Snowshoeing and hiking in Rovaniemi
Which snowshoe or hiking tour in Rovaniemi should I book?
- Total
- 102 snowshoe and hiking tours with a working booking link, from 43 operator names.
- Price per person, not private
- From €55; typical €108. n = 31 of 92 non-private tours
- Typical duration
- 4 h (n = 59)
Snowshoeing and hiking: walking on snowshoes or on foot named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. Pages that are not a single bookable walk — equipment rental, a day ticket, an overview page listing several tours — were left out after reading the page. Typical = median. Prices are the lowest listed per-person prices; private tours and group prices are left out. Details and sources below.
Snowshoeing and walking are sold here as the same trip in different seasons: we list 102 walks from 43 operator names, and the same route often appears as a summer hike and a winter snowshoe tour. A quarter of them go to a named canyon or waterfall, most of those to Korouoma, and those are the long days: the typical canyon trip lasts over six hours because the drive is part of it. Forest and wilderness walks are the short, cheap end: a typical forest walk lasts three hours and costs about 90 euros, against 108 euros for the typical walk of any kind. Snow covers the ground on practically every day from December to April, and the daytime average stays below freezing from November to March, so a winter walk is a cold-weather walk.
Where the walks go
| Where you walk | Tours | of which private | of which combined with northern lights | Price per person, not private: from – typical | Typical duration | Winter clothing | Hotel pickup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canyon or waterfall canyon and waterfall hikes | 26 | 5 | 0 | €120 – too few stated prices n = 3 of 21 | 6 h 15 min n = 16 | 9 included 1 not included / on request 16 not stated | 10 included 1 not included 15 not stated |
| Fell or national park fell and national park hikes | 6 | 0 | 0 | €169 – too few stated prices n = 2 of 6 | too few stated durations n = 3 | 2 included 4 not stated | 3 included 3 not stated |
| Arctic Circle area or the city | 2 | 0 | 0 | €79 – too few stated prices n = 1 of 2 | too few stated durations n = 1 | 1 included 1 not stated | 0 included 2 not stated |
| Forest or wilderness forest and wilderness walks | 24 | 1 | 0 | €79 – €89 n = 9 of 23 | 3 h n = 11 | 6 included 18 not stated | 7 included 17 not stated |
| Combined with another activity walks combined with another activity | 30 | 2 | 7 | €55 – €113 n = 14 of 28 | 4 h n = 22 | 16 included 14 not stated | 10 included 2 not included 18 not stated |
| Not stated | 14 | 2 | 0 | €99 – too few stated prices n = 2 of 12 | 3 h n = 6 | 3 included 11 not stated | 3 included 11 not stated |
| All tours | 102 | 10 | 7 | ||||
Rows are mutually exclusive: each tour is in exactly one row. The row comes from the tour title; only if the title names none, from the collected listing text. The tour title decides where the walk goes. Forest is the fallback: it counts only when the title names no canyon, fell or city location. Canyon or waterfall: the title names a canyon or a waterfall (Korouoma, Auttiköngäs, Vaattunkiköngäs, Kätkävaara and similar). Fell or national park: the title names a national park or a fell (Riisitunturi, Oulanka, Pyhä-Luosto and similar). Arctic Circle area or the city: the title names the Arctic Circle area, Santa Claus Village, Ounasvaara or the city itself — the walks closest to Rovaniemi. Forest or wilderness: the title names forest, wilderness or nature and no more specific place; almost every walk here goes through forest, so this is the fallback. Combined with another activity: the title combines walking with another main activity or attraction (husky, reindeer, snowmobile, ice fishing, the northern lights, an amethyst mine and similar). Not stated: the title does not say where the walk goes and names no other activity.
Prices are the lowest listed per-person price of each tour that is not private (group prices and prices without a stated basis are left out; n = tours with a per-person price, of all non-private tours in the row). Where the operator’s own website states a price, that price is used. Listed prices can be discounted prices. Typical = median; not shown when fewer than 5 tours. Duration = midpoint of the stated range, multi-day tours left out.
Not stated = not found in the collected listing text, so a listing can say more. Hotel pickup "available / pickup points" = pickup offered or pickup points listed, possibly at extra cost.
| Feature | Tours | Price per person: from – typical | Price not stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Private | 10 | €65 – €139 n = 7 of 10 | 3 of 10 |
| Combined with northern lights | 7 | €78 – €103 n = 6 of 7 | 1 of 7 |
Private: "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title (not a private place such as "private island"). Combined with northern lights: the same tour is also listed as a northern lights tour. A tour can be both.
Private tours: a price is shown only when the platform states it as a per-person price. Group prices are not divided among people, and prices that "vary by group size", assume 2 adults or have no stated basis are counted as not stated, because the group size they apply to is unknown. Even a stated per-person price of a private tour can depend on group size. Other features: prices of non-private tours only, as in the table above.
Best time for a walk
| Month | Days with snow cover | Mean snow depth (cm) | Day temperature, 10–16, mean (°C) | Daylight (h) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January | 31.0 | 45 | -10.5 | 4.4 |
| February | 28.0 | 61 | -7.7 | 8.1 |
| March | 31.0 | 68 | -2.1 | 11.7 |
| April | 29.5 | 49 | 3.4 | 15.5 |
| May | 7.2 | 4 | 10.1 | 19.6 |
| June | 0.0 | 0 | 16.1 | 23.8 |
| July | 0.0 | 0 | 18.7 | 21.5 |
| August | 0.0 | 0 | 16.5 | 16.9 |
| September | 0.0 | 0 | 10.8 | 13.2 |
| October | 7.3 | 2 | 2.9 | 9.5 |
| November | 23.2 | 10 | -2.8 | 5.7 |
| December | 30.7 | 27 | -6.8 | 2.7 |
- Days with snow cover: Rovaniemi Apukka (FMI weather station), id 101933, 15.3 km, 2015-2024, FMI daily observations; n = 283–310
- Mean snow depth (cm): Rovaniemi Apukka (FMI weather station), id 101933, 15.3 km, 2015-2024, FMI daily observations; n = 283–310
- Day temperature, 10–16, mean (°C): Rovaniemi railway station (FMI weather station), id 101928, 1 km, 2015-01-01..2024-12-31, FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour); n = 281–309
- Daylight (h): Calculated from destination coordinates (astral 3.2), no station, 0 km, 2015-2024, astral (calculated); n = 28–31
Source file: data/monthly_metrics.csv
38 of the 102 snowshoe and hiking tours we list say when in the year they run: 3 all year, 21 in the snow season only, 4 in part of the year that covers both seasons, 10 outside the snow season only. The other 64 do not say, which is not the same as saying they do not run. The snow season here is November to April.
Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one.
Snow lies on the ground on almost every day from December to April and on no day from June to September, and it is deepest in March, when the average depth is about 68 cm. Daylight is the real limit in midwinter: December gives under three hours a day, February eight and March close to twelve, while the typical canyon day lasts over six hours from pickup to drop-off. Only 38 of the 102 walks say anything about which months they run, so the table above describes the weather, not what is on sale.
Book a snowshoe or hiking tour
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Sort by:
Grouped by duration; within each duration group, per-person prices and prices without a stated basis come first, lowest first, then group prices, then tours without a price.
Canyon or waterfall (26)
More about canyon and waterfall hikes: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- Rovaniemi: Snowshoe Tour in Vikaköngäs Wilderness & BBQ - Small Group
Arctic GM · 3 h · –
Hotel pickupSmall groupSnowshoes includedGuidedGraded easyWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Over 3 and up to 5 hours
- Private Pieskänjupukka Hiking Experience
Johka Oy · 4 h–5 h · €99 / person
PrivateGraded moderateFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Auttiköngäs Waterfall Hiking Tour from Rovaniemi
Lapland Escape · 5 h · €115 (basis not stated)
Hotel pickupSmall groupGuidedWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Private Vaattunki Hiking Experience
Johka Oy · 4 h · €139 / person
PrivateGuidedGraded easyFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Summer Nature Hike & Campfire Pancake Experience at Vaattunkiköngäs
Lapland Royal Adventures · 4 h · –
Hotel pickupGuidedGraded easyFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Over 5 and up to 7 hours: 11 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on canyon and waterfall hikes.
Duration not stated: 10 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on canyon and waterfall hikes.
Fell or national park (6)
More about fell and national park hikes: prices, duration and what is included.
Over 7 hours
- Riisitunturi National Park Hiking Tour from Rovaniemi
Lapland Escape · 9 h · €115 (basis not stated)
Hotel pickupSmall groupGuidedGraded moderateWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Riisitunturi Snow Monsters Winter Hike from Rovaniemi
BookLapland · 8 h · €169 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupSnowshoes includedGuidedWalk 4 kmGraded moderateWinter clothing
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Hiking in Riisitunturi National Park with Campfire and BBQ
Rovaniemi Tours · 7 h 30 min · €219 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupGuidedFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Duration not stated
- Arctic Adventure through Magical Frozen Forests of Riisitunturi
Wild About Lapland · – · –
Listed for Jan–Mar
GuidedWalk 4 kmGraded moderate
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Private Oulanka National Park Photography Adventure
Beyond Arctic · – · –
Listed for Dec–Mar
GuidedWalk 2–3 km
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Duration not stated: 1 more tour is listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on fell and national park hikes.
Arctic Circle area or the city (2)
Up to 3 hours
- Snowshoeing in the Arctic Circle Forest
Wild Nordic · 2 h · €79 / person
Snowshoes includedGuidedWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Duration not stated
- Guided Arctic Circle hiking area tour in Rovaniemi
Santa's Pets · – · –
GuidedWalk 4 kmFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Forest or wilderness (24)
More about forest and wilderness walks: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- Nature walk and fireside break
Arctic SnowHotel · 3 h · €79 / person
GuidedFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Wilderness Survival Tour – Summer & Autumn
Wild About Lapland · 3 h · €79 / person
Listed for May–Oct
Hotel pickupGuidedFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Explore the Wilderness with Snowshoes
Access Lapland · 3 h · €96 / person
GuidedGraded easyWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Arctic Family Nature Hike with Picnic – Summer and Autumn
Beyond Arctic · 3 h · €105 / person
Listed for Jun–Oct
Hotel pickupSmall groupGuidedWalk 4 kmFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Pure Forest Hiking Adventure (Small-Group)
Pure Lapland · 2 h 30 min · €108 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupGuidedFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Up to 3 hours: 1 more tour is listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on forest and wilderness walks.
Over 3 and up to 5 hours: 5 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on forest and wilderness walks.
Duration not stated: 13 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on forest and wilderness walks.
Combined with another activity (30)
More about walks combined with another activity: prices, duration and what is included.
Up to 3 hours
- Snowshoeing With A Husky
Old Pine Husky · 1 h · €55 / person
Small groupGuidedGraded easyFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Aurora Basecamp Hike
Halo Igloos · 1 h 30 min · €78 / person
GuidedWinter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - ARCTIC FOREST HIKE WITH FINNISH GOATS
Arctic Dreams House · 2 h · €99 (basis not stated)
GuidedFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Hunting the Northern Lights on snowshoes
Golden Circle Suites · 3 h · €101 / person
Snowshoes includedGuidedWinter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Northern Lights Hunting on Snowshoes
Access Lapland · 3 h · €101 / person
GuidedWinter clothingFood or hot drinksCombined with northern lights
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Up to 3 hours: 3 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on walks combined with another activity.
Over 3 and up to 5 hours: 6 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on walks combined with another activity.
Over 5 and up to 7 hours: 7 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on walks combined with another activity.
Over 7 hours: 1 more tour is listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on walks combined with another activity.
Duration not stated: 8 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on, or see all on walks combined with another activity.
Not stated (14)
Up to 3 hours
- Snowshoeing scenic excursion
Arctic SnowHotel · 2 h · €99 / person
Snowshoes includedGuidedWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Small Group Snowshoeing Experience
Lappitude Oy · 3 h · €130 / person
Hotel pickupSmall groupSnowshoes includedGuidedGraded demandingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Private Snowshoeing Experience
Lappitude Oy · 3 h · €300 / group
Hotel pickupSmall groupPrivateSnowshoes includedGuidedFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - On the Snow
Porovaara · 3 h · –
Listed for Dec–Apr
Snowshoes includedGuidedGraded easyWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab) - Snowshoeing, Rovaniemi
Rovaniemi-tours.com · 3 h · –
Snowshoes includedGuidedGraded moderateWinter clothingFood or hot drinks
Operator's website (opens in a new tab)
Over 3 and up to 5 hours: 1 more tour is listed when JavaScript is on.
Duration not stated: 8 more tours are listed when JavaScript is on.
What the marks mean
- Hotel pickup
- pickup from your accommodation stated as included.
- Small group
- at most 8 participants, or "small group" in the listing.
- Private
- "private", "yksityinen" or "VIP" in the tour title.
- Snowshoes included
- the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says snowshoes are included or provided.
- Guided
- the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) says a guide comes along.
- Walking distance stated
- the operator's own page (read directly, with a quote) states how many kilometres the walk is.
- Difficulty graded
- the operator's own page grades the tour easy, moderate or demanding (a page that grades it two ways is counted as not stated).
- Winter clothing
- winter clothing stated as included.
- Food or hot drinks
- a meal, snack or hot drink stated as included.
- Combined with northern lights
- the same tour is also listed as a northern lights tour.
- Family-friendly
- "family" in the tour title, or a stated minimum age of 4 years or less.
Features are marked from the text of the listings and the operators’ own pages. A missing mark means the listing does not mention it, not that it is left out. Duration groups use the midpoint of the stated range (a 3–4 hour tour counts as 3.5 hours): up to 3 hours, over 3 and up to 5, over 5 and up to 7, over 7 hours, and tours of several days. Season comes from the operator’s own availability calendar in Visit Finland DataHub, or from a season stated on the operator’s own page. The snow season means the months when snow covers the ground on at least half the days at the weather station used on this site. A tour without a season simply does not state one. Filters are offered only for features that the listings state for at least 70 % of the tours and at least 50 % of the tours from each source, so a feature can be marked on a tour without being offered as a filter. 7 more snowshoe and hiking tours in our data are not listed here because they have no working booking link yet.
Run a tour here that’s missing, or see an error? Email [email protected]. Reported tours are checked on the operator’s public website before they are added.
Before you book
How long do snowshoe and hiking tours take?
Of the 59 tours that state a duration in hours, the typical (median) tour takes 4 h; the shortest 1 h and the longest 9 h. 43 do not state a usable duration.
Can children join?
18 of the 102 tours here state a minimum age: from 3 years to 14 years (median 10 years); 16 from the operator's own page, 2 from the GetYourGuide age field. The other 84 do not state one, which is not the same as saying children can join — ask the operator. Tours with a stated minimum age of 4 years or less are marked family-friendly.
Is winter clothing included?
37 of 102 tours say winter clothing is included and 1 says it is not included or only on request. 64 do not mention it. Checked from the listing text (on GetYourGuide, the start of the "included" list), so a listing can say more than we found.
How cold is it during the day?
Mean daytime temperature (10:00–16:00) by month: December -6.8 °C, January -10.5 °C, February -7.7 °C. Whether winter clothing is included is a separate question above; the tour list marks it on each tour that states it.
When should I book?
A walk does not depend on a clear sky, so it is the easiest thing to move to another day if the weather turns. If you want a canyon day, count on the whole day: those trips take over six hours including the drive, while a forest walk takes three. Fifty of the 102 walks grade their difficulty, and of those a quarter are graded moderate or demanding; if you need an easy walk, pick one that says so rather than assume.
Based on the 102 snowshoe and hiking tours in our data, from operators’ own websites, GetYourGuide, Viator or visitrovaniemi.fi.
Background
Snowshoes spread your weight so you can walk on soft snow instead of sinking into it, which is why the same forest trail needs them in winter and not in summer. Only 28 of the 102 walks say that snowshoes are included in the price, so on most of them you cannot tell from the listing whether the gear comes with the tour. Eighty say a guide comes along; the rest do not say, which is not the same as saying you walk alone.
Combined with other activities
Some walks are sold together with a husky safari, a reindeer visit or a northern lights hunt; those tours are counted in both guides.
Sources and method
Climate data
- Days with snow cover of at least 1 cm, as a share of the days with an observation, scaled to the length of the month; n = days. Source: FMI daily observations (opens in a new tab); Rovaniemi Apukka (FMI weather station) (id 101933), 15.3 km from Rovaniemi; period 2015-2024; n = 283–310 per month.
- Mean snow depth on the days with an observation (a negative reading, meaning bare ground, counted as 0 cm); n = days. Source: FMI daily observations (opens in a new tab); Rovaniemi Apukka (FMI weather station) (id 101933), 15.3 km from Rovaniemi; period 2015-2024; n = 283–310 per month.
- Mean of the hourly temperatures 10:00–16:00 per day, averaged over the month; only days with every hour observed; n = days. Source: FMI temperature observations (t2m, on the hour) (opens in a new tab); Rovaniemi railway station (FMI weather station) (id 101928), 1 km from Rovaniemi; period 2015-01-01..2024-12-31; n = 281–309 per month.
- Mean daily time the sun is above the horizon, calculated from coordinates (year 2023); n = days in the month. Source: astral (calculated); Calculated from destination coordinates (astral 3.2), no station; period 2015-2024; n = 28–31 per month.
We do not compare destinations with these figures, because differences between weather stations can explain differences between places.
Tour data
How operators were found: no single list is complete, so we combined 619 candidate companies from several sources (Visit Finland DataHub 137, GetYourGuide 88, the Finnish Trade Register (PRH open data, tourism-related lines of business) 424, Viator 6, visitrovaniemi.fi listings 38, the visitrovaniemi.fi company directory 89, web searches in seven languages 141; a company can be in several). Each candidate with a website was checked on its own website. Tour details are taken first from the operator’s own website (or Visit Finland DataHub (opens in a new tab)); booking platforms fill in what the operator’s page does not state.
The tables and tour lists include the snowshoe and hiking tours in our data that have a working booking link: 102 tours (101 with details from the operator’s own website; listed on: DataHub 41, GetYourGuide 3, operator site 75, Viator 1 — the same tour is often listed in several places, so these add up to more than 102), collected 2026-09-21–2026-09-22. Snowshoeing and hiking: walking on snowshoes or on foot named in the tour title, or (if the title names no activity) in the collected listing text. Pages that are not a single bookable walk — equipment rental, a day ticket, an overview page listing several tours — were left out after reading the page. 7 tours were left out because they have no working booking link yet. A tour whose operating base is more than 50 km from the centre is listed only when the tour page says it departs from, or picks up in, the destination; the distance is then shown on the tour. Distances are measured from coordinates in Visit Finland DataHub, or from the postal code of the company’s registered address (PRH open data (opens in a new tab); postal code areas from Statistics Finland (opens in a new tab)). Prices change daily; check them on the booking page.
Links to operators’ own pages were last checked on : 1404 addresses across every activity on this site, of which 21 did not answer with a working page and are not linked. GetYourGuide and Viator links are not fetched.
No sort order on this site is affected by commission.
Data source files: data/monthly_metrics.csv, data/operators_products.csv, data/operator_catalog.csv, data/discovery/datahub_experiences.csv. Company register data: PRH open data (avoindata.prh.fi) (opens in a new tab).
Last updated:
Some links on this site are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure