Wilderness snowmobile safaris in Rovaniemi

Jani AlakurttiBy · Updated

This page covers 9 of the 122 snowmobile safaris in our Rovaniemi data: the ones that are wilderness snowmobile safaris. Snowmobile safaris in Rovaniemi explains how each tour ends up in one type and lists them all, and snowmobile safari prices in Rovaniemi compares what the types cost. Other types with a page of their own: northern lights snowmobile safaris, shorter snowmobile safaris and snowmobile combination tours. Every activity in Rovaniemi, side by side: Rovaniemi in winter.

What is a wilderness snowmobile safari like?

Tours
9 wilderness snowmobile safaris with a working booking link, from 6 operator names.
Price per person, not private
From €159; typical not shown (fewer than 5 tours state one). n = 3 of 9 non-private tours
Typical duration
3 h–8 h (typical not shown: fewer than 5 tours state a duration)

Wilderness or full-day safari tours: the title names a wilderness, expedition or full-day ride, or (when the title names no type) the tour lasts more than four hours or several days. Typical = median. Prices are the lowest listed per-person prices; private tours and group prices are left out. Details and sources below.

These are the long trips: the title names a wilderness, expedition or full day, or the tour runs for more than four hours or several days. It is a small group — 9 of the 122 safaris we list — and too few of them state a per-person price to give a typical figure. Only three of them state a per-person price, running from €159 to €390 — the two highest per-person prices in our snowmobile data are both in this group.

All wilderness snowmobile safaris

No sort order on this site is affected by commission.

Grouped by duration; within each duration group, per-person prices and prices without a stated basis come first, lowest first, then group prices, then tours without a price.

Up to 3 hours

  1. Arctic Wilderness ride by Snowmobile Sleigh
    Lapland Royal Adventures · 3 h · –
    Hotel pickupWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Over 3 and up to 5 hours

  1. Rovaniemi: Night Snowmobile Tour
    Apukka Resort Oy · 4 h 30 min · €159 / person
    Hotel pickupCombined with northern lights
    Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab)
  2. Half Day Snowmobile Safari with Lunch
    Wild Nordic · 5 h · €249 / person
    Listed for Jan–Mar
    You can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Over 7 hours

  1. Full Day Snowmobile Safari to the Wilderness with Lunch
    Wild Nordic · 8 h · €390 / person
    You can drive yourselfDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Duration not stated

  1. 3 hour Snowmobile Safari in Lapland Wilderness – Small Group - Rovaniemi
    PolarMax Adventures · – · –
    Listed for Nov–Apr
    You can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence required
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  2. Snowmobile Safari into Arctic Wilderness
    Sunny Safari · – · –
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  3. Snowmobile Safari into the Wilderness in Apukka, Rovaniemi, Lapland
    Apukka Resort · – · –
    Listed for Nov–Apr
    You can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence required
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  4. Snowmobile Whole Day Adventure – Small Group
    Sunny Safari · – · –
    Small group
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  5. Wilderness Snowmobile Safari
    StayLapland · – · –
    Listed for Dec–Apr
    You can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence required
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
What the marks mean
Hotel pickup
pickup from your accommodation stated as included.
Small group
at most 8 participants, or "small group" in the listing.
Private
"private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title.
You can drive yourself
the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says you can drive the snowmobile yourself for at least part of the tour.
Two share a snowmobile
the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says two people share one snowmobile (a driver and a passenger).
Driving licence required
the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says the driver needs a valid driving licence.
Winter clothing
winter clothing stated as included.
Food or hot drinks
a meal, snack or hot drink stated as included.
Combined with northern lights
the same tour is also listed as a northern lights tour.
Family-friendly
"family" in the tour title, or a stated minimum age of 4 years or less.

Features are marked from the text of the listings and the operators’ own pages. A missing mark means the listing does not mention it, not that it is left out. Duration groups use the midpoint of the stated range (a 3–4 hour tour counts as 3.5 hours): up to 3 hours, over 3 and up to 5, over 5 and up to 7, over 7 hours, and tours of several days. Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one. Filters are offered only for features that the listings state for at least 70 % of the tours and at least 50 % of the tours from each source, so a feature can be marked on a tour without being offered as a filter. 15 more snowmobile safaris in our data are not listed here because they have no working booking link yet.

Run a tour here that’s missing, or see an error? Email [email protected]. Reported tours are checked on the operator’s public website before they are added.

What is included

What the 9 wilderness snowmobile safaris say is included
ItemStated in the listingNot stated
Winter clothing3 included
0 not included or on request
6 of 9
Hotel pickup2 included
0 available / pickup points
0 not included
7 of 9
Can you drive the snowmobile yourself?5 yes, for at least part of the tour4 of 9

Not stated = not found in the collected listing text (on GetYourGuide, the start of the "included" list), so a listing can say more than we found. Hotel pickup "available / pickup points" = pickup offered or pickup points listed, possibly at extra cost. "Yes" was recorded only where the operator’s own page states it directly; not stated does not mean no.

Price per hour

Price per hour: per-person price divided by duration
LowestTypicalHighestTours with price and duration
€35 / hfewer than 5 prices€50 / h3 of 9

Only tours that are not private and state both a per-person price and a duration in hours. Duration = midpoint of the stated range; multi-day tours are left out. Typical = median; not shown when fewer than 5 tours. Price per hour does not account for what is included, so it is a rough comparison, not a measure of value.

Questions

How much do wilderness snowmobile safaris cost?

3 of the 9 tours that are not private state a per-person price: from €159 and up to €390. 6 state a group price or no price basis, so the tour list can show higher prices than this range. These are listed starting prices on the collection date.

How long do wilderness snowmobile safaris take?

4 of 9 tours state a duration in hours: from 3 h to 8 h. 5 do not state a usable duration.

Can children join?

2 of the 9 tours here state a minimum age: from 2 years to 15 years; 1 from the operator's own page, 1 from the GetYourGuide age field. The other 7 do not state one, which is not the same as saying children can join — ask the operator. Tours with a stated minimum age of 4 years or less are marked family-friendly.

Can you drive the snowmobile yourself?

5 of 9 tours say you can drive yourself for at least part of the tour. 4 do not say so on the operator's own page — that does not mean you cannot, only that it is not confirmed, so check before booking.

Who are wilderness snowmobile safaris for?

A full day or a multi-day expedition suits someone who has driven a snowmobile before and wants distance rather than a taster. Because the group is small, compare the individual tours rather than a typical price: what is included varies more here than in the short safaris.

Based on the 9 wilderness snowmobile safaris in our data, from operators’ own websites, GetYourGuide, Viator or visitrovaniemi.fi.

Sources and method

Tour data

How operators were found: no single list is complete, so we combined 619 candidate companies from several sources (Visit Finland DataHub 137, GetYourGuide 88, the Finnish Trade Register (PRH open data, tourism-related lines of business) 424, Viator 6, visitrovaniemi.fi listings 38, the visitrovaniemi.fi company directory 89, web searches in seven languages 141; a company can be in several). Each candidate with a website was checked on its own website. Tour details are taken first from the operator’s own website (or Visit Finland DataHub (opens in a new tab)); booking platforms fill in what the operator’s page does not state.

The tables and tour lists include the snowmobile safaris in our data that have a working booking link: 122 tours (104 with details from the operator’s own website; listed on: DataHub 35, GetYourGuide 12, visitrovaniemi.fi 15, operator site 83, Viator 3 — the same tour is often listed in several places, so these add up to more than 122), collected 2026-09-21–2026-09-22. Snowmobile safaris and snowmobile rides: snowmobile (or snow scooter) named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. Pages that are not a single bookable snowmobile experience (overview pages, photo galleries, accommodation) were left out after reading the page. 15 tours were left out because they have no working booking link yet. A tour whose operating base is more than 50 km from the centre is listed only when the tour page says it departs from, or picks up in, the destination; the distance is then shown on the tour. Distances are measured from coordinates in Visit Finland DataHub, or from the postal code of the company’s registered address (PRH open data (opens in a new tab); postal code areas from Statistics Finland (opens in a new tab)). Prices change daily; check them on the booking page.

Links to operators’ own pages were last checked on : 1404 addresses across every activity on this site, of which 21 did not answer with a working page and are not linked. GetYourGuide and Viator links are not fetched.

This page shows the 9 of them in the group “Wilderness or full-day safari” (the title names a wilderness, expedition or full-day ride, or (when the title names no type) the tour lasts more than four hours or several days). Each tour belongs to exactly one group.

No sort order on this site is affected by commission.

Data source files: data/operators_products.csv, data/operator_catalog.csv, data/discovery/datahub_experiences.csv. Company register data: PRH open data (avoindata.prh.fi) (opens in a new tab).

Last updated:

Some links on this site are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure