Husky safaris in Levi

Jani AlakurttiBy · Updated

Which husky safari in Levi should I book?

Total
41 husky safaris with a working booking link, from 11 operator names.
Price per person, not private
From €120; typical €177. n = 6 of 41 non-private tours
Typical duration
2 h (n = 13)

Husky safaris and husky sled rides: husky, sled dog or dog sled named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. A visit to a husky farm or kennel with no ride named is its own group (farm visit only), not a separate exclusion. Typical = median. Prices are the lowest listed per-person prices; private tours and group prices are left out. Details and sources below.

Husky safaris in Levi range from a kennel visit without a ride to tours that are also sold as reindeer or snowmobile tours, but for 11 of the 41 tours we list, the listing does not say what kind of ride it is. 17 of the 41 say on the operator’s own page that you can drive your own sled for at least part of the way; the others do not say who drives, which is not the same as saying you cannot. Only 13 state a duration, and those last from an hour and a half to three hours.

Best time for a husky safari

Climate figures by month (sources below the table)
MonthDays with snow coverDay temperature, 10–16, mean (°C)Daylight (h)
January31.0-12.63.4
February28.0-9.37.8
March31.0-3.711.7
April30.01.415.7
May13.68.220.7
June0.014.124.0
July0.016.922.6
August0.014.717.3
September0.29.413.2
October10.11.19.3
November26.1-5.45.1
December30.9-9.30.6
  • Days with snow cover: Kittilä Pakatti (FMI weather station), id 101990, 16.3 km, 2015-2024, FMI daily observations; n = 283–310
  • Day temperature, 10–16, mean (°C): Kittilä airport (FMI weather station), id 101986, 13.1 km, 2015-01-01..2024-12-31, FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour); n = 280–310
  • Daylight (h): Calculated from destination coordinates (astral 3.2), no station, 0 km, 2015-2024, astral (calculated); n = 28–31

Source file: data/monthly_metrics.csv

14 of the 41 husky safaris we list say when in the year they run: 10 in the snow season only, 4 outside the snow season only. The other 27 do not say, which is not the same as saying they do not run. The snow season here is November to April.
Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one.

Snow covers the ground on essentially every day from December to April and on no day from June to August. Daytime temperatures (10:00–16:00) are coldest in January, averaging about −13 °C, and climb above freezing in April. Daylight is under an hour a day in December and close to twelve hours in March, so a midwinter daytime ride runs mostly in twilight.

Who drives the sled?

41 husky safaris from operators’ own websites, from 11 operator names (0 tours have no operator name). A tour found in several of these is counted once where the listings have been matched; across the whole site 10 possible matches (all activities together) are still being checked, and until then those listings are counted separately.
DurationToursof which privateof which combined with northern lightsPrice per person, not private: from – typicalTypical durationWinter clothingHotel pickup
Farm or kennel visit
husky farm visits
500– – too few stated prices
n = 0 of 5
too few stated durations
n = 3
1 included
1 not included / on request
3 not stated
0 included
5 not stated
You drive (explicitly stated)
drive-your-own husky safaris
600– – too few stated prices
n = 0 of 6
too few stated durations
n = 2
0 included
2 not included / on request
4 not stated
0 included
6 not stated
You ride (explicitly stated)400€139 – too few stated prices
n = 2 of 4
too few stated durations
n = 2
3 included
1 not stated
0 included
4 not stated
Up to 3 hours500€120 – too few stated prices
n = 3 of 5
2 h
n = 5
3 included
2 not included / on request
0 not stated
1 included
4 not stated
Combined with another activity
husky combination tours
1000€139 – too few stated prices
n = 1 of 10
too few stated durations
n = 1
0 included
1 not included / on request
9 not stated
1 included
9 not stated
Duration not stated1100– – too few stated prices
n = 0 of 11
too few stated durations
n = 0
0 included
11 not stated
0 included
11 not stated
All tours4100

Rows are mutually exclusive: each tour is in exactly one row. The row comes from the tour title; only if the title names none, from the collected listing text. A tour is in a “you drive”, “you ride” or “farm or kennel visit” row only when the title or the listing text says so; the rest are grouped by duration. Many husky safaris seat two people per sled and let them take turns, so a tour can be in the “you ride” row and still be marked “Drive your own sled” from the operator’s own page. Farm or kennel visit: the title names a visit to a husky farm, kennel or park (meeting the dogs), with no ride named in the title. You drive (explicitly stated): the title or listing text explicitly says you drive (mush) your own sled; who drives is not reliably known for most tours (see below), so this group is small. You ride (explicitly stated): the title or listing text explicitly says a guide or musher drives while you ride in the sled; on tours where two people share a sled the operator’s own page may still say you can take a turn driving, which is then marked on the tour. Up to 3 hours: a sled ride of up to 3 hours (duration midpoint), where who drives is not stated in the title or text. Combined with another activity: the title combines the husky safari with another main activity (reindeer, snowmobile, northern lights, ice fishing and similar), or names more than one of the husky groups. Duration not stated: no duration and no farm visit, drive-yourself or ride-along wording found.

Prices are the lowest listed per-person price of each tour that is not private (group prices and prices without a stated basis are left out; n = tours with a per-person price, of all non-private tours in the row). Where the operator’s own website states a price, that price is used. Listed prices can be discounted prices. Typical = median; not shown when fewer than 5 tours. Duration = midpoint of the stated range, multi-day tours left out.

Not stated = not found in the collected listing text, so a listing can say more. Hotel pickup "available / pickup points" = pickup offered or pickup points listed, possibly at extra cost.

What do husky safaris cost?

What the 41 husky safaris say about the price
What the listing statesToursPrices
A price per person (not private)6€120–€325
A price we cannot compare per person5€104–€279
No price at all30

6 of the 41 husky safaris state a price per person that can be compared: they run from €120 to €325. That is fewer than 10 prices, so this section shows only the range and the number of prices; a “typical” figure elsewhere on the page is the median of these same prices, shown from 5 prices up, and it rests on few tours. The 5 in the middle row do state a price, but not one you can put beside the others: 5 do not say what the price covers. Listed starting prices on the collection date; they can be discounted prices. There is no separate price page for this activity, because 10 comparable prices are needed for quartiles.

Book a husky safari

No sort order on this site is affected by commission.

Grouped by duration; within each duration group, per-person prices and prices without a stated basis come first, lowest first, then group prices, then tours without a price.

Farm or kennel visit (5)

Up to 3 hours

  1. Husky Kennel Visit & Cuddle with Huskies, Levi
    Levi Tours · 2 h · –
    Winter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  2. Husky Park Visit & Meet the Movie Star Animals, Levi
    Levi Tours · 1 h 30 min · –
    Food or hot drinksFarm visit
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  3. Husky Park Visit & Meet the Movie Star Animals, Levi
    Scandinavian Travel Group Oy · 1 h 30 min · –
    Food or hot drinksFarm visit
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Duration not stated

  1. Excursion to the Husky Kennel (Levi)
    Lapland Safaris · – · –
    Food or hot drinks
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  2. Winter Husky Kennel Visit and Dog Cuddling in Levi
    Scandinavian Travel Group Oy · – · –
    Listed for Nov–Apr
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

You drive (explicitly stated) (6)

Up to 3 hours

  1. Husky Safari 10 km Self-Drive, Levi
    Levi Tours · 3 h · –
    Small groupDrive your own sledFood or hot drinksFarm visit
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  2. Husky Safari 5 km Self-Drive, Levi
    Levi Tours · 2 h 30 min · –
    Small groupDrive your own sledFood or hot drinksFarm visit
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Duration not stated

  1. 7km Self-Driving Husky Tour in Levi
    Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park · – · €199 (basis not stated)
    Small groupDrive your own sled
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  2. 15-Kilometers Self-Driving Husky Tour in Levi
    Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park · – · €279 (basis not stated)
    Small groupDrive your own sled
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  3. Husky Safari 10 km Self-Drive, Levi
    Scandinavian Travel Group Oy · – · –
    Small groupDrive your own sledFood or hot drinksFarm visit
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Duration not stated: 1 more tour is listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on drive-your-own husky safaris.

You ride (explicitly stated) (4)

Up to 3 hours

  1. Husky Adventure with 5 km Sled Ride in Levi
    Beyond Arctic · 2 h · €139 / person
    Small groupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  2. 10 km Evening Husky sleigh ride in Levi, Lapland
    Wild Nordic Finland · 2 h · €325 / person
    Winter clothingFood or hot drinks
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Duration not stated

  1. Husky Cart Ride in Lapland Nature
    Polar Lights Tours · – · –
    Listed for Jun–Oct
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  2. Husky Sledding Ride in Levi, Lapland | Keo Wilderness
    Keo Wilderness · – · –
    Small groupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFarm visit
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Up to 3 hours (5)

Up to 3 hours

  1. The Authentic Wild Kemijoki Husky Safari
    Lappiland Oy · 2 h · €120 / person
    Hotel pickupSmall groupDrive your own sledFood or hot drinksFarm visit
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  2. 6 – 8 km Husky safari in Levi, 2 hours
    Wild Nordic Finland · 2 h · €215 / person
    Drive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  3. 15 km Husky safari in Levi, 3 hours
    Wild Nordic Finland · 3 h · €320 / person
    Drive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  4. Husky Park and Musher-Driven safari 2 km, Levi
    Levi Tours · 2 h · –
    Small groupFood or hot drinksFarm visit
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  5. husky sledding
    sixty eight north · 2 h · –
    Small groupDrive your own sledWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Combined with another activity (10)

Up to 3 hours

  1. 3-in-1 Combo Adventure: Huskies, Reindeer & Snowmobile Sleigh Ride in Levi
    Beyond Arctic · 2 h · €139 / person
    Runs in the snow season
    Small groupFood or hot drinksFarm visit
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Duration not stated

  1. Husky Farm Visit with a Sleigh Ride in Levi
    Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park · – · €104 (basis not stated)
    Farm visit
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  2. Husky and Reindeer Experience in Levi
    Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park · – · €159 (basis not stated)
    Food or hot drinks
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  3. Husky and Reindeer Experience With Snowmobiling in Levi
    Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park · – · €198 (basis not stated)
    Drive your own sledFood or hot drinks
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  4. 3-Day Arctic Adventure: Huskies, Northern Lights & Wilderness Cabins
    Polar Lights Tours · – · –
    Listed for Feb–Apr
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Duration not stated: 5 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on husky combination tours.

Duration not stated (11)

Duration not stated

  1. Arctic Husky Circle - Husky Safari 6-8km
    Polar Lights Tours · – · –
    Listed for Nov–Apr
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  2. Follow the Elves – One Day Husky Safari
    Polar Lights Tours · – · –
    Listed for Jan–Apr
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  3. Forest Troll – 2-Day Husky Safari with One Night in a Wilderness Cabin
    Polar Lights Tours · – · –
    Listed for Mar–Apr
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  4. Frosty Paws Alley – Husky Safari 3 km
    Polar Lights Tours · – · –
    Listed for Dec–Apr
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  5. Guided Husky Experience – Husky Safari 3 km
    Polar Lights Tours · – · –
    Listed for Jan–Apr
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Duration not stated: 6 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on.

What the marks mean
Hotel pickup
pickup from your accommodation stated as included.
Small group
at most 8 participants, or "small group" in the listing.
Title says summer or autumn
the tour title names summer or autumn.
Drive your own sled
the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says you can drive yourself for at least part of the tour.
Winter clothing
winter clothing stated as included.
Food or hot drinks
a meal, snack or hot drink stated as included.
Farm visit
a visit to the husky farm or kennel stated in the listing.

Features are marked from the text of the listings and the operators’ own pages. A missing mark means the listing does not mention it, not that it is left out. Duration groups use the midpoint of the stated range (a 3–4 hour tour counts as 3.5 hours): up to 3 hours, over 3 and up to 5, over 5 and up to 7, over 7 hours, and tours of several days. Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one. Filters are offered only for features that the listings state for at least 70 % of the tours and at least 50 % of the tours from each source, so a feature can be marked on a tour without being offered as a filter. 4 more husky safaris in our data are not listed here because they have no working booking link yet.

Run a tour here that’s missing, or see an error? Email [email protected]. Reported tours are checked on the operator’s public website before they are added.

Before you book

How long do husky safaris take?

Of the 13 tours that state a duration in hours, the typical (median) tour takes 2 h; the shortest 1 h 30 min and the longest 3 h. 28 do not state a usable duration.

Can children join?

We do not show minimum ages for these 41 tours: our automatic reading of age limits from the operators' pages did not pass its accuracy check for this destination. Check the age limit on the operator’s page before booking with children.

Is winter clothing included?

7 of 41 tours say winter clothing is included and 6 say it is not included or only on request. 28 do not mention it. Checked from the listing text, so a listing can say more than we found.

How cold is it during the day?

Mean daytime temperature (10:00–16:00) by month: December -9.3 °C, January -12.6 °C, February -9.3 °C. Whether winter clothing is included is a separate question above; the tour list marks it on each tour that states it.

When should I book?

A husky safari does not depend on a clear sky, so it can go on any day of your trip; the snow is what decides the season. Only 7 of the 41 listings say winter clothing is included, so check whether you need your own warm layers before you book.

Based on the 41 husky safaris in our data, from operators’ own websites.

Background

Sled dogs are working dogs bred to run, and a team is usually loud and excited at the start and quiet once it is moving. Driving a sled means standing on the runners at the back and braking with your foot, while the dogs do the pulling; a guide gives a short briefing first.

Combined with other activities

A tour sold as more than one activity is counted in each of those guides.

Husky safaris in other destinations

Each destination’s husky safaris are collected from its own sources, so the counts on those pages are not comparable with the counts here.

Sources and method

Climate data

We do not compare destinations with these figures, because differences between weather stations can explain differences between places.

Tour data

How operators were found: no single list is complete, so we combined 116 candidate companies from several sources (Visit Finland DataHub 52, the Finnish Trade Register (PRH open data, tourism-related lines of business) 30, web searches in eight languages 46; a company can be in several). Each candidate with a website was checked on its own website. Tour details are taken first from the operator’s own website (or Visit Finland DataHub (opens in a new tab)); booking platforms fill in what the operator’s page does not state.

The tables and tour lists include the husky safaris in our data that have a working booking link: 41 tours (41 with details from the operator’s own website or Visit Finland DataHub; listed on: DataHub 13, operator site 28 — the same tour is often listed in several places, so these add up to more than 41), collected 2026-09-23. Husky safaris and husky sled rides: husky, sled dog or dog sled named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. A visit to a husky farm or kennel with no ride named is its own group (farm visit only), not a separate exclusion. 4 tours were left out because they have no working booking link yet. A tour whose operating base is more than 50 km from the centre is listed only when the tour page says it departs from, or picks up in, the destination; the distance is then shown on the tour. Distances are measured from coordinates in Visit Finland DataHub, or from the postal code of the company’s registered address (PRH open data (opens in a new tab); postal code areas from Statistics Finland (opens in a new tab)). Prices change daily; check them on the booking page.

Links to operators’ own pages were last checked on : 441 addresses across every activity on this site, of which 3 did not answer with a working page and are not linked. GetYourGuide and Viator links are not fetched.

No sort order on this site is affected by commission.

Data source files: data/monthly_metrics.csv, data/levi/operator_catalog.csv, data/levi/discovery/datahub_experiences.csv. Company register data: PRH open data (avoindata.prh.fi) (opens in a new tab).

Last updated:

Some links on this site are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure