Santa Claus tours in Rovaniemi

Jani AlakurttiBy · Updated

Do you need to pay to meet Santa in Rovaniemi, and what do the tours add?

Total
50 Santa Claus tours with a working booking link, from 24 operator names.
Price per person, not private
From €79; typical €214. n = 20 of 45 non-private tours
Typical duration
4 h (n = 41)

Santa Claus experiences: Santa Claus, Santa Claus Village or SantaPark named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. Pages that are not a single bookable experience with Santa or the village in the programme were left out after reading the page. Typical = median. Prices are the lowest listed per-person prices; private tours and group prices are left out. Details and sources below.

Meeting Santa Claus in Santa Claus Village is free and the village is open every day of the year, so a paid tour is never the only way to see him. What you pay for is what the tour adds: of the 50 Santa tours we list, 15 state nothing beyond getting you to the village, while 13 state a private meeting with Santa, 10 include another activity such as huskies or reindeer, 5 include a meal and 7 state more than one of these. Prices vary accordingly: the median stated per-person price is €269 for a private meeting and €197 for a tour with another activity, while the other groups state too few prices to give a typical figure. Daytime temperatures (10:00–16:00) average below −6 °C from December to February, and much of a village visit is spent outdoors between buildings.

What the price adds over a free village visit

50 Santa Claus tours from operators’ own websites, GetYourGuide, Viator or visitrovaniemi.fi, from 24 operator names (0 tours have no operator name). A tour found in several of these is counted once where the listings have been matched; across the whole site 49 possible matches (all activities together) are still being checked, and until then those listings are counted separately.
What the price addsToursof which private tourof which another activity includedPrice per person, not private: from – typicalTypical durationWinter clothingHotel pickup
Private meeting with Santa
private Santa meetings
1320€99 – €269
n = 5 of 11
2 h 30 min
n = 8
0 included
13 not stated
7 included
6 not stated
Another activity included
Santa tours with an activity
10010€169 – €197
n = 6 of 10
5 h 15 min
n = 10
1 included
1 not included / on request
8 not stated
5 included
5 not stated
A meal included
Santa tours with a meal
500€79 – too few stated prices
n = 3 of 5
too few stated durations
n = 4
2 included
1 not included / on request
2 not stated
1 included
1 not included
3 not stated
More than one of these
Santa day packages
713€225 – too few stated prices
n = 4 of 6
4 h
n = 7
2 included
5 not stated
5 included
2 not stated
Village visit or transfer only1520€115 – too few stated prices
n = 2 of 13
3 h 30 min
n = 12
6 included
9 not stated
7 included
1 not included
7 not stated
All tours50513

Rows are mutually exclusive: each tour is in exactly one row. The row comes from the tour title; only if the title names none, from the collected listing text. Meeting Santa in Santa Claus Village is free, so the row says what the price adds on top of the visit: a private meeting, another activity, a meal, or several of these. “Village visit or transfer only” means the page names none of them. Private meeting with Santa: the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says the meeting with Santa is private — your own group, not a shared queue. Another activity included: the same tour is also listed under another activity: a husky, reindeer, snowmobile, horse, fat bike or ice karting programme. A meal included: the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says a meal — lunch, dinner or a buffet — is included in the price. More than one of these: the tour states more than one of the above: for example a private meeting and a meal, or an activity and a meal. Village visit or transfer only: the tour states none of the above: no private meeting with Santa, no meal and no other activity. Meeting Santa in Santa Claus Village itself is free, so what these tours add is the transport, the guiding or the timing.

Prices are the lowest listed per-person price of each tour that is not private (group prices and prices without a stated basis are left out; n = tours with a per-person price, of all non-private tours in the row). Where the operator’s own website states a price, that price is used. Listed prices can be discounted prices. Typical = median; not shown when fewer than 5 tours. Duration = midpoint of the stated range, multi-day tours left out.

Not stated = not found in the collected listing text, so a listing can say more. Hotel pickup "available / pickup points" = pickup offered or pickup points listed, possibly at extra cost.

Private tour and Another activity included tours (these overlap with the what the price adds rows above)
FeatureToursPrice per person: from – typicalPrice not stated
Private tour5– – too few stated prices
n = 0 of 5
5 of 5
Another activity included13€169 – €209
n = 7 of 13
6 of 13

Private tour: "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title (not a private place such as "private island"). Another activity included: the same tour is also listed under another activity (husky, reindeer, snowmobile, horse, fat bike, ice karting). A tour can be both.

Private tours: a price is shown only when the platform states it as a per-person price. Group prices are not divided among people, and prices that "vary by group size", assume 2 adults or have no stated basis are counted as not stated, because the group size they apply to is unknown. Even a stated per-person price of a private tour can depend on group size. Other features: prices of non-private tours only, as in the table above.

When the tours run

15 of the 50 Santa Claus tours we list say when in the year they run: 4 all year, 8 in the snow season only, 2 in part of the year that covers both seasons, 1 outside the snow season only. The other 35 do not say, which is not the same as saying they do not run. The snow season here is November to April.
Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one.

Weather and daylight month by month

Climate figures by month (sources below the table)
MonthDays with snow coverDay temperature, 10–16, mean (°C)Daylight (h)
January31.0-10.54.4
February28.0-7.78.1
March31.0-2.111.7
April29.53.415.5
May7.210.119.6
June0.016.123.8
July0.018.721.5
August0.016.516.9
September0.010.813.2
October7.32.99.5
November23.2-2.85.7
December30.7-6.82.7
  • Days with snow cover: Rovaniemi Apukka (FMI weather station), id 101933, 15.3 km, 2015-2024, FMI daily observations; n = 283–310
  • Day temperature, 10–16, mean (°C): Rovaniemi railway station (FMI weather station), id 101928, 1 km, 2015-01-01..2024-12-31, FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour); n = 281–309
  • Daylight (h): Calculated from destination coordinates (astral 3.2), no station, 0 km, 2015-2024, astral (calculated); n = 28–31

Source file: data/monthly_metrics.csv

Most tours still do not say when they run: 35 of the 50 we list state no season at all, so a tour listed here is not necessarily bookable in the week you are travelling — check the date on the booking page. Daylight is the bigger practical difference: in December the sun is up for under three hours a day, and by March for close to twelve. Daytime temperatures (10:00–16:00) are coldest in January, averaging about −10.5 °C, and climb above freezing from April.

Book a Santa Claus experience

No sort order on this site is affected by commission.

Grouped by duration; within each duration group, per-person prices and prices without a stated basis come first, lowest first, then group prices, then tours without a price.

Private meeting with Santa (13)

Up to 3 hours

  1. Santa’s secret forest walk
    Kotatieva Oy · 1 h 30 min · €99 / person
    Listed for Nov–Mar
    Private meeting with Santa
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  2. A gingerbread masterclass in Santa’s Forest Hut
    Santa Claus Secret Forest - Joulukka · 2 h 30 min · €102 / person
    Hotel pickupSmall groupPrivate meeting with Santa
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  3. Discover the magic of Santa’s Secret Toy Factory
    Santa Claus Secret Forest - Joulukka · 2 h 30 min · €269 / person
    Runs all year
    Hotel pickupSmall groupPrivate meeting with Santa
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  4. Meeting with Santa Claus in the Christmas Command Center
    Santa Claus Secret Forest - Joulukka · 2 h · €102 / group
    Runs all year
    Hotel pickupSmall groupPrivate meeting with Santa
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  5. Santa’s Secret Aurora Hideaway
    Santa Claus Secret Forest - Joulukka · 3 h · €1,895 / group
    Hotel pickupSmall groupPrivate meeting with Santa
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Up to 3 hours: 1 more tour is listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on private Santa meetings.

Over 3 and up to 5 hours: 2 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on private Santa meetings.

Duration not stated: 5 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on private Santa meetings.

Another activity included (10)

Up to 3 hours

  1. Husky Sprint: Sled Ride 2 km & Santa Claus Village Tour in Rovaniemi
    Lapland Escape · 3 h · €45 (basis not stated)
    Hotel pickupAnother activity includedWinter clothing
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Over 3 and up to 5 hours

  1. Santa’s Reindeer & Husky Safari - Northern Future Travel
    Northern Future Travel · 3 h–4 h · €169 / person
    Small groupAnother activity included
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  2. Meet Santa Claus & Santa’s Reindeer Ride & Greet Huskies
    Northern Future Travel · 5 h · €219 / person
    Small groupAnother activity included
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  3. Autumn Delight - Visit to reindeer, husky and Santa Claus
    Safartica · 4 h · –
    Another activity included
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  4. Electric Fat Bike Tour to Santa Claus Village
    Lapland Royal Adventures · 4 h · –
    Another activity included
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Over 5 and up to 7 hours: 5 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on Santa tours with an activity.

A meal included (5)

Over 3 and up to 5 hours

  1. Visit to Santa Claus Village with lunch
    Arctic SnowHotel · 4 h · €79 / person
    Meal included
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  2. Guided Santa Claus Village Tour
    Rovaniemi Insider · 4 h · €169 / person
    Meal includedWinter clothing
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  3. Santa Claus Village & Arctic Circle Crossing Tour
    BookLapland · 5 h · –
    Hotel pickupMeal includedWinter clothing
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Over 5 and up to 7 hours

  1. Trip to Santa Claus Village, Rovaniemi
    Ranua Resort Safaris & activities · 6 h · €195 / person
    Photo with Santa includedMeal included
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Duration not stated

  1. Santa Claus Village Tour
    StayLapland · – · –
    Listed for Nov–Apr
    Meal included
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

More than one of these (7)

Up to 3 hours

  1. Finnish Christmas with Santa Claus (Private), Rovaniemi
    Rovaniemi-tours.com · 45 min · –
    Hotel pickupPrivatePrivate meeting with SantaMeal included
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  2. Your summer day with Santa Claus
    Porovaara · 2 h · –
    Listed for May–Sep
    Private meeting with SantaAnother activity included
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  3. Your winter day with Santa Claus
    Porovaara · 2 h · –
    Listed for Oct–Apr
    Private meeting with SantaAnother activity includedWinter clothing
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Over 3 and up to 5 hours

  1. Christmas Day Dinner in the Secret Forest – Santa Claus’s Return
    Santa Claus Secret Forest - Joulukka · 4 h · €359 / person
    Runs in December only
    Hotel pickupPrivate meeting with SantaMeal included
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  2. Christmas Eve feast in the Secret Forest – Santa Claus’s departure
    Santa Claus Secret Forest - Joulukka · 4 h · €359 / person
    Runs in December only
    Hotel pickupPrivate meeting with SantaMeal included
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Over 3 and up to 5 hours: 1 more tour is listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on Santa day packages.

Over 5 and up to 7 hours: 1 more tour is listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on Santa day packages.

Village visit or transfer only (15)

Up to 3 hours

  1. Santa's Visit to a Countryside Home
    Soul of Lapland · 3 h · €220 / person
    Listed for Nov–Jan
    Small group
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  2. Excursion to Santa Claus Village
    Helios Tour · 3 h · –
    Hotel pickup
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  3. Excursion to Santa Claus Village, Rovaniemi
    Rovaniemi-tours.com · 2 h 30 min · –
    Winter clothing
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  4. Santa Claus Village Experience & Arctic Circle Crossing
    BookLapland · 3 h · –
    Hotel pickupWinter clothing
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
  5. Santa's Village Tour: Small Group & Arctic Circle in Rovaniemi 🎅
    Nordic Adventures · 3 h · –
    Runs all year
    Hotel pickupSmall group
    Operator's website (opens in a new tab)

Up to 3 hours: 1 more tour is listed when JavaScript is on.

Over 3 and up to 5 hours: 3 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on.

Over 5 and up to 7 hours: 3 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on.

Duration not stated: 3 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on.

What the marks mean
Hotel pickup
pickup from your accommodation stated as included.
Small group
at most 8 participants, or "small group" in the listing.
Private
"private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title.
Photo with Santa included
the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says a photo with Santa is included in the price; a photo opportunity or a photo sold separately does not count.
Private meeting with Santa
the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says the meeting with Santa is private.
Meal included
the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says a lunch, dinner or buffet is included.
Another activity included
the same tour is also listed under another activity (husky, reindeer, snowmobile, horse, fat bike, ice karting).
Winter clothing
winter clothing stated as included.
Family-friendly
"family" in the tour title, or a stated minimum age of 4 years or less.

Features are marked from the text of the listings and the operators’ own pages. A missing mark means the listing does not mention it, not that it is left out. Duration groups use the midpoint of the stated range (a 3–4 hour tour counts as 3.5 hours): up to 3 hours, over 3 and up to 5, over 5 and up to 7, over 7 hours, and tours of several days. Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one. Filters are offered only for features that the listings state for at least 70 % of the tours and at least 50 % of the tours from each source, so a feature can be marked on a tour without being offered as a filter. 2 more Santa Claus tours in our data are not listed here because they have no working booking link yet.

Run a tour here that’s missing, or see an error? Email [email protected]. Reported tours are checked on the operator’s public website before they are added.

Before you book

How long do Santa Claus tours take?

Of the 41 tours that state a duration in hours, the typical (median) tour takes 4 h; the shortest 45 min and the longest 7 h. 9 do not state a usable duration.

Can children join?

2 of the 50 tours here state a minimum age: 3 years; 1 from the operator's own page, 1 from the GetYourGuide age field. The other 48 do not state one, which is not the same as saying children can join — ask the operator. Tours with a stated minimum age of 4 years or less are marked family-friendly.

Is winter clothing included?

11 of 50 tours say winter clothing is included and 2 say it is not included or only on request. 37 do not mention it. Checked from the listing text (on GetYourGuide, the start of the "included" list), so a listing can say more than we found.

When should I book?

Decide first whether you want anything the free village visit does not already give you: a private meeting without the queue, a meal, or a husky or reindeer ride on the same trip. If you only want to see Santa and cross the Arctic Circle, the tours in our data that state nothing else are paying for the transfer and the guiding, not for access. Christmas week is the busiest time of the year in the village, so book a private meeting well ahead if that is what you want.

Based on the 50 Santa Claus tours in our data, from operators’ own websites, GetYourGuide, Viator or visitrovaniemi.fi.

Background

Santa Claus Village sits about 8 km north of Rovaniemi city centre at the Arctic Circle, and local buses and many hotel transfers serve it, which is why so many tours are essentially a transfer with a guide. 11 of the 50 tours we list are also reindeer experiences and 10 are also husky safaris, so a Santa tour is often the wrapper around an animal programme. Only 2 of the 50 say that a photo with Santa is included in the price. The other 48 do not say either way, which is not the same as saying it costs extra — ask when you book.

Combined with other activities

Many Santa tours also include a husky, reindeer or snowmobile programme; those are counted in both guides.

Sources and method

Climate data

We do not compare destinations with these figures, because differences between weather stations can explain differences between places.

Tour data

How operators were found: no single list is complete, so we combined 619 candidate companies from several sources (Visit Finland DataHub 137, GetYourGuide 88, the Finnish Trade Register (PRH open data, tourism-related lines of business) 424, Viator 6, visitrovaniemi.fi listings 38, the visitrovaniemi.fi company directory 89, web searches in seven languages 141; a company can be in several). Each candidate with a website was checked on its own website. Tour details are taken first from the operator’s own website (or Visit Finland DataHub (opens in a new tab)); booking platforms fill in what the operator’s page does not state.

The tables and tour lists include the Santa Claus tours in our data that have a working booking link: 50 tours (49 with details from the operator’s own website; listed on: DataHub 10, GetYourGuide 2, visitrovaniemi.fi 1, Viator 1, operator site 45 — the same tour is often listed in several places, so these add up to more than 50), collected 2026-09-21–2026-09-22. Santa Claus experiences: Santa Claus, Santa Claus Village or SantaPark named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. Pages that are not a single bookable experience with Santa or the village in the programme were left out after reading the page. 2 tours were left out because they have no working booking link yet. A tour whose operating base is more than 50 km from the centre is listed only when the tour page says it departs from, or picks up in, the destination; the distance is then shown on the tour. Distances are measured from coordinates in Visit Finland DataHub, or from the postal code of the company’s registered address (PRH open data (opens in a new tab); postal code areas from Statistics Finland (opens in a new tab)). Prices change daily; check them on the booking page.

Links to operators’ own pages were last checked on : 1404 addresses across every activity on this site, of which 21 did not answer with a working page and are not linked. GetYourGuide and Viator links are not fetched.

Other sources

No sort order on this site is affected by commission.

Data source files: data/monthly_metrics.csv, data/operators_products.csv, data/operator_catalog.csv, data/discovery/datahub_experiences.csv. Company register data: PRH open data (avoindata.prh.fi) (opens in a new tab).

Last updated:

Some links on this site are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure