Snowmobile safaris in Rovaniemi
Which snowmobile safari in Rovaniemi should I book, and what does it cost?
- Total
- 122 snowmobile safaris with a working booking link, from 40 operator names.
- Price per person, not private
- From €68; typical €159. n = 43 of 118 non-private tours
- Typical duration
- 3 h (n = 89)
Snowmobile safaris and snowmobile rides: snowmobile (or snow scooter) named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. Pages that are not a single bookable snowmobile experience (overview pages, photo galleries, accommodation) were left out after reading the page. Typical = median. Prices are the lowest listed per-person prices; private tours and group prices are left out. Details and sources below.
Snowmobile safaris in Rovaniemi come in four kinds: a safari of up to four hours, a ride timed for the northern lights, a wilderness or full-day trip, and combination tours that add reindeer, huskies or ice fishing. The short safari is the most common and typically lasts two hours, while northern lights rides and combination tours typically last three. Typical per-person prices rise in the same order: about €139 for a short safari, €159 for a northern lights ride and €179 for a combination tour. Daytime temperatures (10:00–16:00) average below −6 °C from December to February, and driving adds wind on top of that.
Safari, northern lights ride, wilderness day or combination?
| Experience | Tours | of which private | of which combined with northern lights | Price per person, not private: from – typical | Typical duration | Winter clothing | Hotel pickup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northern lights safari northern lights snowmobile safaris | 42 | 0 | 32 | €68 – €159 n = 19 of 42 | 3 h n = 37 | 36 included 6 not stated | 20 included 10 available / pickup points 12 not stated |
| Wilderness or full-day safari wilderness snowmobile safaris | 9 | 0 | 1 | €159 – too few stated prices n = 3 of 9 | too few stated durations n = 4 | 3 included 6 not stated | 2 included 7 not stated |
| Snowmobile safari, up to 4 hours or not stated shorter snowmobile safaris | 47 | 4 | 2 | €79 – €139 n = 11 of 43 | 2 h n = 33 | 29 included 18 not stated | 10 included 2 available / pickup points 2 not included 33 not stated |
| Combined with another activity snowmobile combination tours | 24 | 0 | 2 | €161 – €179 n = 10 of 24 | 3 h n = 15 | 14 included 10 not stated | 2 included 1 available / pickup points 1 not included 20 not stated |
| All tours | 122 | 4 | 37 | ||||
Rows are mutually exclusive: each tour is in exactly one row. The row comes from the tour title; only if the title names none, from the collected listing text. Almost every title says “snowmobile”, so the word alone does not decide the row: a tour is in the northern lights, wilderness or combination row only when the title or the listing text names that, and the rest are grouped by duration. Northern lights safari: the title names the northern lights or the aurora, so the ride is timed for the dark hours. Wilderness or full-day safari: the title names a wilderness, expedition or full-day ride, or (when the title names no type) the tour lasts more than four hours or several days. Snowmobile safari, up to 4 hours or not stated: a snowmobile safari, ride or taster with no other main activity and no northern lights in the title, lasting up to four hours or with no stated duration. Combined with another activity: the title combines the snowmobile ride with another main activity (reindeer, husky, ice fishing, ice karting and similar), or names more than one of these experiences.
Prices are the lowest listed per-person price of each tour that is not private (group prices and prices without a stated basis are left out; n = tours with a per-person price, of all non-private tours in the row). Where the operator’s own website states a price, that price is used. Listed prices can be discounted prices. Typical = median; not shown when fewer than 5 tours. Duration = midpoint of the stated range, multi-day tours left out.
Not stated = not found in the collected listing text, so a listing can say more. Hotel pickup "available / pickup points" = pickup offered or pickup points listed, possibly at extra cost.
| Feature | Tours | Price per person: from – typical | Price not stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Private | 4 | €199 – too few stated prices n = 1 of 4 | 3 of 4 |
| Combined with northern lights | 37 | €68 – €159 n = 15 of 37 | 22 of 37 |
Private: "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title (not a private place such as "private island"). Combined with northern lights: the same tour is also listed as a northern lights tour. A tour can be both.
Private tours: a price is shown only when the platform states it as a per-person price. Group prices are not divided among people, and prices that "vary by group size", assume 2 adults or have no stated basis are counted as not stated, because the group size they apply to is unknown. Even a stated per-person price of a private tour can depend on group size. Other features: prices of non-private tours only, as in the table above.
Best time for a snowmobile safari
| Month | Days with snow cover | Day temperature, 10–16, mean (°C) | Daylight (h) |
|---|---|---|---|
| January | 31.0 | -10.5 | 4.4 |
| February | 28.0 | -7.7 | 8.1 |
| March | 31.0 | -2.1 | 11.7 |
| April | 29.5 | 3.4 | 15.5 |
| May | 7.2 | 10.1 | 19.6 |
| June | 0.0 | 16.1 | 23.8 |
| July | 0.0 | 18.7 | 21.5 |
| August | 0.0 | 16.5 | 16.9 |
| September | 0.0 | 10.8 | 13.2 |
| October | 7.3 | 2.9 | 9.5 |
| November | 23.2 | -2.8 | 5.7 |
| December | 30.7 | -6.8 | 2.7 |
- Days with snow cover: Rovaniemi Apukka (FMI weather station), id 101933, 15.3 km, 2015-2024, FMI daily observations; n = 283–310
- Day temperature, 10–16, mean (°C): Rovaniemi railway station (FMI weather station), id 101928, 1 km, 2015-01-01..2024-12-31, FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour); n = 281–309
- Daylight (h): Calculated from destination coordinates (astral 3.2), no station, 0 km, 2015-2024, astral (calculated); n = 28–31
Source file: data/monthly_metrics.csv
38 of the 122 snowmobile safaris we list say when in the year they run: 38 in the snow season only. The other 84 do not say, which is not the same as saying they do not run. The snow season here is November to April.
Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one.
Snow covers the ground on almost every day from December to March and on about nineteen days in twenty in April, and on no day from June to September. Daytime temperatures (10:00–16:00) are coldest in January, averaging about −10.5 °C, and climb above freezing from April. Daylight is shortest in December, under three hours a day, and by March there is close to twelve, so a midwinter daytime safari runs mostly in twilight.
Book a snowmobile safari
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Sort by:
Grouped by duration; within each duration group, per-person prices and prices without a stated basis come first, lowest first, then group prices, then tours without a price.
Northern lights safari (42)
More about northern lights snowmobile safaris: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- Northern Lights Snowmobile Adventure at Lapland Winter Park
StayLapland · 2 h · €59 (basis not stated)
Hotel pickupYou can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Snowmobile Night Tour in Rovaniemi
Lapland Escape · 3 h · €99 (basis not stated)
Hotel pickupYou can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Easy Snowmobile Safari 1h
Golden Circle Suites · 1 h 30 min · €101 / person
You can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Easy Snowmobile Safari 1H
Access Lapland · 1 h 30 min · €101 / person
You can drive yourselfDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - 1-Hour Family Snowmobile Safari in Rovaniemi
Lapland Escape · 2 h 30 min · €115 (basis not stated)
Hotel pickupYou can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Up to 3 hours: 15 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on northern lights snowmobile safaris.
Over 3 and up to 5 hours: 16 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on northern lights snowmobile safaris.
Over 7 hours: 1 more tour is listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on northern lights snowmobile safaris.
Duration not stated: 5 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on northern lights snowmobile safaris.
Wilderness or full-day safari (9)
More about wilderness snowmobile safaris: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- Arctic Wilderness ride by Snowmobile Sleigh
Lapland Royal Adventures · 3 h · –
Hotel pickupWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Over 3 and up to 5 hours
- Rovaniemi: Night Snowmobile Tour
Apukka Resort Oy · 4 h 30 min · €159 / person
Hotel pickupCombined with northern lights
Check on GetYourGuide (opens in a new tab) - Half Day Snowmobile Safari with Lunch
Wild Nordic · 5 h · €249 / person
Listed for Jan–Mar
You can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Over 7 hours
- Full Day Snowmobile Safari to the Wilderness with Lunch
Wild Nordic · 8 h · €390 / person
You can drive yourselfDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Duration not stated
- 3 hour Snowmobile Safari in Lapland Wilderness – Small Group - Rovaniemi
PolarMax Adventures · – · –
Listed for Nov–Apr
You can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence required
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Duration not stated: 4 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on wilderness snowmobile safaris.
Snowmobile safari, up to 4 hours or not stated (47)
More about shorter snowmobile safaris: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- Snowmobile Safari into the Arctic Circle Forest
Nordic Adventures · 2 h · €20 (basis not stated)
Hotel pickupSmall groupYou can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Lapland Winter Park Mini Snowmobile Ticket for Children
StayLapland · 20 min · €35 (basis not stated)
You can drive yourselfFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Scenic Sleighride
Wild Nordic · 1 h · €79 / person
Listed for Dec
Winter clothing
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Easy Snowmobile Safari
Wild Nordic · 1 h · €99 / person
Listed for Dec–Mar
You can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothing
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Private Frozen Trails: 1-Hour Snowmobile Ride at Lapland Winter Park
StayLapland · 1 h · €99 (basis not stated)
Hotel pickupPrivateYou can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Up to 3 hours: 24 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on shorter snowmobile safaris.
Over 3 and up to 5 hours: 4 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on shorter snowmobile safaris.
Duration not stated: 14 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on shorter snowmobile safaris.
Combined with another activity (24)
More about snowmobile combination tours: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- Snowmobile and Ice Fishing
Access Lapland · 3 h · €161 / person
You can drive yourselfDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Arctic Ice Karting and Snowmobile Safari
Access Lapland · 2 h 30 min · €174 / person
You can drive yourselfDriving licence requiredFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Snowmobile Safari with Ice Fishing Experience
Wild Nordic · 3 h · €189 / person
Listed for Jan–Mar
You can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Northern Lights Electric Snowmobile Safari & Reindeer Experience in Rovaniemi
Porovaara Reindeer Hill · 3 h · €195 (basis not stated)
Runs in the snow season
Winter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Snowmobile Safari to a Reindeer Farm
Wild Nordic · 3 h · €199 / person
Listed for Dec–Mar
You can drive yourselfTwo share a snowmobileDriving licence requiredWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Up to 3 hours: 3 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on snowmobile combination tours.
Over 3 and up to 5 hours: 5 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on snowmobile combination tours.
Over 5 and up to 7 hours: 2 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on snowmobile combination tours.
Duration not stated: 9 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on snowmobile combination tours.
What the marks mean
- Hotel pickup
- pickup from your accommodation stated as included.
- Small group
- at most 8 participants, or "small group" in the listing.
- Private
- "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title.
- You can drive yourself
- the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says you can drive the snowmobile yourself for at least part of the tour.
- Two share a snowmobile
- the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says two people share one snowmobile (a driver and a passenger).
- Driving licence required
- the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says the driver needs a valid driving licence.
- Winter clothing
- winter clothing stated as included.
- Food or hot drinks
- a meal, snack or hot drink stated as included.
- Combined with northern lights
- the same tour is also listed as a northern lights tour.
- Family-friendly
- "family" in the tour title, or a stated minimum age of 4 years or less.
Features are marked from the text of the listings and the operators’ own pages. A missing mark means the listing does not mention it, not that it is left out. Duration groups use the midpoint of the stated range (a 3–4 hour tour counts as 3.5 hours): up to 3 hours, over 3 and up to 5, over 5 and up to 7, over 7 hours, and tours of several days. Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one. Filters are offered only for features that the listings state for at least 70 % of the tours and at least 50 % of the tours from each source, so a feature can be marked on a tour without being offered as a filter. 15 more snowmobile safaris in our data are not listed here because they have no working booking link yet.
Run a tour here that’s missing, or see an error? Email [email protected]. Reported tours are checked on the operator’s public website before they are added.
Before you book
How long do snowmobile safaris take?
Of the 89 tours that state a duration in hours, the typical (median) tour takes 3 h; the shortest 20 min and the longest 8 h. 33 do not state a usable duration.
Can children join?
18 of the 122 tours here state a minimum age: from 2 years to 18 years (median 3.5 years); 11 from the operator's own page, 7 from the GetYourGuide age field. The other 104 do not state one, which is not the same as saying children can join — ask the operator. Tours with a stated minimum age of 4 years or less are marked family-friendly.
Is winter clothing included?
82 of 122 tours say winter clothing is included and 0 say it is not included or only on request. 40 do not mention it. Checked from the listing text (on GetYourGuide, the start of the "included" list), so a listing can say more than we found.
How cold is it during the day?
Mean daytime temperature (10:00–16:00) by month: December -6.8 °C, January -10.5 °C, February -7.7 °C. Whether winter clothing is included is a separate question above; the tour list marks it on each tour that states it.
When should I book?
A snowmobile safari does not depend on a clear sky, so book it for any day of your trip; only the northern lights version depends on the weather at night. The real constraint is snow, which lies on the ground on no day from June to September, so a summer trip means a different activity rather than a different snowmobile tour. Check who drives before you book: 70 of the 122 safaris we list say that two people share one snowmobile, and 73 say the driver needs a valid driving licence.
Based on the 122 snowmobile safaris in our data, from operators’ own websites, GetYourGuide, Viator or visitrovaniemi.fi.
Background
34 of the 122 snowmobile safaris we list include hotel pickup, and 82 say winter clothing is included. 83 of them say on the operator’s own page that you can drive the snowmobile yourself for at least part of the ride; the rest do not say who drives, which is not the same as saying you cannot. Almost no operator says how far you actually drive: of the 123 product pages we read, only 4 gave the distance in kilometres, and the rest give a driving time instead.
Combined with other activities
Some snowmobile safaris are also sold as northern lights tours, husky safaris or reindeer experiences; those are counted in both guides.
Sources and method
Climate data
- Days with snow cover of at least 1 cm, as a share of the days with an observation, scaled to the length of the month; n = days. Source: FMI daily observations (opens in a new tab); Rovaniemi Apukka (FMI weather station) (id 101933), 15.3 km from Rovaniemi; period 2015-2024; n = 283–310 per month.
- Mean of the hourly temperatures 10:00–16:00 per day, averaged over the month; only days with every hour observed; n = days. Source: FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour) (opens in a new tab); Rovaniemi railway station (FMI weather station) (id 101928), 1 km from Rovaniemi; period 2015-01-01..2024-12-31; n = 281–309 per month.
- Mean daily time the sun is above the horizon, calculated from coordinates (year 2023); n = days in the month. Source: astral (calculated); Calculated from destination coordinates (astral 3.2), no station; period 2015-2024; n = 28–31 per month.
We do not compare destinations with these figures, because differences between weather stations can explain differences between places.
Tour data
How operators were found: no single list is complete, so we combined 619 candidate companies from several sources (Visit Finland DataHub 137, GetYourGuide 88, the Finnish Trade Register (PRH open data, tourism-related lines of business) 424, Viator 6, visitrovaniemi.fi listings 38, the visitrovaniemi.fi company directory 89, web searches in seven languages 141; a company can be in several). Each candidate with a website was checked on its own website. Tour details are taken first from the operator’s own website (or Visit Finland DataHub (opens in a new tab)); booking platforms fill in what the operator’s page does not state.
The tables and tour lists include the snowmobile safaris in our data that have a working booking link: 122 tours (104 with details from the operator’s own website; listed on: DataHub 35, GetYourGuide 12, visitrovaniemi.fi 15, operator site 83, Viator 3 — the same tour is often listed in several places, so these add up to more than 122), collected 2026-09-21–2026-09-22. Snowmobile safaris and snowmobile rides: snowmobile (or snow scooter) named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. Pages that are not a single bookable snowmobile experience (overview pages, photo galleries, accommodation) were left out after reading the page. 15 tours were left out because they have no working booking link yet. A tour whose operating base is more than 50 km from the centre is listed only when the tour page says it departs from, or picks up in, the destination; the distance is then shown on the tour. Distances are measured from coordinates in Visit Finland DataHub, or from the postal code of the company’s registered address (PRH open data (opens in a new tab); postal code areas from Statistics Finland (opens in a new tab)). Prices change daily; check them on the booking page.
Links to operators’ own pages were last checked on : 1404 addresses across every activity on this site, of which 21 did not answer with a working page and are not linked. GetYourGuide and Viator links are not fetched.
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Data source files: data/monthly_metrics.csv, data/operators_products.csv, data/operator_catalog.csv, data/discovery/datahub_experiences.csv. Company register data: PRH open data (avoindata.prh.fi) (opens in a new tab).
Last updated:
Some links on this site are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure