Reindeer safaris in Rovaniemi
Which reindeer experience in Rovaniemi should I book, and what does it cost?
- Total
- 147 reindeer experiences with a working booking link, from 49 operator names.
- Price per person, not private
- From €27; typical €169. n = 58 of 142 non-private tours
- Typical duration
- 3 h (n = 112)
Reindeer experiences: reindeer named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. Pages that are not a single bookable tour with reindeer in the programme (overview pages, photo galleries, accommodation) were left out after reading the page. Typical = median. Prices are the lowest listed per-person prices; private tours and group prices are left out. Details and sources below.
Reindeer experiences in Rovaniemi come in three main kinds: a ride in a sleigh pulled by a reindeer, a visit to a reindeer farm with no ride, and combination tours that add huskies, a snowmobile or the northern lights. Most sleigh rides are short: of the rides whose length is stated, more than half are under one kilometre. Farm visits have the lowest typical per-person price of the three, sleigh rides come next and combination tours cost the most. Daytime temperatures (10:00–16:00) average below −6 °C from December to February, so dress for the cold even on a short ride.
Sleigh ride, farm visit or combination?
| Experience | Tours | of which private | of which combined with northern lights | Price per person, not private: from – typical | Typical duration | Winter clothing | Hotel pickup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sleigh ride reindeer sleigh rides | 41 | 0 | 0 | €30 – €107 n = 18 of 41 | 3 h n = 29 | 19 included 4 not included / on request 18 not stated | 19 included 22 not stated |
| Herder experience or overnight | 2 | 1 | 0 | – – too few stated prices n = 0 of 1 | too few stated durations n = 2 | 1 included 1 not stated | 1 included 1 not stated |
| Farm visit, no ride stated reindeer farm visits | 36 | 1 | 0 | €27 – €84 n = 10 of 35 | 2 h n = 27 | 7 included 2 not included / on request 27 not stated | 6 included 30 not stated |
| Combined with another activity reindeer combination tours | 62 | 3 | 19 | €129 – €185 n = 30 of 59 | 3 h 30 min n = 52 | 31 included 31 not stated | 25 included 5 available / pickup points 3 not included 29 not stated |
| Not stated | 6 | 0 | 0 | – – too few stated prices n = 0 of 6 | too few stated durations n = 2 | 2 included 4 not stated | 0 included 6 not stated |
| All tours | 147 | 5 | 19 | ||||
Rows are mutually exclusive: each tour is in exactly one row. The row comes from the tour title; only if the title names none, from the collected listing text. A reindeer soup or a gift shop mentioned in passing does not decide the row; the row follows what the tour itself is. Sleigh ride: you ride in a sleigh pulled by a reindeer: named in the title, or stated on the operator’s own page (read directly, with a quote). Herder experience or overnight: a day in a reindeer herder’s work, or a stay overnight with the reindeer, named in the title. Farm visit, no ride stated: a visit to a reindeer farm or a meeting with reindeer (feeding, walking, photos), with no reindeer sleigh ride named in the title or stated on the operator’s page. Combined with another activity: the title combines reindeer with another main activity (husky, snowmobile, northern lights, ice fishing and similar), or names more than one of these experiences. Not stated: no sleigh ride, farm visit, herder or other activity wording found.
Prices are the lowest listed per-person price of each tour that is not private (group prices and prices without a stated basis are left out; n = tours with a per-person price, of all non-private tours in the row). Where the operator’s own website states a price, that price is used. Listed prices can be discounted prices. Typical = median; not shown when fewer than 5 tours. Duration = midpoint of the stated range, multi-day tours left out.
Not stated = not found in the collected listing text, so a listing can say more. Hotel pickup "available / pickup points" = pickup offered or pickup points listed, possibly at extra cost.
| Feature | Tours | Price per person: from – typical | Price not stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Private | 5 | €65 – too few stated prices n = 3 of 5 | 2 of 5 |
| Combined with northern lights | 19 | €139 – €186 n = 8 of 18 | 10 of 18 |
Private: "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title (not a private place such as "private island"). Combined with northern lights: the same tour is also listed as a northern lights tour. A tour can be both.
Private tours: a price is shown only when the platform states it as a per-person price. Group prices are not divided among people, and prices that "vary by group size", assume 2 adults or have no stated basis are counted as not stated, because the group size they apply to is unknown. Even a stated per-person price of a private tour can depend on group size. Other features: prices of non-private tours only, as in the table above.
How long is the sleigh ride?
| Sleigh ride | Tours | Share of those stating it |
|---|---|---|
| Under 1 km | 38 | 62 % |
| 1 km to under 3 km | 15 | 25 % |
| 3 km or more | 8 | 13 % |
| Not stated | 22 | – |
Length of the reindeer sleigh ride itself as stated on the operator’s page (a range counts at its midpoint), not the length of the whole tour. Typical (median) ride: 0.5 km; shortest 0.4 km, longest 7.0 km. Tours that state only a riding time are counted as not stated. Not stated does not mean no.
What do reindeer experiences cost?
Of the 147 reindeer experiences, 58 state a price per person that can be compared: from €27 to €267, typically €169. 24 state a price we cannot compare per person (a private booking, a group price or no stated basis), and 65 state no price at all. See reindeer safari prices in Rovaniemi for the full breakdown by tour type.
Best time for a reindeer safari
| Month | Days with snow cover | Day temperature, 10–16, mean (°C) | Daylight (h) |
|---|---|---|---|
| January | 31.0 | -10.5 | 4.4 |
| February | 28.0 | -7.7 | 8.1 |
| March | 31.0 | -2.1 | 11.7 |
| April | 29.5 | 3.4 | 15.5 |
| May | 7.2 | 10.1 | 19.6 |
| June | 0.0 | 16.1 | 23.8 |
| July | 0.0 | 18.7 | 21.5 |
| August | 0.0 | 16.5 | 16.9 |
| September | 0.0 | 10.8 | 13.2 |
| October | 7.3 | 2.9 | 9.5 |
| November | 23.2 | -2.8 | 5.7 |
| December | 30.7 | -6.8 | 2.7 |
- Days with snow cover: Rovaniemi Apukka (FMI weather station), id 101933, 15.3 km, 2015-2024, FMI daily observations; n = 283–310
- Day temperature, 10–16, mean (°C): Rovaniemi railway station (FMI weather station), id 101928, 1 km, 2015-01-01..2024-12-31, FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour); n = 281–309
- Daylight (h): Calculated from destination coordinates (astral 3.2), no station, 0 km, 2015-2024, astral (calculated); n = 28–31
Source file: data/monthly_metrics.csv
82 of the 147 reindeer experiences we list say when in the year they run: 4 all year, 56 in the snow season only, 8 in part of the year that covers both seasons, 14 outside the snow season only. The other 65 do not say, which is not the same as saying they do not run. The snow season here is November to April.
Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one.
Snow covers the ground on almost every day from December to April, and on no day from June to September. Of the tours whose page or availability calendar says when they run, about seven in ten are offered in the snow season only; the rest run in summer or autumn, or in both seasons. Daytime temperatures (10:00–16:00) are coldest in January, averaging about −10.5 °C, and climb above freezing from April. Daylight is shortest in December, under three hours a day, while in June the sun is up almost around the clock.
Book a reindeer experience
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Sort by:
Grouped by duration; within each duration group, per-person prices and prices without a stated basis come first, lowest first, then group prices, then tours without a price.
Sleigh ride (41)
More about reindeer sleigh rides: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- Reindeer Path – A 400-Meter Reindeer Sleigh Ride with Santa’s Reindeer
Santa Claus Reindeer · 3 h · €30 / person
Food or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Short reindeer ride & information
Raitola Reindeer & Husky Farm · 1 h · €45 / person
Runs in the snow season
Food or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Premium Reindeer Farm Experience & 2 km Sleigh Safari
Nordic Odyssey · 3 h · €65 / person
Runs in the snow season
Hotel pickupSmall groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinksFamily-friendly
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Taava Reindeer Farm – Reindeer & Lapland Traditions Year-Round
Wild About Lapland · 1 h 30 min · €79 / person
Runs in both seasons
Hotel pickupFood or hot drinksRuns in summer or autumn too
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Authentic Reindeer Farm Visit & Traditional Sledge Ride in Rovaniemi
Lapland Escape · 2 h 30 min · €99 (basis not stated)
Runs in both seasons
Small groupWinter clothingFood or hot drinksRuns in summer or autumn too
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Up to 3 hours: 22 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on reindeer sleigh rides.
Over 3 and up to 5 hours: 2 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on reindeer sleigh rides.
Duration not stated: 12 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on reindeer sleigh rides.
Herder experience or overnight (2)
Over 3 and up to 5 hours
- Live the Life of a Reindeer Herder – Half-Day in the Arctic
Santa Claus Reindeer · 4 h · €99 (basis not stated)
Listed for Jun–Sep
Small groupFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Private Reindeer Herder Day Experience
Johka Oy · 4 h 30 min · €209 / person
Listed for Nov–Apr
Hotel pickupPrivateWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Farm visit, no ride stated (36)
More about reindeer farm visits: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- Meet Our Reindeer – A Lapland Autumn Experience
Raitola Reindeer & Husky Farm · 45 min · €27 / person
Runs outside the snow season
Title says summer or autumnFood or hot drinksRuns in summer or autumn too
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Meet Santa Claus Reindeer in Santa Claus Village, Rovaniemi
Santa Claus Reindeer · 25 min · €35 / person
Runs in the snow season
Food or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Taava Reindeer farm in Rovaniemi
Santa Claus Reindeer · 1 h 30 min · €79 / person
Runs in both seasons
Food or hot drinksRuns in summer or autumn too
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Visit to a traditional reindeer farm
Arctic SnowHotel · 1 h 45 min · €79 / person
Food or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Traditional Reindeer Farm Visit with Feeding the Reindeer
Wild About Lapland · 2 h · €89 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Up to 3 hours: 20 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on reindeer farm visits.
Over 3 and up to 5 hours: 1 more tour is listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on reindeer farm visits.
Over 5 and up to 7 hours: 1 more tour is listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on reindeer farm visits.
Duration not stated: 9 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on reindeer farm visits.
Combined with another activity (62)
More about reindeer combination tours: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- Watching the Northern Lights from a campfire on a reindeer pasture in Rovaniemi
Porovaara Reindeer Hill · 2 h · €119 (basis not stated)
Runs in both seasons
Food or hot drinksCombined with northern lightsRuns in summer or autumn too
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Night Safari: Chasing Northern Lights with Reindeer (sleigh ride about 40-60 min)
Sieriporo Safaris · 2 h · €139 (basis not stated)
Runs in the snow season
Winter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - In Search of the Northern Lights
Santa Claus Reindeer · 3 h · €169 (basis not stated)
Listed for Dec–Mar
Hotel pickupWinter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - In Search of the Northern Lights – Reindeer Sleigh Ride Under the Arctic Sky
Santa Claus Reindeer · 3 h · €169 (basis not stated)
Runs in the snow season
Food or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Rovaniemi: 2km Aurora Reindeer Safari Through the Forest
Santa Claus Holiday Village Safaris · 3 h · €179 / person
Hotel pickupWinter clothingCombined with northern lights
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab)
Up to 3 hours: 17 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on reindeer combination tours.
Over 3 and up to 5 hours: 20 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on reindeer combination tours.
Over 5 and up to 7 hours: 10 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on reindeer combination tours.
Duration not stated: 10 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on reindeer combination tours.
Not stated (6)
Up to 3 hours
- Your summer day with Santa Claus
Porovaara · 2 h · –
Listed for May–Sep
Title says summer or autumnFood or hot drinksRuns in summer or autumn too
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Your winter day with Santa Claus
Porovaara · 2 h · –
Listed for Oct–Apr
Winter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Duration not stated
- Apukka Snow and Fun in Rovaniemi, Lapland, Finland
Apukka Resort · – · –
Listed for Nov–Apr
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Reindeer Photography Hike in the Arctic Forest with BBQ
NordicUnique Travels · – · –
Winter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Santa Claus Summer Magic in Rovaniemi
Santa Claus Reindeer · – · –
Listed for Jun–Sep
Title says summer or autumnFood or hot drinksRuns in summer or autumn too
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Duration not stated: 1 more tour is listed when JavaScript is on.
What the marks mean
- Hotel pickup
- pickup from your accommodation stated as included.
- Small group
- at most 8 participants, or "small group" in the listing.
- Private
- "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title.
- Title says summer or autumn
- the tour title names summer or autumn.
- Winter clothing
- winter clothing stated as included.
- Food or hot drinks
- a meal, snack or hot drink stated as included.
- Sámi host or culture
- the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says the host is Sámi or that Sámi culture is part of the programme; “Lappish” or “local” alone does not count.
- Combined with northern lights
- the same tour is also listed as a northern lights tour.
- Runs in summer or autumn too
- the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says the tour runs in summer or autumn; most of these run in winter as well.
- Family-friendly
- "family" in the tour title, or a stated minimum age of 4 years or less.
Features are marked from the text of the listings and the operators’ own pages. A missing mark means the listing does not mention it, not that it is left out. Duration groups use the midpoint of the stated range (a 3–4 hour tour counts as 3.5 hours): up to 3 hours, over 3 and up to 5, over 5 and up to 7, over 7 hours, and tours of several days. Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one. Filters are offered only for features that the listings state for at least 70 % of the tours and at least 50 % of the tours from each source, so a feature can be marked on a tour without being offered as a filter. 12 more reindeer experiences in our data are not listed here because they have no working booking link yet.
Run a tour here that’s missing, or see an error? Email [email protected]. Reported tours are checked on the operator’s public website before they are added.
Before you book
How long do reindeer experiences take?
Of the 112 tours that state a duration in hours, the typical (median) tour takes 3 h; the shortest 25 min and the longest 7 h. 35 do not state a usable duration.
Can children join?
8 of the 147 tours here state a minimum age: from 3 years to 8 years (median 3 years); 7 from the operator's own page, 1 from the GetYourGuide age field. The other 139 do not state one, which is not the same as saying children can join — ask the operator. Tours with a stated minimum age of 4 years or less are marked family-friendly.
Is winter clothing included?
60 of 147 tours say winter clothing is included and 6 say it is not included or only on request. 81 do not mention it. Checked from the listing text (on GetYourGuide, the start of the "included" list), so a listing can say more than we found.
How cold is it during the day?
Mean daytime temperature (10:00–16:00) by month: December -6.8 °C, January -10.5 °C, February -7.7 °C. Whether winter clothing is included is a separate question above; the tour list marks it on each tour that states it.
When should I book?
A reindeer experience does not depend on a clear sky, so it can go on any day of your trip; only combination tours that include the northern lights depend on the weather at night. If you want a sleigh ride, check the tour’s season: of the 41 sleigh-ride tours, 19 say they run in the snow season only and 3 say they run in both seasons; none says it runs in summer only, and the other 19 do not say.
Based on the 147 reindeer experiences in our data, from operators’ own websites, GetYourGuide, Viator or visitrovaniemi.fi.
Background
Reindeer in Finland are semi-domesticated and every animal belongs to a herder, so a visit is arranged through a farm or a tour operator rather than on your own. Only one of the reindeer experiences in our data says on the operator’s own page that its hosts are Sámi or that Sámi culture is part of the programme, so do not assume that a reindeer farm visit is a Sámi cultural experience.
Combined with other activities
Some reindeer experiences are also sold as husky safaris or northern lights tours; those are counted in both guides.
Reindeer safaris in other destinations
Each destination’s reindeer experiences are collected from its own sources, so the counts on those pages are not comparable with the counts here.
Sources and method
Climate data
- Days with snow cover of at least 1 cm, as a share of the days with an observation, scaled to the length of the month; n = days. Source: FMI daily observations (opens in a new tab); Rovaniemi Apukka (FMI weather station) (id 101933), 15.3 km from Rovaniemi; period 2015-2024; n = 283–310 per month.
- Mean of the hourly temperatures 10:00–16:00 per day, averaged over the month; only days with every hour observed; n = days. Source: FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour) (opens in a new tab); Rovaniemi railway station (FMI weather station) (id 101928), 1 km from Rovaniemi; period 2015-01-01..2024-12-31; n = 281–309 per month.
- Mean daily time the sun is above the horizon, calculated from coordinates (year 2023); n = days in the month. Source: astral (calculated); Calculated from destination coordinates (astral 3.2), no station; period 2015-2024; n = 28–31 per month.
We do not compare destinations with these figures, because differences between weather stations can explain differences between places.
Tour data
How operators were found: no single list is complete, so we combined 619 candidate companies from several sources (Visit Finland DataHub 137, GetYourGuide 88, the Finnish Trade Register (PRH open data, tourism-related lines of business) 424, Viator 6, visitrovaniemi.fi listings 38, the visitrovaniemi.fi company directory 89, web searches in seven languages 141; a company can be in several). Each candidate with a website was checked on its own website. Tour details are taken first from the operator’s own website (or Visit Finland DataHub (opens in a new tab)); booking platforms fill in what the operator’s page does not state.
The tables and tour lists include the reindeer experiences in our data that have a working booking link: 147 tours (137 with details from the operator’s own website or Visit Finland DataHub; listed on: DataHub 37, GetYourGuide 7, operator site 122, Viator 1, visitrovaniemi.fi 5 — the same tour is often listed in several places, so these add up to more than 147), collected 2026-09-21–2026-09-22. Reindeer experiences: reindeer named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. Pages that are not a single bookable tour with reindeer in the programme (overview pages, photo galleries, accommodation) were left out after reading the page. 12 tours were left out because they have no working booking link yet. A tour whose operating base is more than 50 km from the centre is listed only when the tour page says it departs from, or picks up in, the destination; the distance is then shown on the tour. Distances are measured from coordinates in Visit Finland DataHub, or from the postal code of the company’s registered address (PRH open data (opens in a new tab); postal code areas from Statistics Finland (opens in a new tab)). Prices change daily; check them on the booking page.
Links to operators’ own pages were last checked on : 1404 addresses across every activity on this site, of which 21 did not answer with a working page and are not linked. GetYourGuide and Viator links are not fetched.
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Data source files: data/monthly_metrics.csv, data/operators_products.csv, data/operator_catalog.csv, data/discovery/datahub_experiences.csv. Company register data: PRH open data (avoindata.prh.fi) (opens in a new tab).
Last updated:
Some links on this site are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure