among people, and prices that "vary by group size", assume 2 adults or have no stated basis are counted as not stated, because the group size they apply to is unknown. Even a stated per-person price of a private tour can depend on group size. Other features: prices of non-private tours only, as in the table above.
What do snowmobile safaris cost?
Of the 74 snowmobile safaris, 16 state a price per person that can be compared: from €99 to €433, typically €169. 11 state a price we cannot compare per person (a private booking, a group price or no stated basis), and 47 state no price at all. See snowmobile safari prices in Levi for the full breakdown by tour type.
Best time for a snowmobile safari
| Month | Days with snow cover | Day temperature, 10–16, mean (°C) | Daylight (h) |
|---|---|---|---|
| January | 31.0 | -12.6 | 3.4 |
| February | 28.0 | -9.3 | 7.8 |
| March | 31.0 | -3.7 | 11.7 |
| April | 30.0 | 1.4 | 15.7 |
| May | 13.6 | 8.2 | 20.7 |
| June | 0.0 | 14.1 | 24.0 |
| July | 0.0 | 16.9 | 22.6 |
| August | 0.0 | 14.7 | 17.3 |
| September | 0.2 | 9.4 | 13.2 |
| October | 10.1 | 1.1 | 9.3 |
| November | 26.1 | -5.4 | 5.1 |
| December | 30.9 | -9.3 | 0.6 |
- Days with snow cover: Kittilä Pakatti (FMI weather station), id 101990, 16.3 km, 2015-2024, FMI daily observations; n = 283–310
- Day temperature, 10–16, mean (°C): Kittilä airport (FMI weather station), id 101986, 13.1 km, 2015-01-01..2024-12-31, FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour); n = 280–310
- Daylight (h): Calculated from destination coordinates (astral 3.2), no station, 0 km, 2015-2024, astral (calculated); n = 28–31
Source file: data/monthly_metrics.csv
10 of the 74 snowmobile safaris we list say when in the year they run: 10 in the snow season only. The other 64 do not say, which is not the same as saying they do not run. The snow season here is November to April.
Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one.
Snow covers the ground on essentially every day from December to April and on no day from June to August. Daytime temperatures (10:00–16:00) are coldest in January, averaging about −13 °C, and climb above freezing in April. Daylight is under an hour a day in December and close to twelve hours in March, so a midwinter daytime safari runs mostly in twilight.
Book a snowmobile safari
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Sort by:
Grouped by duration; within each duration group, per-person prices and prices without a stated basis come first, lowest first, then group prices, then tours without a price.
Northern lights safari (10)
More about northern lights snowmobile safaris: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- Night Snowmobile Safari
Scandinavian Travel Group Oy · 3 h · €140 / person
Small groupYou can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - 3-hour Snowmobile Safari to Search for the Northern Lights in Levi
Wild Nordic Finland · 3 h · €169 / person
Listed for Dec–Mar
You can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Northern Lights Snowmobile Adventure in Levi
Beyond Arctic · 3 h · €169 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupYou can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Duration not stated
- Arctic Night Snowmobile Sled Ride with Campfire, Levi
Scandinavian Travel Group Oy · – · €105 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Early Evening Aurora Tour by Snowmobile in Levi
Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park · – · €139 (basis not stated)
Small groupCombined with northern lights
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Duration not stated: 5 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on northern lights snowmobile safaris.
Wilderness or full-day safari (9)
More about wilderness snowmobile safaris: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- snowmobile in the wilderness
sixty eight north · 2 h–3 h · –
Two share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Snowmobile Safari Levi Classic — wilderness trail
Levi Tours · 2 h 30 min · –
Small groupYou can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Snowmobile Safari Levi Classic wilderness trail
Scandinavian Travel Group Oy · 2 h 30 min · –
Small groupYou can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Over 5 and up to 7 hours
- 6-hour snowmobile safari in Levi
Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park · 6 h · €269 (basis not stated)
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - 6-hour Authentic Snowmobile Safari to Visit Lappish Villages in Levi
Wild Nordic Finland · 6 h · €279 / person
Listed for Jan–Apr
You can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Over 7 hours: 1 more tour is listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on wilderness snowmobile safaris.
Duration not stated: 3 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on wilderness snowmobile safaris.
Snowmobile safari, up to 4 hours or not stated (40)
More about shorter snowmobile safaris: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- 1 Hour Easy Snowmobile Safari in Levi
Wild Nordic Finland · 1 h · €99 / person
Listed for Dec–Apr
You can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothing
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - 1-Hour Easy Snowmobile Tour in Levi
Beyond Arctic · 1 h · €99 / person
Small groupYou can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - 2 h Snowmobile Experience in Levi
Beyond Arctic · 2 h 30 min · €119 / person
Small groupYou can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - 2-hour Snowmobile Safari to the Levi Nature
Wild Nordic Finland · 2 h · €126 / person
Listed for Dec–Apr
You can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - 2-hour Snowmobile Adventure in Levi
Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park · 2 h · €129 (basis not stated)
Small group
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Up to 3 hours: 5 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on shorter snowmobile safaris.
Over 3 and up to 5 hours: 3 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on shorter snowmobile safaris.
Duration not stated: 27 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on shorter snowmobile safaris.
Combined with another activity (15)
More about snowmobile combination tours: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- Snowmobile Safari to a Traditional Reindeer Farm in Levi
Wild Nordic Finland · 3 h · €218 / person
Listed for Dec–Mar
You can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - private visit to a reindeer farm by snowmobile
sixty eight north · 3 h · –
PrivateDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Over 3 and up to 5 hours
- 4-hour Snowmobile Safari with Ice Fishing in Levi
Wild Nordic Finland · 4 h · €199 / person
Listed for Jan–Apr
You can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - 3,5-hour Snowmobile, Reindeer and Ice Fishing Combo
Wild Nordic Finland · 3 h 30 min–4 h · €275 / person
Listed for Jan–Mar
You can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Snowmobile safari with ice-fishing adventure in Levi
Levi Tours · 3 h 30 min · –
Hotel pickupSmall groupYou can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Over 5 and up to 7 hours: 1 more tour is listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on snowmobile combination tours.
Duration not stated: 9 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on snowmobile combination tours.
What the marks mean
- Hotel pickup
- pickup from your accommodation stated as included.
- Small group
- at most 8 participants, or "small group" in the listing.
- Private
- "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title.
- Title says adults only
- the tour title says it is for adults only.
- You can drive yourself
- the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says you can drive the snowmobile yourself for at least part of the tour.
- Two share a snowmobile
- the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says two people share one snowmobile (a driver and a passenger).
- Driving licence required
- the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says the driver needs a valid driving licence.
- Winter clothing
- winter clothing stated as included.
- Food or hot drinks
- a meal, snack or hot drink stated as included.
- Combined with northern lights
- the same tour is also listed as a northern lights tour.
- Family-friendly
- "family" in the tour title, or a stated minimum age of 4 years or less.
Features are marked from the text of the listings and the operators’ own pages. A missing mark means the listing does not mention it, not that it is left out. Duration groups use the midpoint of the stated range (a 3–4 hour tour counts as 3.5 hours): up to 3 hours, over 3 and up to 5, over 5 and up to 7, over 7 hours, and tours of several days. Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one. Filters are offered only for features that the listings state for at least 70 % of the tours and at least 50 % of the tours from each source, so a feature can be marked on a tour without being offered as a filter. 5 more snowmobile safaris in our data are not listed here because they have no working booking link yet.
Run a tour here that’s missing, or see an error? Email [email protected]. Reported tours are checked on the operator’s public website before they are added.
Before you book
How long do snowmobile safaris take?
Of the 28 tours that state a duration in hours, the typical (median) tour takes 3 h; the shortest 1 h and the longest 8 h. 46 do not state a usable duration.
Can children join?
We do not show minimum ages for these 74 tours: our automatic reading of age limits from the operators' pages did not pass its accuracy check for this destination. 4 of the tour titles say the tour is for adults only. Check the age limit on the operator’s page before booking with children.
Is winter clothing included?
19 of 74 tours say winter clothing is included and 0 say it is not included or only on request. 55 do not mention it. Checked from the listing text, so a listing can say more than we found.
How cold is it during the day?
Mean daytime temperature (10:00–16:00) by month: December -9.3 °C, January -12.6 °C, February -9.3 °C. Whether winter clothing is included is a separate question above; the tour list marks it on each tour that states it.
When should I book?
A snowmobile safari does not depend on a clear sky, so book it for any day of your trip; only the northern lights version depends on the weather at night. Check the terms before you book: 37 of the 74 say you can drive yourself, 22 that two people share one snowmobile and 23 that the driver needs a valid driving licence. How children travel, in a sled pulled by the guide’s snowmobile or as a passenger, is not something we collected from the pages, so ask the operator if you travel with children.
Based on the 74 snowmobile safaris in our data, from operators’ own websites.
Background
19 of the 74 say winter clothing is included and 6 include hotel pickup; the others do not say either way. When two people share a snowmobile, they usually take turns: one drives while the other rides behind as a passenger.
Combined with other activities
A tour sold as more than one activity is counted in each of those guides.
Snowmobile safaris in other destinations
Each destination’s snowmobile safaris are collected from its own sources, so the counts on those pages are not comparable with the counts here.
Sources and method
Climate data
- Days with snow cover of at least 1 cm, as a share of the days with an observation, scaled to the length of the month; n = days. Source: FMI daily observations (opens in a new tab); Kittilä Pakatti (FMI weather station) (id 101990), 16.3 km from Levi; period 2015-2024; n = 283–310 per month.
- Mean of the hourly temperatures 10:00–16:00 per day, averaged over the month; only days with every hour observed; n = days. Source: FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour) (opens in a new tab); Kittilä airport (FMI weather station) (id 101986), 13.1 km from Levi; period 2015-01-01..2024-12-31; n = 280–310 per month.
- Mean daily time the sun is above the horizon, calculated from coordinates (year 2023); n = days in the month. Source: astral (calculated); Calculated from destination coordinates (astral 3.2), no station; period 2015-2024; n = 28–31 per month.
We do not compare destinations with these figures, because differences between weather stations can explain differences between places.
Tour data
How operators were found: no single list is complete, so we combined 116 candidate companies from several sources (Visit Finland DataHub 52, the Finnish Trade Register (PRH open data, tourism-related lines of business) 30, web searches in eight languages 46; a company can be in several). Each candidate with a website was checked on its own website. Tour details are taken first from the operator’s own website (or Visit Finland DataHub (opens in a new tab)); booking platforms fill in what the operator’s page does not state.
The tables and tour lists include the snowmobile safaris in our data that have a working booking link: 74 tours (74 with details from the operator’s own website or Visit Finland DataHub; listed on: DataHub 11, operator site 72 — the same tour is often listed in several places, so these add up to more than 74), collected 2026-09-23. Snowmobile safaris and snowmobile rides: snowmobile (or snow scooter) named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. Pages that are not a single bookable snowmobile experience (overview pages, photo galleries, accommodation) were left out after reading the page. 5 tours were left out because they have no working booking link yet. A tour whose operating base is more than 50 km from the centre is listed only when the tour page says it departs from, or picks up in, the destination; the distance is then shown on the tour. Distances are measured from coordinates in Visit Finland DataHub, or from the postal code of the company’s registered address (PRH open data (opens in a new tab); postal code areas from Statistics Finland (opens in a new tab)). Prices change daily; check them on the booking page.
Links to operators’ own pages were last checked on : 441 addresses across every activity on this site, of which 3 did not answer with a working page and are not linked. GetYourGuide and Viator links are not fetched.
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Data source files: data/monthly_metrics.csv, data/levi/operator_catalog.csv, data/levi/discovery/datahub_experiences.csv. Company register data: PRH open data (avoindata.prh.fi) (opens in a new tab).
Last updated:
Some links on this site are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure